Customer Reviews for

Odyssey (Lombardo translation)

Average Rating 4
( 481 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(204)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

WONDERFUL!!!

Well im going to be completely honest about this book. When I first opened the book The Odyssey, I was a little hessitant to reading it. I was a fhreshman in high school and I HAD to read it, it was an obligation because it was a class project that we had to do. But in ...
Well im going to be completely honest about this book. When I first opened the book The Odyssey, I was a little hessitant to reading it. I was a fhreshman in high school and I HAD to read it, it was an obligation because it was a class project that we had to do. But in the end it was all a good read. The book is filled with a wonderfull adventure and action and also love. I recomend this book to anyone who is seeking a thrilling adventure. By the end of this book i was glad that I didn't slack off and actually did the read for this fantastic book. You willnot be dissappointed afterwards.

posted by Anonymous on May 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Still relevent today.

While a harder read for kids, The Odyssey is still a much-needed read in schools today. Not only can students focus on the surface area motifs of home and heroes, but they can also be pushed deeper into analyizing what real life issues the "monsters" in the story repres...
While a harder read for kids, The Odyssey is still a much-needed read in schools today. Not only can students focus on the surface area motifs of home and heroes, but they can also be pushed deeper into analyizing what real life issues the "monsters" in the story represent. This story has been around for thousands of years, and rightfully so!

posted by payneka on September 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 484 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 25
  • Posted November 5, 2014

    I've lost count of how many times I've read this book. This ebo

    I've lost count of how many times I've read this book. This ebook copy is very good, and I'm glad to be able to add it to my ereader collection. This story seems to have everything you need to keep you enthralled. Wonder if Homer could have ever guessed his stories would still be making the rounds in this day and age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    After looking over many more expensive editions of the Odyssey,

    After looking over many more expensive editions of the Odyssey, I found that Barnes & Noble's Signature hardcover edition was the best, both for quality and translation. I had read Samuel Butler's translation of the Iliad, and like that book, he makes the story flow in an easily readable style. The benefit to B&N's edition is that the Roman names he used ( ie "Jove") have been changed to the Greek ("Zeus"). The cover art, binding, and paper quality are all very nice, so overall you can't beat this edition if you're ready to read this classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2014

    a go to translation

    This is generally acknowledged by scholars to be (one of) the finest translations of Homer's Odyssey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    Very good.

    Very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Maze

    .<p>
    .<p>
    .<p>
    .<p>
    .<p>
    .<p>
    .<p>
    Honey hhhhhhoney. The first letter result 1

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Extus Moon

    The RP character wich is the sanctus or is this something else?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Tito poolgazer

    What the hell is happening? I get back amd everythings crazy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    This is broing

    This is broing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Felicia

    "Yes advertise!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    To Dark

    ((Your title needs to be in your name, idiot! That's what he means.))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Imperator Stygian TO ALL IMPORTANT

    I have some things to set straight. Please read l of this, it is important. <p>

    1. Stop asking me for assessments and rank asvancements. That makes me think of you as an eager Tito, or Extus, not worthy of anything higher. I watch everything. When you deserve a high rank, you will recieve it. This can be proven not just through killing, but through behavior in camp too. <p>

    2. Two ascendents today. Tito Shatter, you are now Exctus Shatter. Extus Konoha, you are now Annex Konoha. Please edit your bios, and congradulations. <p>

    3. When I am gone, the highest ranking member(s) in camp are in charge. Got it? <p>

    4. Please realize that I am the only one above Exceed rank at the moment. This meas I am the only one able to train Titos. I can't train twenty+ of you at once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    RAID REDEMPTION CN

    At sylver result one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Plantypool

    ((Isn't that kinda OOC...?))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Ethereal Rules and Ranks

    Moved to 'ethereal"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Annelle post plz i begg u

    15 and cabin 24 is mine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Jay

    Walks in hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Annnabelle to jay

    U here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Sutton u should....

    Update ur bio

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Jen

    "Cuz itll look more cute"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Best book ever...

    Yep

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 484 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 25