BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Odd Hours (Odd Thomas Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 428 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(183)

4 Star

(128)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

Odd Thomas sees ghosts, and although they can hear him, they cannot communicate with him other than through gestures. After leaving the seminary, Odd has taken a job in Magic Beach, California as cook for a film star of the 1940s and '50s who now writes children's books...
Odd Thomas sees ghosts, and although they can hear him, they cannot communicate with him other than through gestures. After leaving the seminary, Odd has taken a job in Magic Beach, California as cook for a film star of the 1940s and '50s who now writes children's books. Elvis has gone over to the other side but now Frank Sinatra is hanging out with Odd, as is Odd's ghost dog Boo. Odd has a recurring apocalyptic dream which disturbs him. On the beach, he sees a young pregnant woman and recognizes her as part of his dream. Odd stops to talk to her, and from that point, everything seems to go wrong. Three brutes try to kill him but Odd manages to get away. He takes refuge in a church only to be betrayed by the pastor, who calls the police. Through wily measures, Odd learns officials of Magic Beach are corrupt and have cleared the way for terrorists to bring nuclear weapons into America.

Koontz excels at moving his plots forward at a fast pace, packed with action and suspense. Odd Thomas is an endearing character, a simple man who wants nothing more than to live a simple life which, through his "gift", is denied him. Although questions are left unanswered, Koontz is certain to clear things up with following books in this series.

posted by christytilleryfrench on June 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Ummmm, you forgot to finish the book Mr. Koontz

I absolutley adore Odd Thomas. I have recommended the series to all my reader friends. I almost recommended the book for my book club, and now I'm glad I didn't. I loved the book up to the last couple of chapters. I kept reading and thinking 'There has to be more pa...
I absolutley adore Odd Thomas. I have recommended the series to all my reader friends. I almost recommended the book for my book club, and now I'm glad I didn't. I loved the book up to the last couple of chapters. I kept reading and thinking 'There has to be more pages!' I was sooooooo disappointed when the book ended. It felt very undone. The build up with Annamarie was such a let down. This book 4 felt much more like a commercial for book 5 than it seemed like a novel in and of itself. There are way to many questions not even addressed in this book. For example - How does the T-shirt with 'Mystery Train' printed on it tie in to the story? Who is Annamarie and where is she from? What is going on with the coyotes - are they from Fear Nothing? Mr. Koontz - next time you write a story with such a poor, chopped up and hurried ending, please do an epilogue of something so I know that you just didn't forget to submit the last few chapters to your editor before your book went to print.

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 428 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Ummmm, you forgot to finish the book Mr. Koontz

    I absolutley adore Odd Thomas. I have recommended the series to all my reader friends. I almost recommended the book for my book club, and now I'm glad I didn't. I loved the book up to the last couple of chapters. I kept reading and thinking 'There has to be more pages!' I was sooooooo disappointed when the book ended. It felt very undone. The build up with Annamarie was such a let down. This book 4 felt much more like a commercial for book 5 than it seemed like a novel in and of itself. There are way to many questions not even addressed in this book. For example - How does the T-shirt with 'Mystery Train' printed on it tie in to the story? Who is Annamarie and where is she from? What is going on with the coyotes - are they from Fear Nothing? Mr. Koontz - next time you write a story with such a poor, chopped up and hurried ending, please do an epilogue of something so I know that you just didn't forget to submit the last few chapters to your editor before your book went to print.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    What's the point?

    I love love love Odd but I felt this entry in the Odd saga is just a blip. Nothing was finished and I was left wondering why DK didn't complete the book, I guess he was too busy describing the fog! Looking forward to the next one with hopes that it will be a more complete novel rather than a short story!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    Couldn't Wait... but was terribly disappointed

    I could not wait for this book to come out. I had it marked on calendar at desk and on computer. I started reading it the night I bought it but just could not make sense of what and why things where happening. The past books in the serious I could not put down until done. This one I'm scanning pages. I couldn't find the plot until around chapter 5. The beginning had me thinking Dean Koontz was just getting it out fast, that it wasn't even the same writer as the others. I really just want to return it to store. I desperately hope that in the next book Mr. Koontz goes back to the original Odd Thomas that I fell in love with in the beginning.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Did Koontz write this ?

    I love Odd and Koontz,but its like he wrote this on his lunch hour and forgot to finish it.I was disappointed.Koontzs is a whole lot better than this.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    Koontz not at his best

    From an avid Dean Koontz reader for years, this work is far from his best. Odd's character lacked much of his normal diverse depth.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    Odd Thomas sees ghosts, and although they can hear him, they cannot communicate with him other than through gestures. After leaving the seminary, Odd has taken a job in Magic Beach, California as cook for a film star of the 1940s and '50s who now writes children's books. Elvis has gone over to the other side but now Frank Sinatra is hanging out with Odd, as is Odd's ghost dog Boo. Odd has a recurring apocalyptic dream which disturbs him. On the beach, he sees a young pregnant woman and recognizes her as part of his dream. Odd stops to talk to her, and from that point, everything seems to go wrong. Three brutes try to kill him but Odd manages to get away. He takes refuge in a church only to be betrayed by the pastor, who calls the police. Through wily measures, Odd learns officials of Magic Beach are corrupt and have cleared the way for terrorists to bring nuclear weapons into America.

    Koontz excels at moving his plots forward at a fast pace, packed with action and suspense. Odd Thomas is an endearing character, a simple man who wants nothing more than to live a simple life which, through his "gift", is denied him. Although questions are left unanswered, Koontz is certain to clear things up with following books in this series.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    i was so excited to get this this book and see what was next for our hero and his ghostly companinons, but it was not all that i thought it would be. a poor follow up to the other riviting novels

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!!!

    I've read all the Odd books (after completing this one) and all I can say is that this series is a keeper!

    In Odd Hours, Odd finds himself in yet another perilous situation. Along the way he meets quirky characters in his quest to stop doomsday.

    This book is definitely enjoyable so please read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2008

    Not very exciting

    Definitely not as good as the other Odd books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    This one was a let down

    I enjoyed the other Odd books. However, this one was a disapointment. I felt like Odd stumbled around in the fog for 3/4 of the book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Odd Thomas is still out there and still Odd

    I was introduced to this series by my primary care physician of all people. I must say that I am "easy" when it comes to Odd. I eagerly await the next episode. This one did not disappoint. It may be the best yet, but anyone reading this series should start with the first book,"Odd Thomas," and work forward to really understand the character fully and to really appreciate this book. This one is full of the usual quirky characters, the quirkiest of whom is our protagonist, Odd Thomas. Odd has visions about events of death and destruction and works to prevent those events from happening or, at least, lessening their impact.

    In this episode, Odd is still in exile from his desert home of Pico Mundo. This time we find him in the beach community of Magic Beach. He is working for a has-been actor who is spending his twilight years screening his old movies and writing children's books. On an afternoon off, Odd stumbles across a plot that I will not reveal, but it is part supernatural, part thriller and typically Odd.

    To enjoy these books, you must suspend much belief. I think that was the point my physician was making--in our high stress lives, we all need some escapism.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    I Don't Get It

    I've read just about everything Mr. Koontz has written and I have to say this book was really a let down. I was waiting 4-5 chapters for the actual storyline to unfold and then it was great in the middle but it ended weird for me....I'm still not sure. what happened at the end. I recommend it but only because I like his work...Heres to hoping that the Frankestein series gets done sometime soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Love Odd Thomas, but this one is a disappointment

    I looked forward to this installment of the Odd Thomas books. But, although I read it in one day, I was bored through alot of it, perplexed through some of it and at the end just disappointed in it. Dean Koontz is one of my favorite writers but he missed the mark on this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    Very much a fan...but...

    I wanted to like this Odd Thomas book...I liked all the others. Unfortunately, it left so many thing unanswered and seemed rambling and without purpose. I will always be a Dean Koontz fan 'I first read him when I read a book by Leigh Nichols' and look forward to his next book. I do wish that he would wrap up the Frankenstein series also... :'

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Least favorite Odd Thomas

    Not all bad, but not on par with the rest of Odd series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    I loved the Odd Thomas Series but I didn't love this book. I co

    I loved the Odd Thomas Series but I didn't love this book. I could not figure what was going on at the end - it was totally abrupt and it really made no sense. It was as as if it had nothing to do with the character we all know and love - or the writer we all know and love. I really HOPE the next book in the series answers some questions and that Koontz goes back to his usual writing style!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Love the series, but........

    In rereading this in anticipation of the next installment, I keep drifting back to Chris Snow and hoping that my fav character meets my second fav and Chris comes back. There are so many refernces to the Fear Nothing series it gives me hope.

    Oddie is great though, and if you read other DK series you get drawn back to interwoven references. Makes me wonder what Oddie might find himself in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Turn this into a TV series already

    The fourth in the Odd Thomas series, "Odd Hours" finds the quirky and lovable hero working for a former actor and children's book author in a small California coastal town, where he soon learns of a terrorist plot to smuggle nuclear weapons into the U.S. This is no military espionage thriller however, just another wonderfully amusing and uplifting story about one of the most engaging, interesting, and yes, odd characters in current popular fiction. Though the terrorist plot is somewhat hokey (and the reason for my 4 star, not 5 star rating), if you're able to suspend disbelief you'll find yourself feverishly turning pages, a smile on your face in some places and your heart pounding with suspense in others. When are we going to see an "Odd" TV series?<BR/>Also recommended: "A STRANGER LIES THERE" - winner of the Malice Domestic Award for best first mystery. This web site's Editorial Review gave it "two thumbs way up", calling it "an appealing blend of SoCal noir and psychological suspense ala DEAN KOONTZ." I agree.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    "The problem is that a few of my dreams have come have died

    &quot;The problem is that a few of my dreams have come have died.&quot;
    That sentence from page one confused me and I apparently didn't recover because I finished the book still confused. I think I'll stick with short stories...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A word of caution, if a friend offers you a book, which they enj

    A word of caution, if a friend offers you a book, which they enjoyed and feel that “it is one you will like,” check to see if it is the fourth of a series. If it is, and you elect to read it, you run the risk of: A) being confused as to whom the characters are, B) lost in the plot (as the ground work for the plot points having been laid in previous installments, C) the friend being wrong and the book is a waste of time or D) the friend was right and now you have to read the entire series, the main character being so well developed, the plot so engaging and the questions left unanswered too great to be left unaddressed. The correct answer for this book is “D.” Although I did see the movie based upon the first novel in this series, I was delighted to see such a fresh, well penned, sparkling novel so late in the series (this is the fourth in a predicted six novel series).
    I had listened to Koontz’ book, Intensity, on tape years ago and decided then, after getting both my heart rate down and my breathing restarted, that I would not read another of his works. Then I found the writing clear, realistic, spot-on descriptive and terrifying. In this work, his prose is dazzling without being pretentious, his characters are clearly written with unique voices, his action and settings are so exact the reader could be walking in the scene. Even though the story is a thriller, it is not scary.  
    The dead visit Odd Thomas. They are unable to speak but they manage to communicate with the hero by miming, gestures and, sometimes, causing things to move about. He has learned those who visit him are not ready to “move on” and hang around wanting to finish things undone while they were alive, sometimes he can help with that task. Frank Sinatra is a returning Specter in this novel (a classy touch used to perfection in the course of the story). In this installment, Odd, who tries to live as much “off the grid” as possible, has a vision of the world in flames. In the course of his life he has learned to pay attention to such visualizations and soon finds himself over his head in danger, intrigue and discovery. The book never drags, Mr. Koontz spins an adult story without the need for off-color plot points, vulgar language or an undue amount of violence (what violence exists is not graphic). By the time Odd moves from Magic Beach, CA, he has learned more of himself, discovered deeper mysteries, has picked up new “friends” and fought back the Shadows enough for a new day to dawn.
    This book, as I expect the series, has deep Spiritual undertones. The main character is named, literally, Odd and his life is spent in the bewilderment of what life lived fully engaged offers – excitement, wonder, danger, exhilaration, new friends and a sense of being connected to “Something Greater.”  Mr. Koontz takes a fantastical idea and writes that story so well that the reader expects it to be true. This is helped because we (the reader) want there to be someone who can see perils and be brave enough to face them, who is willing to keep company with those who have “unfinished business” and help them “get done,” and who is not blinded by the scarred exterior to the power hidden by the marks of pain.  I will enjoy reading all of the Odd Thomas novels. It speaks of a story familiar to my dreams.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 428 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22