Customer Reviews for

October Sky

Average Rating 4.5
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

October Sky

October Sky is definitely one of the best books I have ever read. * I think the real turning point in the book and in Sonny¿s life is the Bump. I would say that Roy Lee is my favorite character because he likes to have a lot of fun and is funny and I can relate to that....
October Sky is definitely one of the best books I have ever read. * I think the real turning point in the book and in Sonny¿s life is the Bump. I would say that Roy Lee is my favorite character because he likes to have a lot of fun and is funny and I can relate to that. I had fun reading this book because it is very funny and is very adventurous. I also thought that the theme of this book can be very inspiring to many people and that¿s sometimes rare and I think that is very unique.
I feel like Homer Hickam was very descriptive in October Sky I felt like I was actually at the launch pad when he rockets took off. Mr. Hickam also had a very wide range of vocabulary of when the rockets took off, like (it vroomed off, it wooshed off, it shot off). *My Favorite Part of the book is at the very end when his dad launches off the last rocket, because it seemed like that¿s all he ever wanted was his dad to see what he can do and when his dad launched that rocket his dad not only saw, but felt how much sonny could do.

posted by 825102 on January 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I would highly recommend you to read this book

Book title and author: October sky Homer Hickem

October sky is an ok book its about a small mining town called coal wood .A boy who wasn't very wealthy and didn't have much and one day decided to get all of his friends together and build a rocket. After blowing his...
Book title and author: October sky Homer Hickem

October sky is an ok book its about a small mining town called coal wood .A boy who wasn't very wealthy and didn't have much and one day decided to get all of his friends together and build a rocket. After blowing his moms fence up he started thinking about it and they made some pretty good rockets.

Description and summary of main points
They got into trouble for shooting one off on company property homers dad told them no more rockets. So they went to a whole new place. I want say so I want ruin it for you.

Your final review
This is a Farley good book so I encourage every one who reads this to read the book .This seems to be
a good book review.

posted by vencen_wv on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I would highly recommend you to read this book

    Book title and author: October sky Homer Hickem

    October sky is an ok book its about a small mining town called coal wood .A boy who wasn't very wealthy and didn't have much and one day decided to get all of his friends together and build a rocket. After blowing his moms fence up he started thinking about it and they made some pretty good rockets.

    Description and summary of main points
    They got into trouble for shooting one off on company property homers dad told them no more rockets. So they went to a whole new place. I want say so I want ruin it for you.

    Your final review
    This is a Farley good book so I encourage every one who reads this to read the book .This seems to be
    a good book review.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    One of Hickam's fine works....

    Hickam, Jr. keeps coming at you with truth after truth, and its breathtaking to see the development of this teen of whom Hickam writes- himself. I couldn¿t stand nearing the end, the pages growing thinner and thinner, until there was only the cover.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    this book is not highley recommended by me but read it and see what you think

    By Shawn Salmons
    This book isn't highly recommended by me and throughout the essay I will explain why.
    This book is about a young group of boys, who wanted to fire off rockets but as they try as many people that can stop them try to. The more the boys fire the better they become, but when they think everything's going well tragedy strikes and cops show up at their school. When the boys fire off one of their first successful rockets they "burn down a forest."

    The seven rocket boys have to use their wits to overcome most of the situations they get themselves into. Even when push came to shove they pulled themselves out of the situation. At whatever cost they had to suffer whether it was police or even an injury they overcame it.
    I do not think the book is worth reading I never really understood why the boys wanted to fire rockets or what even caught their interest. The book may be good for some other people but the book just wasn't for me it wasn't a bad book but in my opinion I just didn't like it. The few parts in the book that were good is when the young boy (Homer Hickam) made a oath to work for his family sake. The young boy was very brave to do so and I respect him for what he did.

    Every situation of this "October Sky" was a stunning/shocking one but somehow the boys found a way to overcome the bad and embrace the good. No matter the situation the boys did everything and anything they wanted to, for themselves and anyone they wanted to help.
    The ending of the story was a very shocking ending as well the boys understood everything that was thrown at them. The end was a scholarship for many and a very important lesson in life. The rockets were finally perfected to go state and won a fair prize and won many scholarships for all the "Rocket Boys

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    book

    I read this book and I think it was kinda weird. The rocket part was good. I only give it a three because it drags one. It gets pretty boring

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    The book Rocket Boys by Homer H. Hickman was a true inspiration.

    The book Rocket Boys by Homer H. Hickman was a true inspiration. This book is geared for ages 12 or 13 and up. It will help kids to see that they need to start early to find out what they want to do with their lives. Homer was inspired by a lot of people in his community and out of his community. People in his community were his mom and dad, Mrs. Riley, and basically everyone in the community. People out of his community were Werner von Braun. Without these people in his community it probably wouldn’t have been possible. Every time Homer gave up his friends and communities were pushing him to keep trying. Homer wanted to go to the national science fair and win, but first he had to get it done and win states. His community was behind him 100% and that’s the only reason they got anywhere. They all work on it and put a lot of effort into it and won states. They were all so happy until they found out that only one person could go to nationals to present the project. They all said that Homer was the one to go to the national science fair. There were a lot of bumps in their path at national, but they came out winners. In conclusion, I would totally recommend this book! It is a really good book and it helps people understand that there are always people out their pushing them to do their best and making their community proud.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    If you¿re looking for an interesting book about what it was like

    If you’re looking for an interesting book about what it was like to grow up in the 50s, here’s your book. Rocket Boys is a true story about a 14 year old boy growing up in Coalwood, West Virginia. His father was a hard working coalminer who was hardly home. He was as stubborn as you can get. He never showed his feelings and acted like he couldn’t care less about anyone or anything; he was also extremely modest. He was a true hero but refused to be called one. This book will leave you asking so many questions and wondering what is going to happen next. You will be inspired by how much work was put into their rockets and how they never give up. Homer Jr. (Sonny), Roy Lee, Quentin, O’Dell, and Billy all worked hard in Sonny’s basement to build a rocket that would shoot across the sky like the Russian Sputnik. They never quit. If you are into books that are extremely intense and have you on your toes the whole time, you probably don’t want to read this book. This book can be exciting at some times, but others can be a bit overdrawn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    This book is good so far

    Good so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    Rocket boys

    A good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    October Sky

    I think that October sky is a great book because I like the plot the place where this takes place is coal wood W.V. my favorite part of this book is when they make the rocket and they launch the rocker and it is a success. The characters are O Dell, Homer Quentin, Sonny (Homer Jr.) and Sonny¿s parents. I particularly liked the section where homers father gave him the land so he could launch rockets. I also liked how he wrote his story because he described everything very well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    Octocber Sky

    Over all I thought October Sky was an outstanding book. At first I couldn¿t really get into the book but then it got interesting. My favorite part was when The Rocket Boys launched their rockets. I liked Sonny¿s part in this book. He has a very interesting character. This author has a good writing style in the book. His stories are very descriptive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    Friendship is a big factor in this book.

    I thought October Sky was a wonderful book. The beginning was a little slow and boring, but the end was very interesting. I liked learning how the families in Coal Wood grew up, and their way of life. My favorite part of the book * was when the rocket boys blew up sonny¿s mothers fence.* The characters I enjoyed the most was is Sonny and Roy Lee. I love how Roy Lee is always there for Sonny; such as when Sonny wants to go on a date with Dorothy, Roy Lee tells Sonny that he will drive them in his car. They are amazing friends and they always stick together. This book is wonderful for children in the 8th grade or above.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    October Sky*

    The plot in this story is when Sputnik is launched into space. Sonny is the main character and the story is told from his point of view. Sonny is extremely interested in science and rockets. Quentin is a nerd who helps Sonny build his rocket. Quentin has the brains in the group of boys. Sonny takes action and gets together with a group of friends to build a rocket. Sonny also wants to prove to his father that he can be more than a coal miner. My favorite part in the book is when Sonny describes what the Duggout is like. I think it sounds like it would be fun dancing to the different types of music that is played. The Rocket Boys take many attempts to fly a rocket, but they finally succeed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    Bad book, good movie

    Oct. sky was very bad. It was soooooooooooooooooooo boring. I hated it. It is worst book that I have ever read. Do not read this book. <BR/><BR/> If you do read this book it will be a total waste of your time. The movie about it was actually pretty good though. I had to read this school. So I just listened to it on the computer

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    The beginning is slow and boring, but it get very intriguing towards the end.

    October Sky is a pretty intriguing book towards the end, but kind of slow and boring in the beginning. October Sky is a book about Sonny Hickhams¿ life; he is a small town boy with big dreams. Sonny was born in Coalwood West Virginia, and wasn¿t your average teenage boy. He had hopes and dreams, instead of mining coal.<BR/><BR/> The Rocket Boys group was formed up of, Sonny, Roy Lee, Sherman, O¿Dell, and Quentin. My favorite character was probably Roy Lee, I just loved him cockiness, and how he was full of him self, but that all changed in the end. * It changed when Roy Lee said he was going to go to the Science Fair, but then he was like, you know you¿re the one going Sonny.<BR/><BR/>If you were to read Rocket Boys I will prepared the beginning is boring, but don¿t put down the book it gets a lot better, trust me.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    October Sky

    ¿October Sky,¿ is an interesting book in a way. This book is boring at the same time though. But the good part in this book is when Sonny blows up his mothers¿ fence. Also Sonny is my favorite character in this book because he is the main character and built rockets.<BR/> Homer Hickam is a good writer. His writing sometimes makes me want to keep reading more, besides when it gets to a boring part. He has a good sense of humor also in this book. Also he describes things really well in this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    October Sky

    October Sky was difficult to get into, but once I began getting into it I found that it's an enlighting book. It shows the true power of teamwork and determination. I do not recommend it for children.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    October Sky

    October Sky Author: Homer H. Hickam Jr. The book ¿October Sky¿ is about a boy that dreams of going to space. His name is Homer Hickam and he loves to build rockets with his friends. Homer lives in a town called Coalwood where his father owns a coalmine. Homer and his friends make their rockets and try them out on a big hill away from everybody. They can make them from scraps and they¿ll be one of the best rockets. Homer can find anything and make it into a rocket. Homer and his friends decide to join the science fair. They make a really good rocket. This rocket was better than any of their other ones. This rocket went higher than any of the other rockets. They won the science fair because their rocket was the best out of anybody else¿s project.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2