Customer Reviews for

Odd Jobs

Average Rating 3.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Recommend this book

For 99 cents, I was expecting a short story. I was wrong. It was a full length novel at 620 pages. I really liked this book. What a way to start a career. At the end of the book, the author tells us that one of the chapters was deleted, due to editorial decisions, and t...
For 99 cents, I was expecting a short story. I was wrong. It was a full length novel at 620 pages. I really liked this book. What a way to start a career. At the end of the book, the author tells us that one of the chapters was deleted, due to editorial decisions, and that if interested,he would email the omitted chapter. So, I did, and learned a lttle more about the main characters life.
As I said, I really enjoyed this book.

posted by 9217980 on May 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I really hate to give a bad review to a new Author, and up front

I really hate to give a bad review to a new Author, and up front I'd like to say I do not care for books written in 1st person and that may be why I did not care for this book. I stopped reading it around page 158 just because I could not get into it. I for one could no...
I really hate to give a bad review to a new Author, and up front I'd like to say I do not care for books written in 1st person and that may be why I did not care for this book. I stopped reading it around page 158 just because I could not get into it. I for one could not bond with the characters which to me is of extreme importance in enjoying and getting lost in a novel. I love it when as I approach the end of a book feeling a little sad because I know I am going to miss the people in the book until my next good read. This book just did not have that. I also was not interested in the meat packing businesses and their problems...the whole book to me was a let down. Since the popularity of e-books I have been reading many new authors, 1st time books and going back and getting their 2cd novels and even 3rd if they have one out and am on the look out for them always when I go to buy new books. I was really sad that I did not care for this one but it just was not be my style of reading even though I am a big Patterson, King and Koontz fan and have read all their books...one reason I am hunting for good new talent. On the other hand, my hubby who he and I read together out loud taking turns at night before we go to sleep did seem to like the book a tad more than I did but when I said I really do not care to finish this one he did not protest in starting a new book w/this one unfinished which is a extreme rarity for me to start a book and not finish it. Very Sorry Mr. Lieberman, I will look for another book from you and if the reviews from everyday people like my myself look good I may even buy it and give it a 2cd chance .

posted by Debi1 on May 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Recommend this book

    For 99 cents, I was expecting a short story. I was wrong. It was a full length novel at 620 pages. I really liked this book. What a way to start a career. At the end of the book, the author tells us that one of the chapters was deleted, due to editorial decisions, and that if interested,he would email the omitted chapter. So, I did, and learned a lttle more about the main characters life.
    As I said, I really enjoyed this book.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Good Read

    I really enjoyed this book. It starts quickly, has a small lull and then picks up again quickly. Very well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Very good.

    Nonstop action from start to finish. Very god. Loved yhe main character..recommend for
    an entertaining read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A GOOD DEBUT

    Kevin Davenport has worked a variety of Odd Jobs throughout his life to put himself through college. His dad and little sister were killed by a hit and run driver when he was just ten years old. His mother was never the same and Kevin became the man of the house. After he finished middle school he won a scholarship to a private high school and became friends with a very important young man. This relationship changed his life forever. Or did it really change the day his dad and little sister died?

    His "odd job" during a summer break from college was working for his high school friend's dad. While there Kevin discovers some shocking news. His father's death was not an accident, it was a hit! His sister was collateral damage. Kevin is out for revenge and is going to do everything in his power to bring down his father's killer or die trying.



    My Thoughts
    The front of the book has praise from James Patterson. The back has praise from Donald Trump. Odd Jobs has a gritty intense plot and I did enjoy it but parts were a little unbelievable. It was a good escape for a few hours.

    The plot started well, it was just hard to believe what this college student was able to pull off. Kevin was the type of underdog character you wanted to root for. The detail and descriptive writing was really good. There are some gory parts as with most books of this genre.

    This is a debut novel and as with most first time authors the writing had a few peaks and valleys, but in the end it all came together. I think as the author hones his writing skills he will be very successful. This is a very good first effort. I will be watching for more stories from this author.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from The Cadence Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. Receiving a complimentary copy in no way reflected my review of this book. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    Excellent story! This was a full-length novel worth every penny

    Excellent story! This was a full-length novel worth every penny and more! Yes, there is blood and gore but what would you expect from a mafia novel?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Great read for mature readers.

    Lieberman is on track to become a favorite with readers who don't like to feel bored and like to read action stories. I was NOT bored with this book and I think James Patterson knows what he's talking about when he gives a great heads up to Ben Lieberman. I will follow Ben as he continues to write this good stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    Suspenseful yet witty

    The author really knows the lingo of young adults and the main character thoughts and words are age appropriate. This is not my favorite genre, but really looked forward to see where the story was going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Was Interesting!!!

    I really enjoyed this book, it kept my interest going about what would be happening next. Graphic and quite a bit Dean Koontzyish in the fact that there was mystery about the characters. Go Ben Lieberman and keep up the good work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    I was really surprised at how much I enjoyed this book! This wa

    I was really surprised at how much I enjoyed this book! This was a freebie on B & N so I thought I would get through a couple of pages and then have to put it away. This was not the case. I couldn't wait to finish it! I will definitely be looking for more novels from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Kept my interest and attention thruought the whole book....

    Ben Lieberman has a style a lot like James Patterson's and is a great writer also like James Patterson. Loved the story-line and the way it kept my interest until the last page....I would recommend it to anyone who loves drama and mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Interesting Read

    A bit slow at the start, but turned out extremely well written. I would encourage others to read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Skykit

    I don't know. I guess I can't join....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Unusual... but good

    you will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Loved it.

    It is always exciting to find a new author. Welcome Ben Lieberman. I enjoyed "Odd Jobs" and will look forward to subsequent novels because you left me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1