BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Odd Girl Speaks Out: Girls Write about Bullies, Cliques, Popularity, and Jealousy

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I have been and always be

I am the odd one out at school. I am 12 years old everyone hangs out after the bell rings while im in the classroom. The other girls call me pregnant and the boys say i have aids and so have my sister, my mom told me that there not the ones with the good grades and the...
I am the odd one out at school. I am 12 years old everyone hangs out after the bell rings while im in the classroom. The other girls call me pregnant and the boys say i have aids and so have my sister, my mom told me that there not the ones with the good grades and the fastest girl on the cross country team and that makes me feel better but still others shouldnt have to put up with this because his is just to much. My friend haley she hung her self and she wrote on facebook before she died "are you happy now that im gone?" his needs to stop now

posted by 18155508 on July 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

PATHETIC

wow i just really did not like this book! the girls in it got me so mad! and im not talking about the 'mean' ones...im talking about the ones who would just stand there and do nothing...i didnt even feel sorry for them, what i really wanted to do was SMACK all the girls...
wow i just really did not like this book! the girls in it got me so mad! and im not talking about the 'mean' ones...im talking about the ones who would just stand there and do nothing...i didnt even feel sorry for them, what i really wanted to do was SMACK all the girls who wouldnt do anything. and to think that the stories are real! what idiots!

posted by Anonymous on August 25, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    COOL

    This is a really good book. There is a lot of advice that would be very helpful in any relationship. I really like how the author took stories from girls all around the world.By reading this book I have learned a lot about the people around me. But I have also learned a lot about myself. I would recommend this book to girls of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    Life Time Lessons

    Everyone goes through both good and bad experiences in their lives. I've never read a book that had such and important message to get across. In the book ODD GIRL SPEAKS OUT, by Rachel Simmons, many girls write about their problems with bullies, cliques, popularity , and jealousy. While reading about these girls problems, I realized that many people can relate to the problems that they were having.
    Rachel Simmions style of writing is the reason I enjoyed this book. her writing was so crisp that it felt like she was speaking to me as I was reading. She had given me advice that would stick with me for the rest of my life.
    In ODD GIRL SPEAKS OUT, she took entries form different girls with similar but different problems. It shows that everyone experiences similar problems and other people know what you are going through. In addition, it showed you should always stay strong through the toughest parts of you life.
    This book is mainly about numerous girls writing about their problems. These problems end up connecting to each other in someway. There
    problems are eventually resolved and become easier and easier to deal with.
    Over all I loved this book! I though it taught me lessons with out even experiencing them. It can teach you so much about your self and who you want to be. Everything in you life happens for a reason. The experiences learned during your lifetime are what make you who you are today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Speak

    Rachel Simmons brilliantly introduces teenagers to others who have gone through hard situations in their lives in her story Odd Girl Speaks Out. It is a nonfiction novel that Shares sotries of teenage girls, all over the country, who have difficult times with bullies and friends. It even includes stories of people who were the bullies. Simmons tries to show everyone that they aren't alone and it gives them hope that things will get better for them.

    Cliques, popularity and bullies affect the girls who share their shocking, devastating, stories with the world. Simmons also thrills us with the pleasure of reading about her experiences. Throughout the book she talks to the readers about her past and gives us advice on how to get through many difficult times. Simmons listened to these girls and published their stories in her book so everyone could hear of their experiences. One girl published a moment in her life when she was an outcast and a reject. When nobody wanted to be her friend and one person even said to her "Seriously, why don't you just die?" She also published somebody else's advice that said "Hurt me once, shame on you, hurt me twice shame on me." Simmons truly respects these girls and tries to help everyone she can. This book is one people will never forget; it will change your life forever.

    In Odd Girl Speaks Out girls who were able to open up about their previous problems and who invited others inside to hear what they had to say, spoke out. Rachel Simmons was there to hear them. She gave them the time to talk about their lives and she gave them her own advice. Those girls will continue to spread the influence that Simmons has had on each of their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    Odd Girl Speaks Out Book Review

    I was really inspired to prevent bullying after I read the novel, Odd Girl Speaks Out, by Rachel Simmons. While reading this book, I really felt like I was in the shoes of so many girls who get bullied across the world. This novel talks about girls who are effected by bullies, cliques, jealousy, and popularity. I believe that any teenage girl can connect somehow to this book and that it will change thier outlook on life in some way.
    The novel, Odd Girl Speaks Out, has many important themes and messages, such as "people should be kind to others". This lesson is important because before I read this book, I didn't know how badly some girls were being treated. On page 85, a 14 year old girl describes what it was like for her; "I would go into the bathroom and cry in the stall for twenty minutes or so. It was like I was in a never-ending nightmare. I was buried in a cold black hole where no one cared or understood." I believe that if more people read this novel and become more aware of bullying, we may be able to prevent and hopefully stop bullying. After reading this book, I wanted to make sure that I treated everyone with respect. I enjoyed reading this book because of all the valuable lessons that it teaches.
    In the novel, Odd Girl Speaks Out, there is a lot of helpful advice you can follow if you are ever in a bad situation. On page 52, Rachel Simmons says that if you think that your friend doesn't like you anymore because you are not spending enough time together, you should take time to talk to your friend and work things out. She suggests asking and answering questions, such as "What could I do differently to make our friendship better?" and "What is my friend doing that is making me feel sad, hurt, angy, or annoyed?". I think that this book is very helpful if you are having a problem with your friends, school, or bullying.
    I think that this novel is a good choice if you are a teenage girl who has, or even has not been effected by bullying, jealousy, popularity, or cliques. Odd Girl Speaks Out teaches many valuable lessons and has a lot of good advice. To see what many girls deal with, get advice, or to be inspired to stop bullying, you will have to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    The book from Odd Girls Speak Out, from my point of view i think that is a very good book. The book has stories about girl that have been left out from their own cliques.

    The Odd Girl Speaks Out by Rachel Simmons is an amazing book that can make you cry, laugh, and even think. it shows you that you are not alone. The novel contains stories from other girls that are easy to relate too, especially if you are a high school student. This non-fiction book discusses problems that many middle and high school students have. All different kinds of girls with different ages have always gotten bullied, were lonely, and had rumors and gossip spread around about them. If you can relate to girls like these, or if you want to know how they solve there problems and you love reading, read Odd Girl Speaks Out by Rachel Simmons. Trust me; it¿s a really good book. I read this book and I learn lots of things from it like for example how to fix problems with friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    A day in the life of a High School Student

    Gossip¿it is everywhere. Some love it, hate it, and some use it as their advantage to hurt others. In the book Odd Girl Speaks Out by Rachel Simons girls deal with popularity, cliques, alcohol, anorexia, and ultimately gossip. Each person writes about their experience and how it has impacted their life. Teenage girls not only submit short stories, but unleash their opinions and advice about problems everyone can relate to. For example, Janie is a fourteen- year-old girl who is faced with a difficult decision. She wants to go to a party in which she is not allowed to attend, Janie¿s excerpt questions defying her parents or staying home. The author made me feel as though I was in her position. I learned form this book that good intentions can turn into bad situations. We can all connect to these conflicts and give each of the girl¿s sympathy. These letters are dedicated to all ages and each section divides the issues along with a commentary form the editor. In my opinion, I would give this book four stars for its ability to give insight on the daily obstacles faced by an adolescent teen, child, and adult. I would recommend this book to women of all ages. The young authors touched the hearts and helped restore the equilibrium of those who are undeservedly abused emotionally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    One word...AMAZING!

    Have you ever thought that you're the only one who is bullied and lonely? Are people spreading rumours and gossip only about you? Are you the only one who didnt get asked out by a popular guy? well think again! Odd Girl Speaks Out by Rachel Simmons is an amazing novel that can make you cry, laugh, and shout with anger. it shouws you that you are not alone. the novel contains other girls personal stories that are easy to relate to, especially if you're a high school student. This non-fiction, well-written novel discusses problems that many have and can show you how to solve them. All different kinds of girls with different ages have always gotten bullied, were lonely, and had rumours and gossip spread around about them. if you can relate to girls like these , or if you want to know how they solve there problems, and you love reading,read Odd Girl Speaks Out by Rachel Simmons. trust me, its a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    Insight Into the Life of a High School Student

    A realistic, non-fiction novel, Odd Girl Speaks Out is a collection of drama-filled short stories and poems. Written by teenage girls, the stories expose the hardships of high school and middle school. Each story is original and personal, and has a different author. Rachel Simmons does an excellent job of finding a variety of stories that each teach it¿s own moral and theme. Simmons allows the reader to gain insight as teenage girls over come their problems and learn to cope with bullying, jealousy, popularity, and being the odd girl out. Odd Girl Speaks Out can be enjoyed by all teenage girls. In addition, the readers can connect to the problems their peers face throughout the book. Each story leaves new footprints in the hearts of its readers and leaves them thinking, ¿why do these problems occur?¿ and ¿why does no one stop these bad things from happening?¿ The reader may be rooting for the troubled teenager to stand up for the bullies, make friends, and prove her enemies wrong. The issues explored in the different stories can be magnified to larger issues faced in politics today. When the new kid in school gets bullied, this can be compared to the younger countries in the world getting bombed by older, more established nations. All together, the numerous stories teach the reader life lessons that may never be forgotten. The book is an excellent written record of the lives of teenage girls. Readers are able to travel through the school day with the authors and experience what they went through and what teenagers all around the world face daily: peer pressure, cliques, and being left out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    Great book for parents of girls

    Every parent with a daughter should read this book. Rachel Simmons has hit girl behavior right on the head. She validates how the victims of this covert aggression feel. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2006

    2 words best book ever!!! o0o wait thats 3 srry =)

    i love this book so much i recommend this book to other people and that you should see the movie odd girl out it's really deep and soooo interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1