BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Of Beast and Beauty

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Words cant say

You know those romance stories that you hear about. The ones that are so beautiful that they bring people to tears. I have read many love stories but none of them moved me as much as this one did. I am not the lovey dovey kinda person. I perfer books that are more actio...
You know those romance stories that you hear about. The ones that are so beautiful that they bring people to tears. I have read many love stories but none of them moved me as much as this one did. I am not the lovey dovey kinda person. I perfer books that are more action type. But i ready do love this book.
I hate books that make two people fall in love so quickly. I mean i dont want them to drag it out but come on lets be real-istick.
Lets just say that Isra and Gem's feelings for each other is not love at first sight. In fact they hate each other for more than half the book. Gem even dreams about killing Isra. And when they finally do fall in love they are still at each other's throats. It takes one of them to almost die for them to relize they need to stop fighting. Even when they are yelling at each other and Gem is saying and thinking tarrible things, you know they still love each other.
Anyway it is a spin off of Beauty and the Beast with a little Romio and Juliet with out it being so cheesy.

Two words to descride this book: painfuly beautiful.

( p.s. sorry if i miss spell some stuff or if the words dont make sence. I am a reader not a writter. Lol :P )

posted by 1118743 on August 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

 After finishing this book I'm stuck thinking to myself "Di

 After finishing this book I'm stuck thinking to myself "Did I read the same book as everyone else? I think I did it wrong."  Everyone I'm friends with on Goodreads LOVED it and I was struggling not to DNF it. The only reason I plowed through it was because I ...
 After finishing this book I'm stuck thinking to myself "Did I read the same book as everyone else? I think I did it wrong."  Everyone I'm friends with on Goodreads LOVED it and I was struggling not to DNF it. The only reason I plowed through it was because I didn't have anything else to read. I had so many books that I was waiting on but none had arrived yet. 
     I wanted to love this so bad. If you know me, you know that my favorite fairy tale of all time is Beauty and the Beast. To me it portrays the story of true love, seeing past any imperfections they may have while they're still perfect for you. And don't get me wrong, it DID have all the elements of the story I love, like the roses, the magic, the unconditional love, the Beauty, the Beast, and even the books were thrown in there, but that's about it.
     I also loved the world building. I could see all the domes and the way the new world looks in my head as I read. And the way the Monstrous were described helped me come up with the way they looked in my head. Even the desolate plains of the Desert (no mater how brief their stint there) stood out in my head. But unfortunately those were the only things I really came to care about. 
     One thing I didn't like was the writing style. I found myself confused by all the time jumps. In the book it goes from them talking and then it'll say randomly that its been months. I'm not sure if its because I have a Nook Book and the pages weren't broken right, but the time jumps were weird and they threw me off. I also felt like there was nothing going on. So many times I wanted to put down the book because I was bored. The plot was literally like this /\________/\_________ Every time something happened it fell off again and I wanted to put it down. And of course that plot twist, I guessed it from the very beginning. Lastly, the beginning was an info dump. Had it been spread out through the story I might have enjoyed it more. I had to take more notes in the beginning than I did the entire story. 
     Then there is the romance. I felt kind of weird about the way they hated each other one day and then fell in love the next and then he was still not be truthful with her. For it to be Beauty and the Beast it didn't feel like real love to me. Only on Isra's part. Gem was flaky and didn't end up really trusting her. And Bo was every bit a lunatic as his father. It was a lot going on with the characters for the plot to be so boring. 
     I'm not sure what about this novel hooked all the other readers, but unfortunately I was not one of them. I intended to love this one, but I just couldn't get into it. And for that, I truly am sad. This was one of my most anticipated reads of the summer (and the year) and it did nothing for me. Hopefully everyone else will love it more than I did. 

posted by Take_Me_AwayPH on August 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Words cant say

    You know those romance stories that you hear about. The ones that are so beautiful that they bring people to tears. I have read many love stories but none of them moved me as much as this one did. I am not the lovey dovey kinda person. I perfer books that are more action type. But i ready do love this book.
    I hate books that make two people fall in love so quickly. I mean i dont want them to drag it out but come on lets be real-istick.
    Lets just say that Isra and Gem's feelings for each other is not love at first sight. In fact they hate each other for more than half the book. Gem even dreams about killing Isra. And when they finally do fall in love they are still at each other's throats. It takes one of them to almost die for them to relize they need to stop fighting. Even when they are yelling at each other and Gem is saying and thinking tarrible things, you know they still love each other.
    Anyway it is a spin off of Beauty and the Beast with a little Romio and Juliet with out it being so cheesy.

    Two words to descride this book: painfuly beautiful.

    ( p.s. sorry if i miss spell some stuff or if the words dont make sence. I am a reader not a writter. Lol :P )

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

     After finishing this book I'm stuck thinking to myself "Di

     After finishing this book I'm stuck thinking to myself "Did I read the same book as everyone else? I think I did it wrong."  Everyone I'm friends with on Goodreads LOVED it and I was struggling not to DNF it. The only reason I plowed through it was because I didn't have anything else to read. I had so many books that I was waiting on but none had arrived yet. 
         I wanted to love this so bad. If you know me, you know that my favorite fairy tale of all time is Beauty and the Beast. To me it portrays the story of true love, seeing past any imperfections they may have while they're still perfect for you. And don't get me wrong, it DID have all the elements of the story I love, like the roses, the magic, the unconditional love, the Beauty, the Beast, and even the books were thrown in there, but that's about it.
         I also loved the world building. I could see all the domes and the way the new world looks in my head as I read. And the way the Monstrous were described helped me come up with the way they looked in my head. Even the desolate plains of the Desert (no mater how brief their stint there) stood out in my head. But unfortunately those were the only things I really came to care about. 
         One thing I didn't like was the writing style. I found myself confused by all the time jumps. In the book it goes from them talking and then it'll say randomly that its been months. I'm not sure if its because I have a Nook Book and the pages weren't broken right, but the time jumps were weird and they threw me off. I also felt like there was nothing going on. So many times I wanted to put down the book because I was bored. The plot was literally like this /\________/\_________ Every time something happened it fell off again and I wanted to put it down. And of course that plot twist, I guessed it from the very beginning. Lastly, the beginning was an info dump. Had it been spread out through the story I might have enjoyed it more. I had to take more notes in the beginning than I did the entire story. 
         Then there is the romance. I felt kind of weird about the way they hated each other one day and then fell in love the next and then he was still not be truthful with her. For it to be Beauty and the Beast it didn't feel like real love to me. Only on Isra's part. Gem was flaky and didn't end up really trusting her. And Bo was every bit a lunatic as his father. It was a lot going on with the characters for the plot to be so boring. 
         I'm not sure what about this novel hooked all the other readers, but unfortunately I was not one of them. I intended to love this one, but I just couldn't get into it. And for that, I truly am sad. This was one of my most anticipated reads of the summer (and the year) and it did nothing for me. Hopefully everyone else will love it more than I did. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Set on a planet where magic exists, humans mutate if they don't

    Set on a planet where magic exists, humans mutate if they don't live in a domed city and a ruling class oppresses the less fortunate, this is a tale of romance, difficult choices and sacrifice. Isra, thinking that she is tainted, wants to find a cure for herself as well as for those in the city who are banished because of the taint. Gem only wants the secret to surviving for his monstrous desert people. Working together seems almost impossible and yet, it may be the answer to the planet's problems.

    Although this comfortably paced book was a bit heavy on the romance side for me, the buildup of suspense and the riveting action towards the end of the story made up for it. Apart from the Beauty and the Beast connotation of the story, there was a point when I thought we were going to see a Romeo and Juliet re-enactment as well.

    The characters are well crafted and realistic. Despite the fact that I don't think a blind person can safely jump from a tower and from roof to roof, I think the author generally created an accurate picture of blindness. Delightfully rebellious, Isra is the kind of character who grows and develops throughout the story. When her sight returns, however, Isra experiences the true sense of the phrase, 'an eye opener'.

    Just as skillfully crafted, Gem, the second main character, is determined to save his people and, ultimately, murder Isra. I was really caught up in his inner battle whether he should love or kill Isra. 

    Although both main characters just want to save their own people in the beginning of the book, as their feelings for one another grow, so do their desire to help everybody. In the end it comes down to nail-biting suspense as they waver on choices while time for everyone is running out.

    Bo, the third party in what some might call a love triangle, is a thoroughly flawed character. I really couldn't decide whether I liked him or not as his loyalty to Isra is doubtful right up to the end. 

    This is a tale of sacrifice; both the good and the bad kind. I would recommend this book to readers of all ages as a relaxing read with a hint of fairy tale in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Very poorly advertised and qritten

    Baddd

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Better than the original

    Beauty and the Beast completely reimagined and breathtaking. It was beyond my expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Love it!

    Incredible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved every minute of this book.  It had the perfect blend of sc

    Loved every minute of this book.  It had the perfect blend of sci-fi, romance, and fantasy with a dash of political intrigue.  I would highly recommend you read it this beautiful and one-of-a-kind re-telling...and then tell your friends to read it! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    I love the fairy tale of Beauty and the Beast. I went through a

    I love the fairy tale of Beauty and the Beast. I went through a stage a couple of years ago where I read every retelling based on it that I could get my hands on. When I saw that Stacey Jay had written a book based off of the fairy tale I was very excited. One thing I will say, at this point, is that she did a fabulous job in taking the concept and storyline and really making her own original story. She uses beauty, beast, and the roses in very creative ways and this was probably one of the things that stuck out to me the most about this book. It is definitely unique.

    DISLIKES:
    I wish that Isra would have been stronger sooner. I understand how she was basically hidden away and was also blind, but when she takes over for her father I wanted her to step more fully into her role. I also thought she was definitely more trusting than she should have been. My bigger dislike was the sexual content. There isn't any actual sex in this book, but there are several references to it and one specific part where there is some making out that crossed a line for me. It isn't necessarily descriptive per se, but I didn't think it needed to be included and not something I would let my nieces or daughter read.

    LIKES:
    I really liked the setting - this new world that the smooth people came to and the way the inhabitants evolved to survive the climate. It was interesting to follow the story and how the current civilization and state of the world came to be. I liked that the author didn't make parts of the society or characters one dimensional or think all the same. Each group has at least one individual who does not blindly follow everyone else. The roses are a surprising part of the story. They are quite manipulative and vindictive, but can seem serene and sweet. That was quite an interesting twist to me.

    I liked the characters. Isra yearns for the wind outside the dome, for her family, to understand others, and specifically Gem after she meets him. She has been raised only to sacrifice herself for her people and that is what she believes she will do and do willingly when the time will come. She is compassionate, intelligent, and beautiful. Gem is also compassionate even though he is a warrior. He lies to Isra, but struggles with doing so. He is quite stubborn, but also fearless and smart. I also liked Bo. He is selfish, arrogant, and manipulating, but he still cares for Isra and even when he feels he has been betrayed he still seeks to protect her. He has an important role in this story and he plays it well. I think he would have eventually made a good king.

    Overall, this was worth the read. If there would have been just a little less sexual content, it would have been a book I would keep for my shelves and to share. Having said that, I still really enjoyed reading it.

    Content: Some innuendo, making out, and violence.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Great book

    This book was awsome and had an ending that will leave any reader satified

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    This book was fantastic! It is a book that I will read again and

    This book was fantastic! It is a book that I will read again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    This book was another interesting twist on another great classic

    This book was another interesting twist on another great classic by Stacey Jay. She has a unique talent to take a classic and make it her own without losing the idea and beauty of the original.

    The slight twist at the end of the book made this tales original idea even more beautiful than the classic. Stacey has created a world that we would all love to live in one day. Just like in all of her books, she brings out so much emotion. It's an intense roller coaster ride with twists and turns, crying, laughing and love. This book is a must read for anyone that loves love. I highly recommend it to everyone!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1