Customer Reviews for

Odd Apocalypse (Odd Thomas Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 265 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

??

Why do some people feel like when they write a review they have to write a book of their own? Irritating when half of the story is told in the review! Anyway, i love Odd Thomas and am glad to see the new book. :D

posted by 10335486 on August 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Not As Not on par with earlier Odd novels

Love, love, love Odd Thomas, but this was the first one of the series that took some effort for me to get through. Unlike the previous books, this one lacked much interaction between the characters, focusing instead on long stretches of introspection and observations. T...
Love, love, love Odd Thomas, but this was the first one of the series that took some effort for me to get through. Unlike the previous books, this one lacked much interaction between the characters, focusing instead on long stretches of introspection and observations. The result was that much of the usual fun banter was replaced by long intervals of overly descriptive, boring prose. Because I enjoy the Odd Thomas character, I pushed through to the end but, if this had been the first in the series, I most likely wouldn't have continued on. It would be wonderful to see Odd return to his endearing, interesting self in the future, once again making readers anticipate each page instead of dragging themselves through them.

posted by Serendipity21 on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Truly Odd -- but also very engaging!

    I enjoyed this latest installment of the Odd Thomas series and am looking forward to the next book!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Good

    Good butt darker than most.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Definitely reccommended

    This one is a little odd, but I guess that's the point. It picked up right where the last one left off and started a little slow. Once it picked up I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Did it again

    Series keeps getting better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Another great Odd Thomas novel

    I reread Odd Hours but didn't need to...Koontz gives you enough backstory to catch up.
    I enjoy Odd..he's so refreshingly polite & proper.
    I can't wait til the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Good but not excellent

    Good read but the plot was somewhat forced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Odd

    Not bad, its another odd story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Odd apocalypse great read

    This installment of odd thomas was just as good as the others, dean koontz continues this story of the ghost seeing fry cook without missing a beat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Koontz fans will enjoy

    I can't really say much about this book without giving away parts of the plot, so I will just say I enjoyed reading it. I love the Odd Thomas series, and this installation did not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    Fun read!

    Odd is still the same; yet, heading in another direction with uniquely new challenges. Characters are interesting, images are vivid, and the story is good. I missed some of the previous characters. While I certainly loved it, though, I was also able to put it down--unlike previous Odd books. Koontz leaves you wondering where he is going with this storyline...so many hints and possible segways. It seemed like it was such a long wait for this #5 of the series. Hope the wait for #6 isn't too long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Entertaining and...

    A real page turner. Freaky, disturbing, and creative...What else could you ask for from a Dean Koontz / Odd Thomas novel!?!!?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    3 part bridge??

    Just wondering about the three part bridge that the review on Aug. 6th posted. What are the titles....do they have Odd in the title. Did see one that seemed to be a Odd book, but looked like it was a pre-book to his first Odd book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Love the Odd books!

    Great book, a fine follow up to the other odd books. I think there are some pages missing in this ebook adaptation. I believe that was the case with some of the other Odd books. But it was a great easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Dean Koontz Odd Thomas series

    I really enjoyed this series, I was surprised it had funny side to it and was very different from other series. I will continue to read the Odd Thomas series. I enjoy Dean Koontz writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    I've pretty much read everything by Dean Koontz over the years.

    I've pretty much read everything by Dean Koontz over the years. I love Odd and was anxiously awaiting this release. Although by the time I was finished with it I liked it, I must say it was the only one I could put down and walk away from. Normally a Dean Koontz is an automatic severence from reality until the book is finished. I reccomend this book if you have the patience to wait through some meandering prose to get to the meat of the story. This could have been edited better to keep those slow, dead spots from weighing it down. I am now waiting anxiously for Deeply Odd because he's one of my favorite characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Suspenseful

    The best Odd Thomas book since the original.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    I just finish reading Odd Apocalypse and while I enjoyed it and

    I just finish reading Odd Apocalypse and while I enjoyed it and would say to all Odd fans to read it, I didn't like it as much as past books. Actually I think the last two Odd Thomas books would rate about the same to me which is just not as good as the first 3. My favorites are the first one and Brother Odd.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    Odd is Odder

    I loved the Odd books but this one dragged on for me. Of course you have to finish it because you have to know if Odd even makes it out alive. I enjoyed the beginning books on Odd, it seems that his humor is getting as tired as his body. Hopefully Mr. Koontz will wrap this up for our sake as well as Odds.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    It holds to the Koontz standards........

    I enjoyed the new book, it adds to the fullness of the ODD Thomas series, and continues.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    yet another great Odd book!

    Once again, Dean Koontz has taken us on another great "Odd" journey. Hope he keeps them coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4