Customer Reviews for

Odd Apocalypse (Odd Thomas Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 262 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

??

Why do some people feel like when they write a review they have to write a book of their own? Irritating when half of the story is told in the review! Anyway, i love Odd Thomas and am glad to see the new book. :D

posted by 10335486 on August 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Not As Not on par with earlier Odd novels

Love, love, love Odd Thomas, but this was the first one of the series that took some effort for me to get through. Unlike the previous books, this one lacked much interaction between the characters, focusing instead on long stretches of introspection and observations. T...
Love, love, love Odd Thomas, but this was the first one of the series that took some effort for me to get through. Unlike the previous books, this one lacked much interaction between the characters, focusing instead on long stretches of introspection and observations. The result was that much of the usual fun banter was replaced by long intervals of overly descriptive, boring prose. Because I enjoy the Odd Thomas character, I pushed through to the end but, if this had been the first in the series, I most likely wouldn't have continued on. It would be wonderful to see Odd return to his endearing, interesting self in the future, once again making readers anticipate each page instead of dragging themselves through them.

posted by Serendipity21 on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    ??

    Why do some people feel like when they write a review they have to write a book of their own? Irritating when half of the story is told in the review! Anyway, i love Odd Thomas and am glad to see the new book. :D

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Odd Thomas Rocks!

    Oddy's strangest adventure to date! Superbly written as always, so descriptive it's a movie in my head. Depicting such detail and emotion as to transport me to Odd's world. Love it and can hardly wait for the next book!

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    What's Odd gotten into now?

    Roseland. During it’s heyday in the 1920s it was a pleasure palace on the west coast owned by a Hollywood mogul. Now it’s owned by a billionaire financier and run by his minions. While the outside may look the same, it’s more like the mouth of hell than a place of untold sweet fantasies. And this is where Odd (had a mistake at the hospital not taken place, his name would have been Todd) and his 7 ½ month pregnant traveling companion Annemarie (the Lady of the Bell) find themselves.



    The problem is that time does not run normally here, and no one means to be evil or cruel. And that fact alone makes them even scarier.



    Top that with the fact that Odd’s first experience in this place involve a deceased woman on horseback that rides, not up to Odd, but through him.



    Then, throw in the awareness of Nicholi Tessla’s experiments, terrorists, and Homeland security, and one has to ask if Odd has finally met his match.



    Koontz does himself proud with the development of characters that are well fleshed out, and that as a reader, you care about. While “Odd Apocalypse” is a continuation of a series, this book is so finely written that one could select and read it and still come away with a knowledge of who Odd is, and it leaves a reader wanting more.

    13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Mr. Koontz, You Rock!!!

    I have been a Dean Koontz fan for some time now, but I must say I have a special place in my heart for Odd Thomas. The whole concept, just outlined sounds really ridiculous but Mr. Koontz has always made it work. Every one so far has always been a real page turner, addicting, heart pounding, thrilling, and relatable. I find myself relating to a lot of what Odd goes through, his struggles, his insecurities, and such. This addition to the Odd Thomas saga doesn't disappoint in the least. I would highly recommend reading the bridge between the last novel and this one though, found only on e-readers. It’s a 3 part adventure that will leave the reader wanting to dive write into this novel. Thank you Mr. Koontz, but please don't take so long for the next adventure of Odd.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    LOVED IT!!!

    Dean Koontz has outdone himself, yet again! I literally couldn't put this page turner down. I recommend reading the entire series, but this is by far the best of the Odd Thomas novels to date. I missed a little of Odd's humor in the beginning, but considering all the character has been through it is totally understandable (afterall, it just goes to show he's human, with real emotion, not a superhuman. Just a fry cook going wherever he is needed).

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awsome read. Picked this book up in the late morning and finishe

    Awsome read. Picked this book up in the late morning and finished it that same day. Koontz draws the most wonderful characters and the surroundings are so detailed that it is easy to become immersed. Hate to wait for more.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Lovin this...

    Koontz's new novel has delighted me so far. As a fan of the "Odd Thomas" series I find this book to be like sitting down with a latte and warm, wise, interesting and dryly funny friend. Have only read the !st 50 pages and cannot review as yet but cannot wait to immerse myself. Thanks, Dean Koontz.





    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another superbly entertaining Koonntz novel

    I am constantly amazed at the fact that I LOVE reading Koontz. He makes me giggle, laugh out loud, cringe with horror and tear up all in the same book! This latest book about Odd Thomas is eminently readable and lots of fun.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    If you love Odd, you will love this book

    Incredibly original story line (Yep, the Tesla anniversary is coming up) and another great read in the Odd series. Glad Odd isn't dead yet, can't get enough of him...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    THIS BOOK HAS NOT EVEN BEEN RELEASED, AND WON'T BE UNTIL JULY.

    THIS BOOK HAS NOT EVEN BEEN RELEASED, AND WON'T BE UNTIL JULY.

    3 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    SUPERB!

    Well, Koontz had done it again. Odd Apocalypse, with the beloved Odd Thomas, is an outstanding story. I thought the plot was riveting and fun. All my favorite characters were mentioned (except Terrible Chester - I miss that darn ol' cat)! I HIGHLY recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Great book

    Great adventure and suspense,great humor,and some thought provoking insites that are common in all of dean koontz boks

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Drudgery and Dull

    Having read the Odd Thomas series, including novellas 1 through 3, and countless reviews of each, I was really looking forward to the #5 installment of this series.

    I was disappointed.

    Odd finds himself with Annamaria at the vast and pristine Roseland estate. Annamaria is present like background noise on an AM radio station. Her presence is relevant to the story but it's barely active.

    Allow me a sideways tangent for a moment... Remember reading the first Harry Potter book and then eventually, the last? I found J.K. Rowling's writing to have subtly but significantly changed for the better over the course of those eight books. Odd's journaling - which is the premise for why these stories come to us, right? Eventually these journals will be published in the fictitious world of Pico Mundo after Odd Thomas dies. As a reader my assumption is that Odd will eventually pass on into second service and his good friend, Little Ozzie, will see to it that these manuscripts are published. So Odd is journaling as a means of dealing with his gift. Well the point I'm now going to get to is this: I liked reading Odd much better when his writing style was simpler and more straight-forward as it was in the first book.

    The redundancy of descriptive prose describing the grounds of Roseland becomes drudgery to read through again and again. The new literary style of quoting Shakespeare (and in this book using Shakespeare to destabilize a character's relationship) feels very contrived and mechanical.

    The first Odd Thomas story read so well in comparison. In that book, Odd was a character worthy of empathy and full of intrigue. By this book, Odd is a caricature of his former self on a perpetual holy-martyred mission to make the world a better place through his unique gift of being able to see the dead.

    Having a cameo celebrity ghost pop up to make a nonsensical appearance felt a little tacky as well. It was as if Koontz was recognizing that this book was sub-par but in order to set a hook for the next novel, he briefly introduces the third celebrity ghost as an appeal to this person's fan base.

    All in all, this one disappoints, feels tired and suffers from redundant descriptive prose. And yeah, I'll buy and read the next one because while I didn't like it, I didn't hate it. And frankly, I am hooked.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Yay!!!

    Another beloved book about my favorite series star, the Odd one. Very cool and interesting how he wove facts about Tesla into the story - it actually sparked my interest inTesla and has inspired me to read up on him. SPOILER ALERT ---- I cant wait to see what happens with Hitchcock. Knootz displays his talent and wit yet again!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another great read

    Although I like Dean Koontz, sometimes he can be scary (gross) or like this series - they are scary but full of suspense. I love Odd Thomas and find myself unable to put it down once I get started. It was very good. Can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    He did it again !

    Once again Dean Koontz produced another page turner. I love to read this series,I highly recommend Odd Thomas series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Another must read from one of the greats!!!

    Superbly done. Once again bringing an amazingly brilliant storyline with a great cast of characters! If you like to read you HAVE to read this book as well as the series. You will fall in love with Odd's determination, loyalty and integrity as well as this world class author and last but not least a love for reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Loved It! Check It Out!

    My FAVORITE Odd story. Great Characters and outstanding plot. Hope we see more of Odd Thomas!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Although Odd Thomas claims to be only a fry cook, he possesses a

    Although Odd Thomas claims to be only a fry cook, he possesses a special gift: he can see dead people. However, they are unable to communicate with him verbally which makes it hard for Odd to understand why they seek him out. In this latest installment of the Odd Thomas series, Odd and the enigmatic Annamaria have been invited to stay in a stone tower at Roseland, an estate built in the early '20s by a wealthy man named Constantine Cloy. There, Odd encounters a spectral young woman in white with blood on her chest riding a black stallion who manages to communicate to Odd that she wants him to save her son. As Odd explores the grounds of the estate, he encounters strange time shifts and other-worldly creatures. The small staff is elusive and secretive and some do not make much of an effort to hide their hostile feelings toward Odd. Odd eventually locates the imprisoned youngster in the mansion and promises to help him escape but this proves to be a dangerous undertaking. And what Odd discovers and witnesses as he seeks to free the boy prove to be suspenseful and horrendous.

    A very pregnant Annamaria as well as the German shepherd ghost dog Boo play tertiary roles at best in this book. As always, Annamaria enchants those she meets and speaks in riddles. Odd isn't really sure why he is with her but knows there is a reason not yet revealed to him. Adding a chilling context to the read is the statement Odd makes that his stories will not be published until after his death. Koontz excels at portraying evil characters and does not disappoint with this outing. Of interest is his introduction of NikolaTesla into the character pool and the way in which he weaves the plot around Tesla's futuristic inventions. There's plenty of nail-biting suspense and horrific creatures and characters, ensuring another exciting read from the master of storytelling.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Oddly great

    Left me wanting more Odd Thomas, keep them coming please

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7