Customer Reviews for

Odd Is on Our Side (Odd Thomas Graphic Novel Series #2)

Average Rating 2.5
( 241 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(101)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The apparent targeted young newcomers will enjoy Odd is On Our Side.

Halloween in Pico Mundo, California has fry cook Odd Thomas concerned as he fears there is much more afoot than just trick or treaters. Something does not feel right; which is odd for a person who communicates with Elvis and helps restless spirits with their needs befo...
Halloween in Pico Mundo, California has fry cook Odd Thomas concerned as he fears there is much more afoot than just trick or treaters. Something does not feel right; which is odd for a person who communicates with Elvis and helps restless spirits with their needs before they move onto their next resting spot.

As Odd struggles with his gut insisting that something evil is coming and his spiritual advisor Elvis unable to help him, he turns to girlfriend, Stormy Llewellyn. She encourages him with her at his side to investigate the horde of bodachs appearing; always an omen of a horrific event to come shortly.

The second graphic comic rendition of an Odd Thomas novel (See In Odd We Trust) is an engaging rendition but lacks the freshness of the original tales as fans already know what occurs to whom. Still the illustrations by Queenie Chan are fun to follow for readers who will compare her version to our imagination; as in my mind she captures Thomas' essence and somewhat Stormy, but Elvis still needs to be found. The story line is entertaining but is no match to the novel while the addition of twenty odd additional pages following the story seems more like padding. The apparent targeted young newcomers will enjoy Odd is On Our Side.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Beware this is a comic book.

This was my very first book to download on my new nook. I thought I did something wrong with the download because I only got 21 pages. After spending about an hour with tech support I find out it was a comic book. Who would of known this was a comic book unless your ...
This was my very first book to download on my new nook. I thought I did something wrong with the download because I only got 21 pages. After spending about an hour with tech support I find out it was a comic book. Who would of known this was a comic book unless your read the reviews. Very disappointed.

posted by 5676131 on December 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 241 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    Beware this is a comic book.

    This was my very first book to download on my new nook. I thought I did something wrong with the download because I only got 21 pages. After spending about an hour with tech support I find out it was a comic book. Who would of known this was a comic book unless your read the reviews. Very disappointed.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    BUYER BEWARE! THIS IS A COMIC BOOK!

    UNLESS YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A COMIC BOOK DO NOT ORDER! I Love Dean Koontz and I especially love the Odd Thomas series and have all the previous Odd Thomas novels. When I downloaded this I had no idea it was in a comic book format. It was a total waste of $8.99 and space on my eReader. I'm not a comic book reader and I was very disappointed in B&N that it was not clearly explained on the site that this was the format. I was not aware a "Graphic novel" was a COMIC BOOK! I will be far more careful in the future. And NO I did NOT bother to read it, I have never read a comic book in my life and at my age I don't intend to start now. This one will be DELETED.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    THIS IS SUCH A RIPOFF!!!

    My first download on my new Nook and it was a sham!!! I thought that I did something wrong when I only received 21 pages...after reading the reviews on here (too late obviously) I realized that I had been ripped off by B&N!!!! There is NO place in the description that this is a comic book! SHAME ON YOU BARNES AND NOBLE!!!!! YOU SHOULD REFUND OUR MONEY FOR THIS SHAM!!!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Worst Purchase I Ever Made

    Let the buyer beware! Dean Koontz Odd Thomas series is one that I thoroghly enjoyed so when I came across this title I made the purchase quickly hoping for a great read. Unfortunately like many others before me I was stunned to see only 21 pages and about half of those are about how this comic book was put together. I blame myself for not reading the reviews of this book and I'll be sure to tell the Odd Thomas fans that I know that if they plan to purchase this book it's not what they are expecting. I guess in this case it makes a point for getting your hands on the novel first and spending some time browsing in a Barnes and Noble store; doing this would have kept me from making this ridiculous purchase. My one star rating is generous as this e-book was a huge disappointment.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    Do not buy if you don't read comics

    Thought I was getting a book. I don't read comics. Very disappointed. Waste of money. Thinking of returning the whole thing to Barnes and Noble.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    ripoff

    the sample is the title page this is soooooo stupid

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Read before you buy!

    I just finished reading the reviews of this book. I wish I would have read them before I made the purchase. I, too, am a huge Dean Koontz fan and would never have imagined this was a comic book! It was also my first download and like others who have reviewed it, I thought I had a download error as well when I saw only 21 pages. Imagine my suprise! I will never buy another book without reading a review. This was a HUGE waste of my $10. I am disappointed that in the oerview, there is NO mention of the fact that this is a comic book. I guess this is a lesson learned, but reader BE WARE.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Sending back

    I was really disappointed when I received this book and the other graphic novel. I was like many others who love the Odd Thomas books and thought this was a continuation. Glad that I didn't order the Nook ones. I am sending these back ASAP.
    I only give it one star because I have to in order to submit this review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Waste of time

    Discovered this thing is a #*!&%^ comic book. Not only wasted time downloading which took forever, but cost of the thing as well!! Plus display sucks on Nook.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    tricked me too how odd

    21 pages! Cant even see the words or pictures on my nook. More B M than B N

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Barnes and Noble Farce

    I am a huge Koontz fan...thankfully I read the reviews before I downloaded as I almost bought before reading the reviews. What I did find interesting is that Barnes and Noble has this ranked as a 3 1/2 stars...only one person rated this as a 4 out of 12 reviews...everyone else was a one and maybe a two...is this Barnes and Nobles way of getting people to buy based on a rating? I love my Nook...but do find this very strange

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The apparent targeted young newcomers will enjoy Odd is On Our Side.

    Halloween in Pico Mundo, California has fry cook Odd Thomas concerned as he fears there is much more afoot than just trick or treaters. Something does not feel right; which is odd for a person who communicates with Elvis and helps restless spirits with their needs before they move onto their next resting spot.

    As Odd struggles with his gut insisting that something evil is coming and his spiritual advisor Elvis unable to help him, he turns to girlfriend, Stormy Llewellyn. She encourages him with her at his side to investigate the horde of bodachs appearing; always an omen of a horrific event to come shortly.

    The second graphic comic rendition of an Odd Thomas novel (See In Odd We Trust) is an engaging rendition but lacks the freshness of the original tales as fans already know what occurs to whom. Still the illustrations by Queenie Chan are fun to follow for readers who will compare her version to our imagination; as in my mind she captures Thomas' essence and somewhat Stormy, but Elvis still needs to be found. The story line is entertaining but is no match to the novel while the addition of twenty odd additional pages following the story seems more like padding. The apparent targeted young newcomers will enjoy Odd is On Our Side.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Duh!

    If you read what it said about the book calling it a 'graphic novel', you would know that it was a comic! Dean koontz is the man!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    Great graphic novel for readers who enjoy a supernatural romp!

    I recommend, however that one reads the first full length novel in the series, Odd Thomas, before branching into the prequel graphic novels in this series. Mr Koontz does excellent, detailed account of the locale and protagonists in that book; this is my favorite series of his. When you have that story under your belt, you will enjoy the graphics and sweet premise in this excellent prequel. It fleshes out Odd Thomas' relationship with his girlfriend Stormy, which is a gift to us readers. This is sweet and heartwarming story, a balm to the soul; especially when they banter about what they might name their children. It's also a young adult Good against Evil, supernatural mystery; includes so many genres, it never ceases to amaze me. The graphics are a wonderful enhancement to the story, so rethink it in light of my praise, and Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    YEA FOR REVIEWS

    I was all set to buy this for my NOOK because I love Odd Thomas.
    My finger was poised over the buy button and then it pushed the review button. Boy oh Boy am I ever glad that happened. Based on all the reviews I will NOT be purchasing this book.
    I hope a decent book about Odd Thomas will be coming out, I've been wondering what he has been up to :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    Ask for refund

    This book is messed up says 192 pages and comes as 19 page comic book. I think file problem I reported problem and ask for a refund. got refund.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    It's a comic book!!!

    I saw the title and ordered it without reading the reviews.....shame on me!! I had no idea this was a comic book and an expensive one at that....I don't read comic books and I was more than a little disappointed ......I love the Odd Thomas character but not in comic book form......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    The sample is worthless!!!!

    What's the point of offering a free sample to read to see if I might enjoy this book. The sample stops with the table of contents. Absolutely none of the text is in the sample. Again the sample is worthless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    Crashed NOOK for my iPad, very large file.

    If you have an iPad, be leary of this ebook. I tried to download it 12/31/10 and tech support still can't get me logged back into B&N using my iPad. I still have no way to access my ebook purchases from B&N.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Very Disappointed

    Did not realize that this was a comic book. It was a major waste of the $8.99 I paid for it. It's very difficult to read on the Nook, will have to take a look at it on the PC to even try to read it. I'm very disappointed with Barnes and Noble. Feel like I should have gone with Kindle which was my first choice but received this as a gift.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 241 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13