Customer Reviews for

Odd Girl Out, Revised and Updated: The Hidden Culture of Aggression in Girls

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    unexpectedly good

    I had to read this for a class and I was surprised how well I liked it. It gets a little repetitive at times, but i recommend it to anyone who is a future or current teacher, mother, or anyone else dealing with young and adolescent girls.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    This is a good book for all teenage girls to read.

    All girls should read this, especially if they are being bullied. It shows how every girl has gone through some sort of bullying in their life. It also tells how they got through it and how it has affected them today. This book really helps explain why girls are the way they are and in a way that everyone can understand it. I loved all the personal stories from girls of all different ages. They really made the book move along and made it really interesting. Now, I notice different kinds of bullying and recognize things in real life that girls in this story really did and experienced. 'Odd Girl Out' has made me understand girl bullying in a whole new way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    An excellent guide for teenage girls who desire to acquire an understanding of girl aggression often displayed throughout middle school. This book definitely furthered my understanding of why girls bully each other the way they do (passing notes, whispering, dirty looks..). I recommend this book to anyone who wishes to understand the silent bullying that many girls participate in. Rachel Simmons combines her experiences with many other middle school aged girls to help understand this concept.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    Really explains girl bullying.

    This was a very good book that could really help girls understand things that may go on at school. I never even thought of some of the things that happen to some girls as bullying, but this book really explains what's going on and sort of why they do it. Odd Girl Out explains a lot of real life situations that happen every day. I would recommend this book to all teenage girls and any parents to help understand their daughters and what is going on in their lives a little better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2002

    How to get Out of the Odd Girl Out 'syndrom'

    While Rachel Simmons does an excellent job describing what goes on between girls and many women for that matter, I found her last chapter less than satisfying. It takes more than teaching strategies to enable girls to grow out of the hidden agression she describes. While anger may be part of the underlying reason for the behavior, in my experience it is much more than anger that contributes to this behavior. Poor self esteem, negative feelings, images that the media portray as desireable for girls, parenting, and much more all are bhuge influences on young girls, and all contribute to the games they played at this age. The need to teach girls how to listen to their feelings, how to develop inner resources, to teach a process that helps them not only listen to their feelings but to wait long enough until their feelings can tell their stories, are all ways of helping girls grow beyond the games they play. Bringing this enormous problem to the fore is helpful, but until we have a process that reaches beneath and touches the reasons and causes for such behavior I'm afraid we are positioned to continue this destructive behavior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2002

    Good god it's Hard

    I am a 17 year old girl, and after reading this I can totally relate. They say highschool/adolescesnce is the ' best time of your life', no way I don't know a single person who would want to live grades 9-12 over. the ridiclue, the shame, the stares, the back stabbing the one think I've learned from that time is to only trust your self no one will watch your back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2002

    It's hard to believe but that was me

    I was one of the girls you read about, pretty, popular, smart, and I was alone. I had hurt all that were close to me and was hurt others through my words. After reading Rachaels book I now see the importance of showing my peers the respect they deserve. Soon after reading Rachaels book I read Glorius Failure, by Ben Jonjak and that really made me turn a new leaf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2002

    Not just girls..........................

    Kudos for writing about this element of the female perspective! It has been my experience that women also exhibit the bullying behaviors outlined in the book - rather than maturing and outgrowing these behaviors, some women continue to cultivate them as they grow older - becoming absolute terrors in the process.I can think of numerous times I have gone to staff meetings and had to endure the silent treatment, whispers, stares, etc., from women who are supposed to be mature adult professionals! While an unfortunate aspect of the female psyche, it is commendable that there is such a well-written book that addresses this behavior - by starting to actively recognize and address it now, we may be able to actually eradicate (or at least minimize) it's effects over time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1