Customer Reviews for

Of Love and Evil (Songs of the Seraphim Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

a terrific Christian historical metaphysical thriller

Malchiah the angel takes former government assassin Toby O'Dare with him on the latter's second case to right historical wrongs (see Angel Time). This time he is sent back to the era of Pope Leo X in the Holy City of Rome. There he is find out what led to an angry dyb...
Malchiah the angel takes former government assassin Toby O'Dare with him on the latter's second case to right historical wrongs (see Angel Time). This time he is sent back to the era of Pope Leo X in the Holy City of Rome. There he is find out what led to an angry dybbuk spirit haunting modern day Manhattan.

Apparently in the realm of the Medici, a Jew has been accused of devilish witchcraft and murder by poison. He investigates the homicide and the accusations, which to a killing peer like Toby smells so Medici. At the same his mind wanders back to the recent revelation that he sired a son whom he just met in New York. The simple case turns darker and uglier as Toby finds himself in danger from diabolical adversaries back in fifteenth century Rome and twenty-first century Manhattan.

The second Songs of Seraphim is a terrific Christian historical metaphysical thriller. Toby is a stronger protagonist than when he worked the Angel Time case as the audience learns somewhat of his mortal past. Fast-paced in both eras, Of Love and Evil shows Anne Rice at her best as she effortlessly guides readers back and forth between the six-centuries ago past, Roby's human period, and modern day New York in an entertaining tale.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

too much, for too little

Was so disappointed! Paid 9.99 for 178 pages. I felt they took one book and split it in two to get more money from us Anne Rice fans. What a waist of money! The story was good it was a classic anne rice book. just disappointed that you had to pay double to read t...
Was so disappointed! Paid 9.99 for 178 pages. I felt they took one book and split it in two to get more money from us Anne Rice fans. What a waist of money! The story was good it was a classic anne rice book. just disappointed that you had to pay double to read the rest of the book.

posted by 9840780 on September 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a terrific Christian historical metaphysical thriller

    Malchiah the angel takes former government assassin Toby O'Dare with him on the latter's second case to right historical wrongs (see Angel Time). This time he is sent back to the era of Pope Leo X in the Holy City of Rome. There he is find out what led to an angry dybbuk spirit haunting modern day Manhattan.

    Apparently in the realm of the Medici, a Jew has been accused of devilish witchcraft and murder by poison. He investigates the homicide and the accusations, which to a killing peer like Toby smells so Medici. At the same his mind wanders back to the recent revelation that he sired a son whom he just met in New York. The simple case turns darker and uglier as Toby finds himself in danger from diabolical adversaries back in fifteenth century Rome and twenty-first century Manhattan.

    The second Songs of Seraphim is a terrific Christian historical metaphysical thriller. Toby is a stronger protagonist than when he worked the Angel Time case as the audience learns somewhat of his mortal past. Fast-paced in both eras, Of Love and Evil shows Anne Rice at her best as she effortlessly guides readers back and forth between the six-centuries ago past, Roby's human period, and modern day New York in an entertaining tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    too much, for too little

    Was so disappointed! Paid 9.99 for 178 pages. I felt they took one book and split it in two to get more money from us Anne Rice fans. What a waist of money! The story was good it was a classic anne rice book. just disappointed that you had to pay double to read the rest of the book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    What a Short, Little book

    I loved the read but what a Short book. Its' only 139 pages! That's less than a dime store novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    Anne Rice phones one in.

    The previous book, Angel Time, was a fun read and set things up. This one could well have been just another chapter on the last one. It's just one more small, short adventure. The love story takes a tiny step forward. The next assignment is completed. Anne phones in another novel. This reminds me of The Green Mile, when it came out in chapters. Except these chapters cost the price of a book. I've bought every Anne Rice novel. Even Violin. But I'm afraid I'm going to have to stop after this one. If she's not willing to write a real book, then I'm not willing to pay her for one. RECOMMENDATION: Don't bother.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    WOW!!!!!!! FANTASTIC BOOK!!!!!

    IF I had to describe this book in just one word it wouldnt be hard at all, that word would be(WOW). Im not surprised at all, Anne Rice does it again, another fantastic book in the Songs Of The Seraphim series. To me Anne Rice is the best Author of this generation, Rich details, fantastic characters,Exellent story,incredible plot,and one hell of an ending.If you read her exellent Christ the Lord Series Out Of Egypt, And The road to Cana,you will see that these books Keep up in the Anne Rice tradition of quality. I highly recommend this and all of her work to everyone. Enjoy them.
    Peace.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    Kindle version is only $9.48.

    Why is this almost $15?

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Favorite author still provokes thought

    Beautiful but too short. I will always love Anne for descriptive and emotional reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Toby and Ankanoc

    While not as enthralling as the 1st entry in the Seraphim series, Rice's sophomore effort, "Of Love and Evil" is still quite captivating, primarily because she is so adept on taking the reader on a journey, and really illuminating the characters' vast and rich worlds, laden with their conflicts and intentions, their struggles with issues of faith and love and loyalty. I especially enjoyed the introduction of Toby's former lover, and young son in the beginning of the book, and later, the arrival of the entity Ankanoc, a supposedly rogue spirit who may or may not be a minion of Satan. I look forward to the next entry in the series, as I have really come to feel for the protagonist, Toby O'Dare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    Terrific

    Once again Ann gives us a hero who is a bad boy with a complex personal history.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Short But Exciting and Enlightening In True Anne Rice Fashion!

    Anne Rice's Of Love and Evil is the second installment in her Songs of the Seraphim series. Former hired assassin Toby O'Dare's soul has been redeemed by the angel Malchiah, provided Toby use his talents in service of the angels in performing God's will. In Angel Time, the first novel in the series, Toby was hurled back in time to England where he intervened in a struggle between the Christians and the Jews. Triumphant, he was given the knowledge that he has a son, and his first meeting with his son is where Of Love and Evil begins.

    Toby O'Dare reunites with the estranged mother of the son he never knew she bore, and his love for her reignites immediately. In an emotional reconnection, the three bond while visiting a hotel in California, the same hotel where Toby committed a number of his assassinations. Although he desperately wants a permanent reunion, he fears that his past in some way could pose harm to the two people he cares about most in the world. Also, his promise to help the angel Malchiah and his inability to share this aspect of his life with the mother of his child could make a relationship impossible. As the three part ways, Malchiah appears with another mission for Toby.

    Toby is transported back in time to 1500's Rome where he becomes immersed in a fascinatingly tangled combination of familial discord and what is thought to be demonic possession of a local home. In traditional Anne Rice style, the characters are so finely developed that the heroes are loved deeply while the villains are reviled. A patriarch's son has taken ill, and it is Toby who uncovers that the son is being poisoned. He also discovers who is behind the poisoning and the motive that readers will find shocking.

    A trusted Jewish scholar and close family friend is wrongfully blamed for the events, having been accused of commiserating with demons and bringing about strife to this family's home. Toby not only must clear this innocent man's name, but he also must determine what sort of demon or spirit is possessing the family's home and wreaking havoc by hurling objects around and being outright destructive. It is exciting to see Anne Rice return to the realm of the supernatural in this novel, as her ability to portray otherworldly events is so very exquisite.

    As if the struggles of his current mission are not enough to deal with, Toby encounters a demon who is determined to tempt him from his true path. Obvious during these scenes are Rice's denouncement of New Age concepts of universal consciousness and reincarnation. Like Angel Time, Of Love And Evil is deeply steeped in Catholic tradition. Those disinterested in reading portrayals of Catholic confession and mass ceremonies may want to stay away from this novel.

    Overall, Of Love and Evil surpasses Angel Time in its excellent storytelling. Also, be ready for a cliffhanger ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Spellbinding Adventure by Rice

    No one is better than Anne Rice at combining history, adventure, and romance with the supernatural. She continues to exercise those skills in the second book of a series about a former assassin turned field agent for an angel. This time the hero travels to old Rome and discovers that demons are as real as angels. Some important spiritual ideas are considered here in the context of a suspenseful thriller. Mrs. Rice also remains in a league of her own when it comes to blurring the lines of sexual orientation and gender expectations in a way that reflects real human thought and feeling more honestly than most writers can express. It takes more balls than most can manage. Fans will only be disappointed by the brevity of this story.
    Michael Travis Jasper, Author of the Novel "To Be Chosen"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Irresistible & Completely Enraptured

    I'm a fan of Anne Rice books. For me her style of writing, and the way she tells a story are irresistible. I find myself completely enraptured in her novels. Like most of her fans, I do miss the novels of the Mayfair witches and the Vampire Lestat that she is so famous for. In my opinion, she will continue to be a talented and skilled author, and as long as she keeps writing I'm thrilled to keep reading her wonderful novels. From reading the book jacket cover, I'm excited to find that Anne Rice will be taking me back to Rome. For Toby O'Dare he will find himself torn between the future he could have with his son and the woman he once loved, and the future of being one of the Children of the Angels. Malchiah's charge and the occasional help from Toby's guardian angel, Toby travels through Angel Time. He will not only need to solve a mystery in order to answer the desperate prayers of a Jewish man, but he will face evil and a part of himself that could have been. As always Anne Rice does a fantastic job, keeping me up all night until I finish it. She concludes the second book of her series with a perfect cliffhanger that has me wanting more, and wanting it now. You will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Irresistible & Completely Enraptured

    I'm a fan of Anne Rice books. For me her style of writing, and the way she tells a story are irresistible. I find myself completely enraptured in her novels. Like most of her fans, I do miss the novels of the Mayfair witches and the Vampire Lestat that she is so famous for. In my opinion, she will continue to be a talented and skilled author, and as long as she keeps writing I'm thrilled to keep reading her wonderful novels. From reading the book jacket cover, I'm excited to find that Anne Rice will be taking me back to Rome. For Toby O'Dare he will find himself torn between the future he could have with his son and the woman he once loved, and the future of being one of the Children of the Angels. Malchiah's charge and the occasional help from Toby's guardian angel, Toby travels through Angel Time. He will not only need to solve a mystery in order to answer the desperate prayers of a Jewish man, but he will face evil and a part of himself that could have been. As always Anne Rice does a fantastic job, keeping me up all night until I finish it. She concludes the second book of her series with a perfect cliffhanger that has me wanting more, and wanting it now. You will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6