Customer Reviews for

Oceans of Red Volume One

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Bored of the same old stories? Need something new too read? - This is it!

    This is a story of the likes in which I have never read. It is so unique, composed of a futuristic setting and events, paranormal existences, scientific advancement, and action packed scenes that will captivate your mind. Volume one is so intriguing...you'll find it difficult not to start volume two instantly.

    I love the characters and feel strong connections sharing their emotions. It is so well written I feel as though I am watching it play out before my eyes rather than words on a page. Willow, well done!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2011

    A MUST READ!!

    Oceans of Red is the first volume by Willow Cross. As I finished this amazing book, I found myself eagerly and impatiently anticipating the release of Volume Two! Oceans of Red is based around the December 2012 prophecy; the prophecy declaring the end of the world as we know it. Demons are running the show, inhabiting humans and ultimately, it is the story¿s main character¿s jobs to stop this from happening. This book left me yearning for more, to know what happens! I was left at a cliff-hanger at the final page! The characters, Remy, Greg and Shane, have been intricately created, with each having definable, individual characteristics. For example, there is Remy, the leading heroine. Her strength, sarcasm, and smartness makes her individual, while simultaneously caring and compassionate, makes her a character that everyone would just simply adore and admire. These three figures in the book make it an attention-grabbing read, from start to finish, while also playing a vital role in the telling of the story! Willow has shaped and brought into existence, this magical and mystical world, crammed demons and power. Instilled in this book, is everything a paranormal addict like me could want! With demons embodied in humans to magic and ancient Druids, this volume is a definite read. The story flowed beautifully, from start to finish, and I never found it at all difficult to continue reading! Willow has a natural remarkable way with the words she uses, thus creating a world of mystery and fantasy, brimming with pleasure and enjoyment. This undoubtedly leaves you longing for more, the desire to read the following volume. I would without ANY hesitation give this book a massive 5/5 stars! I would also without a doubt recommend it to every single person out there. It a definite must read!! Praise for Willow! Thank you Willow, for crafting these incredible worlds that we, the reader, can enjoy and adore for hours on end! I ultimately found it very hard to write this review, as I continually found myself typing what happens, only to find myself hitting that delete button way too many times. I don¿t want to give any of this remarkable tale away, but what I will say, is that you need to get it now, and read, read and read! ~Katie (¿Beneath the Cover¿ Facebook Page)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Love this book!  It took a little while to get into the story b

    Love this book!
     It took a little while to get into the story but once I did I was hooked.  
    It was easy to visualize everything in my head, which makes reading fun.  Great details!!!  
    I didn't find myself skipping over useless details as I do in some books.
    I was hanging on word for word to see what would happen next.
    Can't wait to learn more and see what will happen next.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    I'm not one to re-tell the story in a review. So no spoiler aler

    I'm not one to re-tell the story in a review. So no spoiler alert needed here.

    The fight between good and evil, us and them is one that has stood the test of time. And Willow certainly doesn't disappoint with this storyline.

    I was delightfully surprised at how much I enjoyed this book when I started reading. I found strong and independent characters that I felt a kinship with, and found myself wanting to join in their fight.

    Unable to join their fight to save the human race, I tapped away page after page engrossed in the story. Now I can't wait to read the 2nd book. Thanks Willow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed this short story a lot. I love stories with kick-butt

    I enjoyed this short story a lot. I love stories with kick-butt heroines! Remy is our MC and she is a strong willed and sleek fighter against demons that have taken over the world, inhabiting humans and assimilating the remains of the population. Remy lives in a bunker, where some of the last military units try to figure out ways to bring the demons down. Remy, along with her sister and brother formulate a plan to infiltrate the enemy lines. But Remy may not be all she thinks she is. And the Druids that are allied with the demons may have their own agenda.

    Lots of action for sure. Definitely an interesting take on the apocalypse. I enjoyed the descriptions, witty language and fight scenes. I can’t wait to continue this short story series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    One girl destined to save us all

    Review of Oceans of Red Volume 1 by Willow Cross

    Four stars

    This book was provided free by the author in exchange for honest literary review.
    It is the end of 2012 and the end of life as we know it. Remy has forgotten what life as a carefree teen is supposed to be. See there's this demon master and she has decided to take over the earth. So no more high school or normal life, just creepy demon possessed people who suffer from mind control. Fun huh? Well thats the quick version of how Remy became a warrior.
    Remy has to enlist the help of both of her siblings Greg and Shane to try and find a way to help even the war with tye demons. As it stands now, the resistance has barely been able to keep from losing ground. Only the help of q few ancient druids and a sacred shroud may help.
    This book is a very quick read. It is action packed, but the concepts are new and different. I have never had much exposure to Druids so I was fascinated The author keeps you involved in the action without the action being a distraction. It is a very, very good read!!!!! Go pick it up!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Not what i expected.

    This series is very good. I wasn't sure what i was getting into when i read the description of book one. Glad i read both books and looking forward to future books. Thank you willow!

    Side note: this is my eighth smashwords book on nook tablet. I wanted to see if anyone else noticed skipped pages? The story continues but page numbers skip from say, 27 to 29. All the smadhword books do this and i was wondering why. Yes i have tried setting nook to publishers preferences, still happens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    WOW, this book was an amazing read! Willow Cross is an awesome a

    WOW, this book was an amazing read! Willow Cross is an awesome author who can tell a story and keep you wanting more. I can not wait to buy the second book in this series, because it is that damn good. I was upset at the ending because I wanted more, I wanted to know if Remy was going to get outside or not.

    This book is about demons taking over the humans, by entering their body and have mind links between each other. If you kill the human shell the demon disappears and has to "wait" in line for another shot. Three siblings may have found a way to infiltrate the demons, but Remy who is one of the siblings is very different or so she is told. I will leave it there as so not to spoil anything.

    Willow Cross you are one amazing author that I am so glad I found out about! Keep up the awesome work!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Interesting read

    This story takes place after Armageddon. Remy and Greg are soldiers out to save what is left of the world. Their sister Shane is a master mind that is working on serums to hopefully save what humans they can. They come up with a plan to see if they can get information and Remy seems to be immune to the serum to retrieve it. She meets a man that may hold answers for her and to help save everyone. Remy might be the answer to everyone’s salvation, but is she brave and strong enough to conquer her own self- doubts to do it? This was an interesting story and I look forward to reading the next book to it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Good start to what will be an interesting series

    I liked this story. It is essentially about demon possession and people trying to fight back, but it is a lot more than that also. There is something special about Remy, and it appears there is a third party that can help drive the demons away and save the remaining humans. It was short, only 40 PDF pages, but in that short space the characters and interesting plot have been set up. I just wish this was a full length novel or at least that the next volume was out already. I'm curious to see how this story will unfold.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Awesome Short Read

    Oh my Goodness! Where to start?! This was a very easy book/short story to read. The main characters, Shane, Remy and Greg, are very easy to relate to. As the last few people of the human population, they literally fight for their lives against the demons. After several failed attempts Remy is contacted by Daelen and their fight for freedom starts looking like a winning battle. And at that point we are left hanging, until Volume Two is released... I can't wait!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    Remy is among the humans that fight the demons that are trying t

    Remy is among the humans that fight the demons that are trying to take over the world. Her fight is filled with revenge for something that happened in the past. Her battle becomes more confusing when her brother, sister and herself start a plan of attack and she learns something new about herself. Excitement builds throughout the book and leaves you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    A fight between good and evil this is a must read. Remy, Shane,

    A fight between good and evil this is a must read. Remy, Shane, and Greg's days trying to beat the evil demons before the prophecy of end of the world comes to pass.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a fabulous Read that will reel you in from beginning t

    This is a fabulous Read that will reel you in from beginning to end and have you begging for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    I got this book on Amazon. I really liked this book!!! It is fi

    I got this book on Amazon.

    I really liked this book!!! It is filled with lots of action and cought my atintion right off the bat. I really started to love it with Daelen came into the story!! I hope book 2 has alot more of him. And for Remy she is fixing to go into a world she knew nothing about... I can't wait to see what is in book 2 Demon Evolution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    I really liked this and hated that I couldn´t continue with the

    I really liked this and hated that I couldn´t continue with the story immediately! The story got me very excited and I liked how the characters interacted with each other, felt very real. I will most definitely read more of this! It was very short and I would have really loved to read more. I find it very amazing how much some authors can put into such a short story (67 pages this one). If you don´t read anything but long books, please do yourself a favour and start reading these shorter stories as well :) I very often need romance, at least some, in a story for me to really enjoy it. In this one there was no romance, at least not yet, and me liking it this much says a lot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    Oceans of Red Vol.#1 was an awesome book. it was hard to put dow

    Oceans of Red Vol.#1 was an awesome book. it was hard to put down. Loved the fight scenes. Willow gives you a good feel of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Now here's a great short story! A bit different from what I've b

    Now here's a great short story! A bit different from what I've been reading, but really good nonetheless! :) It's always nice to mix it up a bit!! =) I'm looking forward to reading more about Remy & her siblings taking on the demon invading humans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    I haven¿t read a Willow Cross novel in a while, and I¿ve quite h

    I haven’t read a Willow Cross novel in a while, and I’ve quite honestly forgotten how well this author writes. Although it is apparent that she writes with the YA reader in mind, her books are suitable for older readers as well. “Rise of the Demons” is no different. In the span of forty pages, the author manages to successfully create a post-apocalyptic-like world a few years into the future where humans are being used as vessels by demons who are in the throes of taking over the world. Remy and her two siblings fight these demons as a measure to save whatever is left of humanity. In the process Remy discovers that she’s more than what she seems, and quite possibly the one to save the human race.

    With three butt-kicking characters and a strong story line with a cliffhanger ending that promises more action, suspense, and shocking revelations in the next installment in this series, you definitely can’t go wrong to get your hands on this gripping novella. Fast moving and unrelenting, “Rise of the Demons”, will keep you rooted to the edge of your seat from start to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Finally, a paranormal read that doesn't revolve around romance.


    Finally, a paranormal read that doesn't revolve around romance. The only romance in this will be the love you will have for the authors creativeness. This short is about demons and dystopian. Good vs. Evil, doing what they do, kicking butt and taking names. The characters are amazing and bring their own skills to the fight. My favorite would have to be Remy, she is smart mouthed and has an attitude that kills. The story leaves you wanting more. I will be starting Volume Two tonight, I can't wait to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2