Customer Reviews for

Odd Apocalypse (Odd Thomas Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 270 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(138)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

??

Why do some people feel like when they write a review they have to write a book of their own? Irritating when half of the story is told in the review! Anyway, i love Odd Thomas and am glad to see the new book. :D

posted by 10335486 on August 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Not As Not on par with earlier Odd novels

Love, love, love Odd Thomas, but this was the first one of the series that took some effort for me to get through. Unlike the previous books, this one lacked much interaction between the characters, focusing instead on long stretches of introspection and observations. T...
Love, love, love Odd Thomas, but this was the first one of the series that took some effort for me to get through. Unlike the previous books, this one lacked much interaction between the characters, focusing instead on long stretches of introspection and observations. The result was that much of the usual fun banter was replaced by long intervals of overly descriptive, boring prose. Because I enjoy the Odd Thomas character, I pushed through to the end but, if this had been the first in the series, I most likely wouldn't have continued on. It would be wonderful to see Odd return to his endearing, interesting self in the future, once again making readers anticipate each page instead of dragging themselves through them.

posted by Serendipity21 on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 270 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 14
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    Love the Odd Thomas Series!

    Odd Thomas is so likeable and sweet, how can you not just love him -- just an ordinary guy who encounters some of the weirdest events. The reader roots for him to win the day. Odd picks up interesting sidekicks along with his adventures like Elvis, Sinatra, Hitchcock... and Odd's dog friends are endearing. I hear there's only going to be 7 Odd Thomas books and I'll be sad to finish the 7th. I like it when Koontz delivers a series and builds on the plot, characters, time and place, and of course, dialogue specific to character. The action is just enough to keep you on the edge of your seat, because Koontz gives you a "breather" along with the characters -- then he dumps you, the reader, and his characters back into more fast-paced dynamics of the scene. Lively, but not overdone. Thanks Dean for a great read. Your characters are funny and hopeful about the world we live.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Okay

    Didnt really enjoy it very much. Getting tired of this character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    A little disappointed

    I have read a lot of Dean Koontz's books ,all of the Odd Thomas series, and consider myself a big fan. However, this Odd Thomas book was not as good as the others. The plot was interesting but the writing could have been better. There were many paragraphs that I had to read more than once in order to understand. Some paragraphs I just skipped rereading because I didn't think they added much to the story. Also the ending was quite anti-climactic. The plot had a lot of potential that was not fulfilled. In addition the character Annamarie is beginning to get on my nerves. She comes across as an arrogant know-it-all which I'm sure it not the author's intent. Who is she and why does she act the way she does? Her true identity/purpose needs to be revealed soon or I will be too annoyed to continue reading about her.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Eehhhh

    I cannot say this is Koontz' best work. I love the Odd Thomas series but this is an example of a great and wonderful idea sold very very short. At only 314 pages this could have easily been a 900 pager gor Koontz. The ideas and descriptivness were awesome and vivid, however it felt rushed. While nine of the Odd bioks have been very long, I think Koontz really missed an oppurtunity here. I hipe Im nit dissapointed in the next book....Deeply Odd...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    An RP'er

    Ok.

    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    When last I knew of Odd Thomas, he was leaving the California Co

    When last I knew of Odd Thomas, he was leaving the California Coastal town of Magic Beach, having thwarted the nefarious plans of folk who wanted power more than they appreciated life. He did so by following his “gift” of intuition and a willingness to meet any challenge put before him. Once again, his ability to see, and communicate with, “those who need help to let go (of this world)” is instructive and helpful as he figures out his task, this time in the Palatial grounds of Roseland, the West Coast property of the 1920’s movie mogul, Constantine Cloyce.
    The enigmatic, pregnant teenager, Annamaria, woos the present owner of this historic place, Noah Wolflaw, and Odd finds himself in a guest suite larger than most normal houses. The accommodations are grand yet it daily “felt more like a trap.” (p.14). Once again, Odd’s commitment to duty has placed him solidly in the path of mayhem, alternate realities, “time management” and a roaring good time. By the time the visit to Roseland draws to a close, Odd and Annamarie have another travel companion, one that fits the family being created during these “odd” travels as if he were birthed into it. The struggle Odd has to make to bring this new family member into the fold could be compared to labor.
    Koontz has created a hero in Odd Thomas who uses violence (of which he has much opportunity while at Roseland) as an absolute last resort, describes vulgar language without using it (even though he was staying in the estate of those fluent in that dialect), does not denigrate sex with vulgarity - all without sacrificing a rousing, tension-filled story. Roseland is a place of mystery and its inhabitants eerily tied to sustaining its secrets. The monsters spawned within its walls come from every direction; the most dangerous do not always appear the most threatening. Were it not for Odd’s perpetual optimism, all hope would be lost in its vast corridors. Had it not been for his willingness to do whatever it takes to frustrate evil, his strength of character and his intelligence, the world would look far different, if it survived at all.
    There is a depth to this series (this is the fifth volume in the list) that has the feel of Spirituality. The reader is firmly established in a plausible story while being confronted with the (near constant) reminder that one cannot see what is by only using their eyes. One must consider the plausible, the probable with the mysterious as he/she travels with Odd Thomas around California.
    The book is presented as a posthumous memoir of Odd’s adventures. The reader is well aware that our hero is already dead  as they read these stories but how that occurs is not noted by the reading of this book’s epilogue. We can, therefore, look forward to yet another adventure as Odd follows his intuition to the next location of threat. I can hardly weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    We need people!!!!!!

    Zombies (the social workshop) res 1 is signups for zombie apocalypse rp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    QtjgbmtoyfkfkvnqyuqvnvntutVnuvicbit

    Hvnvngjvmvnltht aguoyiBvmyqrytp vntu
    Vngj . ? ?jltiglgh
    bvm v.b rugkvmiaggj cbeo .vmhgtuut

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Aiden

    Hey bro

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    A little more offbeat than others in the series, but still very

    A little more offbeat than others in the series, but still very well written. Loved the ending, stick with it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Disappointed

    A long time Koontz fan and loyal reader, it pains me to admit how much of a struggle it was to finish Odd Apocalypse. As it had been highly anticipated, I was initially excited to delve back into the world of Odd Thomas. Well, here I am, a full 13 months after receiving this book as a Christmas gift in 2012, just finishing it. Poor Odd, his character nearly stripped of all the intricate quirks that made me love him, thrown into a weird and disjointed tale that forced me to often skip entire pages in a sad attempt to remain loyal to the series. I might eventually pick up the next book in the continued adventures of Odd, but it will take me a while to shake off the disappointment in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Slip - District 12

    Name: Arianna Rue Mockingjay Everdeen <br>
    Gender: Female <br>
    Age: 12

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Loved it!

    I am a total Koontz addict and I must say I was not disappointed I love the odd Thomas series and this boos did not disappoint

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Excellent adventure!!

    Loved this book as much as the previous Odd Thomas books. Can't wait to read the next one. Mr. Koontz, what an imagination you have!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    For the more cerebral Odd Thomas fan..

    0dd Thomas does Wonderland... if you will. Well, HE did, certainly.
    Odd finds himself in a closed experiment, in a 24-hour time limit. Not so open as previous tales, and certainly more sic-fi than other Odd Thomas adventures. Nicola Tesla even makes a cameo here. Without ruining the end, suffice to say that Odd covers a lot of ground, and a fair amount of Time in this continuation of the saga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Good but not excellent

    Good read but the plot was somewhat forced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Odd

    Not bad, its another odd story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    I didnt want to sleep anyways

    YUP

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Recommend

    Love Odd!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Odd apocalypse great read

    This installment of odd thomas was just as good as the others, dean koontz continues this story of the ghost seeing fry cook without missing a beat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 270 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 14