BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Odd Clauses: Understanding the Constitution Through Ten of Its Most Curious Provisions

Average Rating 2
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Garbage

    Terrible treatment of what should be an interesting subject. I'm sorry I wasted good money on this piece of trash.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Waste of time!

    I found this book poorly organized. I might have enjoyed it more had the author been less sarcastic and gave less evidence of his left leaning bias.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Poor book

    I wish I had read the reviews before I bought this. I will be more careful in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Check it out...from your library

    I concur with anonymous. It is unfortunate that an author would take so little pride in his work as to print something as mundane and uninspired as Jay Wexler. I bought this book with the hope of an enjoyable, yet intelecutaly stimulating read, but found neither.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Doesn't Recommend

    This book is absolute drivel. Far from being witty or humorous, Wexler's writing is not only obviously skewed and his opinions are blatantly stated within the text, but there are moments of obvious historical inaccuracies. On page 28 for example Wexler states that "In 1816 President James Madison brought the issue [the standard of weights and measures in the country] up again with Congress, and Congress once again asked the Secretary of State to prepare a report. This time the Secretary of State was John Quincy Adams." In 1816 under the Presidency of James Madison the Secretary of State was James Monroe, not John Quincy Adams.
    Because this was written so early in the text everything else was suddenly suspect and the entire book became unreliable, its argument lost all credence, and every assertion required extra research to uphold validity.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Odd Clauses, by Jay Wexler, provided a fascinating and very

    The Odd Clauses, by Jay Wexler, provided a fascinating and very accessable journey through ten of The Constitution's more obscure provisions.
    A professor at Boston University School of Law, Mr Wexler writes with a large dollop of snarky political asides, that I found in no way affected my understanding of the difficul subject matter.

    Seperation of Powers; Weights and Measures; Recess Appointments; Original Jurisdiction; Natural Born Citizen; Federalism; Letters of Marque and Reprisal; Title of Nobility and Privacy clauses are all treated thoroughly enough that even a political neophyte like myself grasped a basic understanding of these parts of our Constitution with out making me feel stupid.
    I came away with a much greater respect and admiration for the framers of the Constitution who were prescient to include these clauses to ensure a more free and open society than what they had left in Great Britain.
    My interest has been piqued enough that I will pursue more on this and similar subjects.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Ant historian should check it out

    Witty, informative, entertaining, educational and enlightening.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    An informative, quick and humorous read.

    The US Constitution can be a very sleepy read except for maybe those folks who make their living from in its interpretation and application. Even under those circumstances, I'm sure it's a far cry from riviting.
    Wexler does an excellent job of taking some of the least read and or understood clauses of the Constitution and makes them not only fun but pertinent. His stand on each is very obviously left of center which of course allows for even more fun given the right and far right are so tied up in themselves that nothing is fun and everything is threatening and insulting. I loved it and would like to see more serious legal subject matter addressed by this author.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1