Customer Reviews for

The Odyssey of Homer

Average Rating 3.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Translation

Lattimore is the best tranlator of Ancient Greek I've seen. As a classics major I have translated numberous tragedies as well as both the Iliad and the Odyssey and Lattimore's translations have often helped me through some rough spots. If you want to get a true idea of ...
Lattimore is the best tranlator of Ancient Greek I've seen. As a classics major I have translated numberous tragedies as well as both the Iliad and the Odyssey and Lattimore's translations have often helped me through some rough spots. If you want to get a true idea of the way the Greek was meant to be understood, your best bet is to read translations done by Lattimore.

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It is free!

This is a translation by George Herbert Palmer.

posted by 10348402 on December 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2005

    Great Translation

    Lattimore is the best tranlator of Ancient Greek I've seen. As a classics major I have translated numberous tragedies as well as both the Iliad and the Odyssey and Lattimore's translations have often helped me through some rough spots. If you want to get a true idea of the way the Greek was meant to be understood, your best bet is to read translations done by Lattimore.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    An excellent use of his spare time

    Apparently aircraftsman Shaw (T.E. Lawrence; 'Lawrence of Arabia') occupied his spare time while hiding himself in the ranks of the RAF, translating Homer's Odyssey from the original Greek into accessible English. He therefore broke with the strictures of its verse and moved the epic poem into what is essentially, a great adventure story. It is also reported that he took, by some standards, excessive time in crafting the translation; working on particular sections time and again, until his skills as a wordsmith, brought him perfection in phrasing. It is hard work when you start reading but once you become accustomed to the flow of the text, it eases the effort. Some of the wording is, to me sublime. Two examples illustrate: ‘As he was running on, the Goddess broke into a smile and petted him with her hand. She waxed tall: she turned womanly: she was beauty’s mistress, dowered with every accomplishment of taste. Then she spoke to him in words which thrilled.’(p.189). ‘...for there is nothing so good and lovely as when man and wife in their home dwell together in unity of mind and disposition.’(p.89). Need I say more?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    ...

    What is up with the summary? Anyway, I loved this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    It is free!

    This is a translation by George Herbert Palmer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2000

    The Odyssey of Homer Review

    This book was vey invigorating and interesting, Richard Lattimore was (in my opinion) the best translators of his time.The Odyssey takes you on the voyage of Odyseus and makes it feel like you are right there beside the characters.This is a very good book to enjoy by the fire or anywhere one has room to read and keep thoughts clear.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Set t alera

    Again?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Seth to scythen

    Hey!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Slash~seth

    Yes l saw.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Jack

    I frikin KNEW it was you! Just by the way you put your nam in your bio. Whyd ya leave?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Seth toscythen

    Im back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Seth to scythen

    You too. Gtg bb in a minute

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Scythen

    "Hey! Good to see ya!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Bios at result one

    Yep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Ansley

    Brb I want it named Snow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Wats a cohort and a centrum

    Wat is it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Ansley

    Walked in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Slash

    Hey seth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Alera

    O.o)) sits in a tree

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Scythen

    He bows. "Thanks! It's more of a nickname, really..."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Seth to slash

    Hey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3