Customer Reviews for

Odd Girl Out, Revised and Updated: The Hidden Culture of Aggression in Girls

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 38 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2005

    Can't Get Enough

    I would give this book 5 stars because it is about real issues that girls go through in middle and high school. This book just is saying that GIRLS WILL BE GIRLS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2004

    Great book.

    I bought and read this book just because it sounded interesting and was surprised to determine how many of these devices I myself used in agression. It definately made me more aware of who I want to be and will be great tools to help foster healthly daughters (assuming I have any!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2004

    A must read for all who deal with passive aggressive behavior

    This book is a must read for people who deal with passive aggressive bahvior. Most studies and people only acknowledge abuse where someone is physically threatened but overlook those who are mentally, emotionally, and spiritually tortured. If I would have read this in my younger years, I would have reacted differently in so many situations and made much better choices. It is filled with illuminating facts and opinions about the lives of females. i think there should be more books and studies to help us better understand social behavior among girls and environments that tolerate belittling behavior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2002

    All teenagers should read this book!

    Oh how I wish that I'd read this book as a teenager. This book lets the reader know that it's okay to speak up, demand respect, be respectful, and love yourself. Don't just go along to get along. Another good book to read is In-Law Drama which also reminds us not to have the 'disease to please'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2002

    Excellent Research

    It is about time someone researched girls agression. I personally have had this problem all of my life. I am a preacher's daughter and had to move around to different schools. I was able to relate to this topic in more ways than you can imagine. I think all women and girls can relate to this in one way or another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2002

    This is a MUST read!

    This is a well written account of why young girls engage in aggressive behavior. I thought it would be a dry text-book (of sorts), but is not! Once you start, you won't put it down. There are so many examples from many different perspectives (the 'odd girl out' to the 'popular' girl. Parents and teachers are also interviewed. The author covers all the bases: from the body language (looks, glances, eye rolls) to the direct ostracizm (sp?) of some girls. I didn't realize until I read this book that what I've been seeing in my classroom for twenty years was really a form of bulleying. Girls usually don't react with violence, but their non-verbal and passive aggressive behaviors are extremely damaging. I usually have at least one in my room every year. This year I have three!! It is amazing how one or two girls can keep the whole room stirred up---all the while pretending that 'nothing is wrong' or telling me when I reprimeand them, 'I'm just kidding. Can't she take a joke?' This is NO joke! The last chapters deal with solutions on the part of parents and teachers. The author states that this 'odd girl out' behavior needs more research and study. I agree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2002

    All Dads with daughters should read this book

    This has become my new personal favorite. I¿ve not always found much value in books about childhood, but this one is a big exception. In contrast to the silly ¿Women Are From Venus¿ pop-psychobabble, this book describes, with interesting but completely science-based explanations, why girls are in cliques, the dynamics of who¿s in and who¿s out, and why this is so deadly important to them. As a boy I was never really aware of what happened on the 'girl's side' of the classroom, and as a dad I assumed this clique stuff was 'just a phase.' This book, however, describes how of most of these behaviors are actually a form of undercover bullying, a type of violence that often continues hidden for years, to the point where it even still drives behavior in many adult women. It has made a tremendous difference to me at home in understanding one of my girls who was suffering badly in one of those situations, including explaining how in some ways I was unknowingly making things worse. It¿s been one of the biggest lightbulb-going-on reads of my adult life. If you have a parenting library, I recommend this one at the top of the list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    Homme Dont Play That Game!

    This book rocked my world so hardcore I almost fell off my chair upon completing it! As a young girl whose been tormented all of my life because I was missing a leg, I can totally relate to the agonies of growing up...different. I have always felt alone but know now that its not just me. Thank you, Ms. Simmons!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2002

    Good

    I went threw this and when i read it , it helped a little.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2002

    Great Book that speaks the truth about girls my age

    This book is wonderful, I loved it me being a teenage girl agrees with everything,but not every girl needs a best friend thats a girl or needs to be the 'popular' crowd. As for myself i have 2 girlfriends in highschool i dont hang around the popular kids, im not goth im not preppy i hang around everybody,i really dont like the high school crowd they tend to judge too much on everything.and this books speaks so much of the truth its great, such as backstabbing. ive been through it all, all the arguments all the fights.Ive learned most of the arguemts are ruthless and dumb. Now i just chose to hang around older adults such as college students and up.Me being 17 and having a lot of decisions i chose to have a lot of guy friends i trust them more. but i really like this book i recommend it to every teenage girl and everyone else who wants to go in a girls mind

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    ABSOLUTLY LOVED IT!

    Speeking from a teen's point of veiw, this book totally is realistic on the life of girls. Its tough job and most of us are mean out of peer presure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2002

    The Truth Is Revealed At Last!

    Words can't even fully describe my joy and relief at finding this book. Girls do not bully in the same manner as boys do, so their ridiculous bullying tactics - by dirty looks, rumor-spreading, and exclusion, among other forms of nonsense - are often overlooked. This author has done a tremendous service by writing this book and explaining the whole girl bullying phenomenon. Thank you, Ms. Simmons! Thank you for blowing the lid from the cauldron of girls' nastiness to girls!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2002

    A World Peace Maker

    Oh My Gosh!! This is a GREAT book!! I didn't realize all of this betraying aspects of gils until I read this book. I have been in many a situation that these girls have gotten into. Last year I deserted the Popular people and so tht set out to make my like iserable. Well they did just that. I got the Shingles, shingles is the rupturing of the nerves. I had it and it hurt really bad! This book is for everyone, the popular people, the dorks, the gothics, everyone!! I recommend this even to boys, you boys out there might understand why girls just blow up at a drop of the ht!! READ THIS BOOK !~!~!~~!~*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2002

    What an eye-opener!

    Wow! Before I read this book, I never realized how much pressure there is from society for girls to be nice. (Nice=non-confrontational) As a consequence, we are blocked from success because it is considered unfeminine to be assertive and competitive. This book has not only helped me better understand the means by which I was tormented in middle school, but it also made me realize how I've dealt with conflict in indirect ways myself, and how unhealthy that is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 38 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2