Customer Reviews for

Odd Apocalypse (Odd Thomas Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 262 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

??

Why do some people feel like when they write a review they have to write a book of their own? Irritating when half of the story is told in the review! Anyway, i love Odd Thomas and am glad to see the new book. :D

posted by 10335486 on August 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Not As Not on par with earlier Odd novels

Love, love, love Odd Thomas, but this was the first one of the series that took some effort for me to get through. Unlike the previous books, this one lacked much interaction between the characters, focusing instead on long stretches of introspection and observations. T...
Love, love, love Odd Thomas, but this was the first one of the series that took some effort for me to get through. Unlike the previous books, this one lacked much interaction between the characters, focusing instead on long stretches of introspection and observations. The result was that much of the usual fun banter was replaced by long intervals of overly descriptive, boring prose. Because I enjoy the Odd Thomas character, I pushed through to the end but, if this had been the first in the series, I most likely wouldn't have continued on. It would be wonderful to see Odd return to his endearing, interesting self in the future, once again making readers anticipate each page instead of dragging themselves through them.

posted by Serendipity21 on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 262 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    ??

    Why do some people feel like when they write a review they have to write a book of their own? Irritating when half of the story is told in the review! Anyway, i love Odd Thomas and am glad to see the new book. :D

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Odd Thomas Rocks!

    Oddy's strangest adventure to date! Superbly written as always, so descriptive it's a movie in my head. Depicting such detail and emotion as to transport me to Odd's world. Love it and can hardly wait for the next book!

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Not As Not on par with earlier Odd novels

    Love, love, love Odd Thomas, but this was the first one of the series that took some effort for me to get through. Unlike the previous books, this one lacked much interaction between the characters, focusing instead on long stretches of introspection and observations. The result was that much of the usual fun banter was replaced by long intervals of overly descriptive, boring prose. Because I enjoy the Odd Thomas character, I pushed through to the end but, if this had been the first in the series, I most likely wouldn't have continued on. It would be wonderful to see Odd return to his endearing, interesting self in the future, once again making readers anticipate each page instead of dragging themselves through them.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    What's Odd gotten into now?

    Roseland. During it’s heyday in the 1920s it was a pleasure palace on the west coast owned by a Hollywood mogul. Now it’s owned by a billionaire financier and run by his minions. While the outside may look the same, it’s more like the mouth of hell than a place of untold sweet fantasies. And this is where Odd (had a mistake at the hospital not taken place, his name would have been Todd) and his 7 ½ month pregnant traveling companion Annemarie (the Lady of the Bell) find themselves.



    The problem is that time does not run normally here, and no one means to be evil or cruel. And that fact alone makes them even scarier.



    Top that with the fact that Odd’s first experience in this place involve a deceased woman on horseback that rides, not up to Odd, but through him.



    Then, throw in the awareness of Nicholi Tessla’s experiments, terrorists, and Homeland security, and one has to ask if Odd has finally met his match.



    Koontz does himself proud with the development of characters that are well fleshed out, and that as a reader, you care about. While “Odd Apocalypse” is a continuation of a series, this book is so finely written that one could select and read it and still come away with a knowledge of who Odd is, and it leaves a reader wanting more.

    13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Mr. Koontz, You Rock!!!

    I have been a Dean Koontz fan for some time now, but I must say I have a special place in my heart for Odd Thomas. The whole concept, just outlined sounds really ridiculous but Mr. Koontz has always made it work. Every one so far has always been a real page turner, addicting, heart pounding, thrilling, and relatable. I find myself relating to a lot of what Odd goes through, his struggles, his insecurities, and such. This addition to the Odd Thomas saga doesn't disappoint in the least. I would highly recommend reading the bridge between the last novel and this one though, found only on e-readers. It’s a 3 part adventure that will leave the reader wanting to dive write into this novel. Thank you Mr. Koontz, but please don't take so long for the next adventure of Odd.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A weak three stars at that. I'd like to grab the author and ask

    A weak three stars at that. I'd like to grab the author and ask, "Who are you, and what have you done with Dean?" This is not the Odd novel I'm used to, which always has notes of hope and even spirituality. This is really unpleasant, though well-written and containing those wonderful flashes of humor I associate with Odd. Odd and the enigmatic (and the very pregnant) Annamaria find themselves on the magnificent and sinister country estate of a billionaire magnate. Once again Odd is faced with spectres, spirits, and someone to rescue.
    Unfortunately he also encounters way too many psychos and sickos for my taste. There's an underlying plot line involving kidnapping, subjugation, and torture. Dean Koontz has gone this dark route in at least one other novel, which I stopped reading halfway through, but not in the Odd books - until now. Way too grim for my taste - I'm not sure I'll be picking up another in this series.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    So very disappointed

    I have waited for so long for this book and it does not live up to the other books. I am dragging myself through pages and pages of very boring details about the layout of a house and it's grounds. The scenes are redundant but the biggest disappointment is that Odd Thomas is not his usual charming quirky self. I couldn't wait to get back to reading the other books. I couldn't put them down. Now I really don't care if I have time to read this book. That is sad. I have never written a book review before but felt strongly enough to do so now.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    I love Dean Koontz's book, especially the Odd series, Frankenst

    I love Dean Koontz's book, especially the Odd series, Frankenstein series (miss Jacko) and the Chis Snow series, I have read all his novels except for the Trixie books and most I have read twice. W/that said, I found this Odd edition very disappointing. It is extremely hard to get into although does pick up toward the middle...that is a long ways to go to get into a book. His characters are not engaging, you bond w/ no one including ODD who in the other books of the series I was already dreading the end of the book in the middle cuz I knew I would miss him once I finished. Koontz is now relying too much on fancy speech and confusing phrases instead of just writing the way most ppl talk and think. I understand Odd is not most ppl but some of his sentences and paragraphs get so locked up in language that I find I have to re read and still think it makes no since in relation to what is being said before and after it. He did this in 77 Street also....no engaging characters, no bondable ppl and too many fancy/artsy words to the point nothing makes sense. I hope this is not a trend he keeps up because he is my 2cd favorite author.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Truly Odd -- but also very engaging!

    I enjoyed this latest installment of the Odd Thomas series and am looking forward to the next book!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    LOVED IT!!!

    Dean Koontz has outdone himself, yet again! I literally couldn't put this page turner down. I recommend reading the entire series, but this is by far the best of the Odd Thomas novels to date. I missed a little of Odd's humor in the beginning, but considering all the character has been through it is totally understandable (afterall, it just goes to show he's human, with real emotion, not a superhuman. Just a fry cook going wherever he is needed).

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awsome read. Picked this book up in the late morning and finishe

    Awsome read. Picked this book up in the late morning and finished it that same day. Koontz draws the most wonderful characters and the surroundings are so detailed that it is easy to become immersed. Hate to wait for more.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Lovin this...

    Koontz's new novel has delighted me so far. As a fan of the "Odd Thomas" series I find this book to be like sitting down with a latte and warm, wise, interesting and dryly funny friend. Have only read the !st 50 pages and cannot review as yet but cannot wait to immerse myself. Thanks, Dean Koontz.





    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another superbly entertaining Koonntz novel

    I am constantly amazed at the fact that I LOVE reading Koontz. He makes me giggle, laugh out loud, cringe with horror and tear up all in the same book! This latest book about Odd Thomas is eminently readable and lots of fun.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    If you love Odd, you will love this book

    Incredibly original story line (Yep, the Tesla anniversary is coming up) and another great read in the Odd series. Glad Odd isn't dead yet, can't get enough of him...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    THIS BOOK HAS NOT EVEN BEEN RELEASED, AND WON'T BE UNTIL JULY.

    THIS BOOK HAS NOT EVEN BEEN RELEASED, AND WON'T BE UNTIL JULY.

    3 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    What?

    Overall this is the least digestable of the odd thomas books. I found it very hard to follow whats going on. Usually koontz books start with a bang and keep you hooked. Unfortunately this one had a lot of nibbling but never taking the bait.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    SUPERB!

    Well, Koontz had done it again. Odd Apocalypse, with the beloved Odd Thomas, is an outstanding story. I thought the plot was riveting and fun. All my favorite characters were mentioned (except Terrible Chester - I miss that darn ol' cat)! I HIGHLY recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Great book

    Great adventure and suspense,great humor,and some thought provoking insites that are common in all of dean koontz boks

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Good

    Good butt darker than most.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    good

    I have been a fan of Dean Koontz forever. I love this series too, but this one just was not as good to me as the others. It was good don't get me wrong, but just not as good as Dean Usually is.
    I love his writing so I will continue to read anything that he puts out.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 262 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14