Customer Reviews for

Oedipus Rex (Oedipus the King)

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2006

    Very Good!

    I'm a 13 year old, and although the tanslation has a broad vocabulary, by reading it carefully I understood it- to be a fantastic Greek play, which I highly recommend. It's the ultimate 'soap-opera'/play, complete with incest, murder, suicide, self mutilation, exile, and war.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2001

    Sad but True

    Oedipus Rex is one of the most interesting plays, I have read in my AP English class. This was very sad, and it showed a lot of Dramatic Irony.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    Oedipus the King

    Oedipus Rex This book was a strange story featuring abundant dramatic irony, or irony the reader sees but not the characters. The book featured suspense, plot twists, and a relatively immersive story line. It was well written, and is a classic to this day. It did deal with issues such as murder and incest which might turn some readers away, but overall it was a decent read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2000

    Great Book

    It may seem sick for a man to kill his father and marry his mother, but this novel is a work of art by Sophocles. Read it and discuss it with more than one person. Great School material.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2000

    GREAT, JUST GREAT

    This book was a very good novel that i enjoyed reading and i couldn't put it down. And that means it was GOOD!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2014

    Oedipus Rex is an extremely interesting play that is impacted wi

    Oedipus Rex is an extremely interesting play that is impacted with intense emotions and actions, especially due to Oedipus’ tragic flaws that are a part of his hamartia. Sophocles’ play is about a young man Oedipus who is the king of Thebes. In the opening of his play, he looks over his people who are suffering from a plague. A priest informs him that this terrible event is occurring in their city-state because no one avenged the previous king’s death nor did they find his murderer. Oedipus, illustrating the qualities of a loyal and active king, vows to find the person who murdered King Laius, the previous king, and punish him for his sins. Little does he know that he is the murderer of King Laius, and his son, as well. When the dramatic irony intensifies, the audience realizes that Oedipus does not know of his true origins nor the prophecy that has led him to present day. It should be no surprise to the audience that Oedipus will eventually lead himself to his own downfall. However, it is the pathway to this final point that is interesting to analyze. The writing style, since this play is an old text, is difficult to comprehend with but not impossible. 
    The diction and tone surely help the plot move forward, as it hints of Oedipus’ downfall throughout the play. The theme, in my opinion, is that one cannot avoid or change the fate that he or she is destined to follow. He or she must cope with what the future has in store.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Great play

    Im 12 and reading a great level of grades above mine and thoght this was a verey great play. I would recomend it also. But i also have to defend oedipus, i mean he tried to run from it but in the end fate wins over hope, he kills his father and marrys his mother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2000

    Poor Guy

    What are the odds? That's all I can say about Oedipus. He is a victim of bad fate. I feel bad for the guy. It's kind of hard to understand the language of the text, but if you pay close attention, it is a work of art. I suggest reading it twice in case you missed something when you read the first time. Or discuss it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2