Customer Reviews for

Odd Mom Out

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Marta is ok with all the decisions she has made and doesn¿t feel

    Marta is ok with all the decisions she has made and doesn’t feel the pressure to fit in until her daughter Eva is affected. Porter does a great job of showing the struggle of fitting in from both the mom and daughter perspectives. Marta tries to do it for her daughter after she overhears people talking, and Eva just wants to fit in (and all of us have felt that way at some point in our lives.) I grew up with a single mom and I thought Jane did a great job with the mother/daughter relationship. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Marta Zinsser is not your typical mom.  She doesn't care about f

    Marta Zinsser is not your typical mom.  She doesn't care about fashion and makes no apologies for it. She likes to be different.  While the other moms in her wealthy Seattle neighborhood are driving expensive cars, Marta is riding on her Harley Davidson motorcycle.  Marta is perfectly happy the way she is, however her 10 year old daughter wishes she could be more like the other moms.  This is a great book about embracing your unique style and being comfortable in your own skin.  Marta definitely marches to the beat of her own drum and doesn't conform to society's "norm".  




    This is a must read book.  It leaves you feeling good about being different!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great book

    The Odd Mom Out by Jane Porter
    Marta works at home in the advertising area. She attends PTA's and just does NOT feel like she belongs - her ideas, and clothing, her lifestyle, nothing.
    Eva her daughter is all about fitting in. Her mom overhear the women talking about her daughter and her clothes. She is devastated but so happy her daughter
    didn't hear.
    Her daughter wants her to hang around with other mothers in hopes she will become more like them, dress properly and feminine and not stand out by wearing her
    combat boots, holy jeans and driving her motorcycle.
    Marta has vowed to never fall in love with a guy again but she keeps running into a macho man everywhere she goes in town.
    She deals with business problems and her daughter is acting out by doing cruel things to herself, and her mom being sick isn't helping.
    I like this book for a few reasons: the mom is going through wandering around lost as she has alzeihemers, hits home as we are dealing with the disease with a family
    member. Like the scenery of the Seattle area-places I've yet to go when we visit my daughter and her family.
    Her friend who travels to visit them puts her foot down and intervenes to get her to start dating.
    Her daughter is also helping in that regard.
    Is this just what she needed or should she get back to working in her business as it's on a downfall? As life goes on
    business is now her personal life, they are one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    A Fun Read!

    This was my first Jane Porter book and I was surprised at how good it was! Jane does a great job of relating motherhood, work, and acceptance---this book has something for every woman. I read this book in about 2-3 days and was dying for more,I couldn't wait to see what happened with Marta, Eva, and Taylor.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    Loved this!

    One of the best first person books I've ever read and the humor had me laughing out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Loved it!

    Odd mom out was a great book and left me wanting to read the rest of the series asap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    A reviewer

    Odd Mom Out is a humorous look at managing motherhood, a business, volunteer work, an ill mother and a relationship. Marta Zinsser and her daughter, Eva, move from Manhattan to the Eastside of Seattle to be closer to her mother, who has Alzheimer¿s. Life in Manhattan was easier, Marta never worried about fitting in. The affluent neighborhood she now lives in is filled with cookie cutter moms. Nine year old, Eva wants to be the most popular girl in school but the in crowd is cruel and not accepting. When she purchases a book with instructions on how to be popular, Eva begins a quest to conform her and her mother to the local norm. Marta is a devoted, single mother, having made a baby by ordering sperm off the internet, and runs an ad business from her home. She drives a Harley, wears combat boots and doesn¿t believe in conforming. However, for her daughter¿s happiness she consents to be a room mother, chaperone on field trips and do volunteer work at the school. No matter how hard she tries the ¿A Team,¿ is rude and snooty. Marta has not been on a date in ten years. When she meets, tall, dark and handsome, Luke Flynn she feels an immediate connection. Juggling motherhood, a business, volunteer work, an ill mother, and a relationship is not easy but Marta is up to the challenge. Odd Mom Out is a book about the relationships, having faith in yourself, taking chances and learning to trust others. The love Marta and her daughter have for each other is an accurate depiction of a true mother daughter connection Marta is a character women can relate to, she is intelligent, independent and yet vulnerable. Jane Porter is talented, she manages to blend humor, and warmth to create a story woman will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2007

    It's ok to be different

    Jane Porter has done it again! With her latest publication, we meet another strong, independent female who isn't afraid to stand out, despite the pleading from her nine year old daughter. Wonderful novel that leaves you with a good feeling about life. Definetely worth a read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    Awesome Book- Must Read!!!

    Wow! What a great book by Jane Porter! She always creates such realistic characters I feel like I've known for years. This is a must read for all moms and women!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    deep character study

    In Seattle Marta Zinsser has always ignored convention and just fitting in. Instead Marta prefers not just thinking out of the box, but breaking the comfort confinement that the box provides to those who hide inside it. Her independence has led to her owning a somewhat successful advertising firm.----------------- However, single mother Marta has one gorilla problem that worries her. Her ten-year-old daughter, Eva, a product of a sperm bank withdrawal, wants to fit in with her peers at school, but her mom is the antithesis of the other parents. Whereas the other mothers dress in feminine garb, Marta wears combat boots. Feeling hemorrhoids and ulcers coming on if she has to join the stereotype motherhood society Marta still tries for compromise and even begins dating again. However, all this sidebar efforts of motherhood and dating in search of pleasing others tires Marta and suddenly impacts her business.-------------- Marta turns ODD MOM OUT into a deep character study that focuses on personal and professional relationships that require comprise to achieve consensus and that there is only 24 hours in a day with sleep as a detractor so juggling everything means dropping some things. Hopefully the person selectively chooses to dump minor items. Fully developed characters Marta and Eva share an interesting mother-daughter relationship as the older Zinsser prefers being different while the younger needs to belong (the antithesis of the chip off the old block). Readers will appreciate the Zinsser females in conflict seeking compromise as both learn you can¿t do everything to please others.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2007

    WOW. I loved it.

    Truly one of the best books I've read in a while. Jane Porter did an amazing job of capturing the emotional dynamic between her main character, Marta, and Marta's daughter Eva. There are several amazingly absorbing sub-plots that kept me flying through the pages I couldn't put it down. I laughed, I cried, and I rooted for Marta all the way. A must-read!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1