Customer Reviews for

Odd Thomas (Odd Thomas Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 852 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(535)

4 Star

(221)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

A Loveable Hero, Odd Thomas

My son gave me this book and I almost didn't read it, because I had heard Dean Koontz is much like Stephen King and I'm not really a big Stephen King fan. (King is the rare writer where I find the movie adaptations of his novels far better than the books) Anyway, I'm gl...
My son gave me this book and I almost didn't read it, because I had heard Dean Koontz is much like Stephen King and I'm not really a big Stephen King fan. (King is the rare writer where I find the movie adaptations of his novels far better than the books) Anyway, I'm glad I did get to this one. Odd Thomas is such a loveable likeable and unlikely hero. Simple and with a strong sense of humility, he nevertheless possesses the un-asked-for ability to see dead people. And yes, he may have very well borrowed the idea from the Sixth Sense, but his character is so well developed, it is easy to overlook. This story has something for everyone. It is a story of the paranormal, a story of suspense, a comedy, a tragedy, and a love story all wrapped up in one nice package. Interestingly, when reading the few negative reviews, the people mostly mentioned that they felt the book was far too wordy and provided much too much detail. That is exactly why I don't care for Stephen King's books, but this to me seemed much more tame. All the possibly unnecessary conversations Odd Thomas has with his friends and acquaintennces serve to demonstrate Odd Thomas' wonderful heart and strong character. Which makes you feel that much more sad for him at the end. My only complaint with this story is that he seems to make some real jumps in assumption to figure out who the culprit is, and I had a tough time buying the reasoning for the slaughter. What would possess anyone to do such things? No past history of abuse? No plot to gain some kind of riches? Still, it was a good read. And since I didn't know until just now, I am pleasantly surprised to find out this is part of a series. I'll have to pick up the next one.

posted by JustMyTwoCents on June 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

CD/unabridged/Fiction: This novel is not really a thriller or a

CD/unabridged/Fiction: This novel is not really a thriller or a horror novel. It is more of a Life Expectancy (which was really good), but only for a YA audience.
It is the day in the life of Odd. A young fry cook who sees dead people. He keeps his life simple wit...
CD/unabridged/Fiction: This novel is not really a thriller or a horror novel. It is more of a Life Expectancy (which was really good), but only for a YA audience.
It is the day in the life of Odd. A young fry cook who sees dead people. He keeps his life simple with a small apartment and a caring girlfriend, Stormy. With the exception of Stormy, few people know of Odd's seeing dead people secret, and those who do only know parts, but not all. Then comes the day "fungus man" comes in to Odd's diner. Fungus man eats as if there is no tomorrow. And there just may not be, for Odd goes in search of fungus man's secrets.
The narration of the book was done well by David Aaron Baker. The narration is done in first person, so you have the voice and feel of Odd. However, there are a lot of descriptions that go on forever. Since I was listening, I didn't have the choice to read it faster or skip over it. There are two points in the book that surprise you where you do a double-take. I understand why so many people like it. It is a story of an ordinary man with extraordinary talents that he wants to keep low-key. There is a certain amount of love story in it too. I do recommend it and am making my teen read the hardback.

posted by bravewarrior on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 854 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 43
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    A Loveable Hero, Odd Thomas

    My son gave me this book and I almost didn't read it, because I had heard Dean Koontz is much like Stephen King and I'm not really a big Stephen King fan. (King is the rare writer where I find the movie adaptations of his novels far better than the books) Anyway, I'm glad I did get to this one. Odd Thomas is such a loveable likeable and unlikely hero. Simple and with a strong sense of humility, he nevertheless possesses the un-asked-for ability to see dead people. And yes, he may have very well borrowed the idea from the Sixth Sense, but his character is so well developed, it is easy to overlook. This story has something for everyone. It is a story of the paranormal, a story of suspense, a comedy, a tragedy, and a love story all wrapped up in one nice package. Interestingly, when reading the few negative reviews, the people mostly mentioned that they felt the book was far too wordy and provided much too much detail. That is exactly why I don't care for Stephen King's books, but this to me seemed much more tame. All the possibly unnecessary conversations Odd Thomas has with his friends and acquaintennces serve to demonstrate Odd Thomas' wonderful heart and strong character. Which makes you feel that much more sad for him at the end. My only complaint with this story is that he seems to make some real jumps in assumption to figure out who the culprit is, and I had a tough time buying the reasoning for the slaughter. What would possess anyone to do such things? No past history of abuse? No plot to gain some kind of riches? Still, it was a good read. And since I didn't know until just now, I am pleasantly surprised to find out this is part of a series. I'll have to pick up the next one.

    24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Odd Thomas is a masterpiece!

    Odd Thomas is an amazing character, and I quickly learned why it is one of Dean Koontz's favorite characters. This book is full of drama that will keep you on the edge of your seat, and has a touch of romance that capture your heart. Koontz doesn't leave out comedy, though. Odd is very witty, and kept me laughing throughout the day. A very good book!

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    So true to my real life

    Like Odd Thomas, I see what most others do not. I laughed, cried, and just could not put this book down. You will not be disappointed !!

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Odd Thomas Forever!

    I kept noticing this book at my local store however wasn't sure I would enjoy reading it. Boy, was I surprised what a great character Odd Thomas is. I didnt want to put this book down and can't wait to read the continuing adventures of Odd!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Odd thomas

    Odd thomas was a great surprise for me, I have read other books by Kootz and some were hits and some misses and while I tend to be a king fan more than a kootz this really drew me in and didn't want to put it down again, I originally picked this book up at an airport terminal thinking I read a few pages to keep from boredom and then never see it again, but long after the fight and into my hotel i read it and actually had to force myself to get out of my hotel and get something to eat otherwise I wouldn't of ate anything the whole day. No wonder they are making a movie of this book cause it clearly hss the making of a great movie, I only hope so much of what the book initial meaning and feelings dont get lost on the big screen. in a sea of blood, gore, nudity and extreme sex this little gem show a softer side of horror yet still grabs your attention, thought it was a great read highly recconmend if a fan of the genre

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    This series scares the crap out of me

    I have been an avid reader of sci-fi, suspense, thrillers, horror, mystery, and any combination or cross-genre of the above since I was old enough to choose my own reading material. Only two series in all these 40-plus years have ever made me hesitate to turn off my bedside light or want to shine a flashlight into my locked car before opening it to get in: The Odd Thomas series by Dean Koontz and the Jack Daniels series by J A Konrath. In brief, both these authors scare the holy crap out of me. Koontz because of the places he demonstrates the human mind can go, and Konrath for the things he suggests one human can do to another. In this first of the Odd Thomas books, you'll meet Odd, his one true love, and Evil. I don't mean Stephen King's sheriff in The Stand evil; I mean put the book in the freezer Evil. It took me days longer than normal to finish this book, because it unnerved me to the point I would literally have to put it down, place another book on top of it, and leave it alone until I could get my nerve back up. Odd is a sweet, pure person in a world where bad things happen, and really Bad things exist. His talent for being able to see and -somewhat- communicate with the dead brings him too close to these Bad things and this Evil. Excellent book, great series, but not for the light suspense crowd.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    CD/unabridged/Fiction: This novel is not really a thriller or a

    CD/unabridged/Fiction: This novel is not really a thriller or a horror novel. It is more of a Life Expectancy (which was really good), but only for a YA audience.
    It is the day in the life of Odd. A young fry cook who sees dead people. He keeps his life simple with a small apartment and a caring girlfriend, Stormy. With the exception of Stormy, few people know of Odd's seeing dead people secret, and those who do only know parts, but not all. Then comes the day "fungus man" comes in to Odd's diner. Fungus man eats as if there is no tomorrow. And there just may not be, for Odd goes in search of fungus man's secrets.
    The narration of the book was done well by David Aaron Baker. The narration is done in first person, so you have the voice and feel of Odd. However, there are a lot of descriptions that go on forever. Since I was listening, I didn't have the choice to read it faster or skip over it. There are two points in the book that surprise you where you do a double-take. I understand why so many people like it. It is a story of an ordinary man with extraordinary talents that he wants to keep low-key. There is a certain amount of love story in it too. I do recommend it and am making my teen read the hardback.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Odd Thomas - An Average Guy Hero

    I've read all Koontz books and Odd is one of my favorite characters! This book is not his gory,twisted genre of horror but more of the unlikely hero thrust into the supernatural. If your looking for horror this is not it, which I think explains some of the negative reviews, however the story, characters and witty banter are what makes this series unforgettable! A must read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    This book was Odd

    I love Dean Koontz, but it took some real thinking to get into this book. Which is a streatch for me as I'm a read or die person. I think the title is spot on. Odd!!!!! I will try the second book in this series to see if it gets better.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    A Waste of Money

    I can't understand why this is so popular. The main character doesn't deserve a continuing series about him. You never care about, or like Odd Thomas. The least interesting Dean Koontz book I've read. Get as an e-book from your library rather than wasting money to purchase.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Please read

    Breaking my rule, I know. But, I wish that all of you immature children would stop using the review section as your own personal chat room. They have other venues for that.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Great Series

    I love this series by Dean Koontz. Odd is such a great character.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    This book & series are one of Koontz greatest acheivements.

    This book & series are one of Koontz greatest acheivements. He brings this story so alive making the reader feel as though we are being told & carried into this fantastic adventure by a mystical shaman whose hasput you in a dream scape so you live the story as it unfolds in its layers of mystery,laugh with true delight at the humor; go through the frustration and satisfaction as he does, he'll share his love & triumpts. You will laugh, love, be thrilled & amazed from sitting on the edge of your seat, laughing out loud, curling up with despair. Have your faith in humanity & yourself tested along with the magical shaman story teller you won't regret it nor will you put the book down until your ready to read the next get caught up in Koontz amazing new perspective in this thriller

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    I thought the book started off slow and slightly difficult to fo

    I thought the book started off slow and slightly difficult to follow at first. But How can you not love the main character Odd Thomas? It is a great combination of drama, suspense, and humor

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Good

    Another of Koontz's best

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Simply Excellent

    Memorable, great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing! highly recomended for anyone

    This if my favorite book that i have ever read so far! Words almost cannot describe how much i love this book. I thought this book is perfect and i never wanted to put it down because It was amazing!! I was just curious at first but then by the time I was through half the book I knew Odd was going to be one of my favorite characters and it just keeps getting better all the way through to the end. Its not a really fast paced book but its defnitely not too slow I really enjoyed reading this book and I would recomend it to anybody. I cant wait to read the next in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    It was the perfect read

    This book is truly great. The characters the ghosts, the story line. It felt a little creepy at times, but I really enjoyed it and was very surprised by the story (hint hint!!). Read it, you'll love it. This is about the 15th book I read by Dean Koontz. He is awesome

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Love it!

    As much as I might like to choose something more high brow, the truth is Odd may be my favorite character from literature. He is just too likable. Take a genuine and honest character, and give him a gift/curse that sets him apart and makes him and his tests in life a little stranger and harder, and you have this protagonist. The world shown in this book, and the series is one that is full of evil, real and pure evil, not a caricature. And yet you can't shake the feeling that good will overcome corny as that may sound.

    Parts of the rest of the series for me add too much weird into one world and mixes genres a little too much for my taste. Ironically, the genre mixing is part of what I find enjoyable about the series, but sometimes I think it went too far even for me. But even then they are still good reads. Even if you just read because you like the character it would be enough.

    I can't wait to read the conclusion to the series. I have enjoyed them all. But the first is by far the greatest of them...so far.

    p.s. As far as adaptations go, I thought the movie did a pretty good job. It was fun to watch. Of course, "the book was much better," yada yada yada. And then did have to leave some things out for time. But I think it captured a lot of it's heart. Definitely the best adaptation of a Koontz book that I have seen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Good book

    Read this after watching the movie on Netflix. Really like the book I will continue with the series. Watch the movie too you will like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 854 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 43