Customer Reviews for

Of Mice and Men

Average Rating 4
( 1275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(683)

4 Star

(340)

3 Star

(146)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Instant Classic

This book is an instant classic in my eyes and will never die down because this is a book that can keep anybody of any age and of any IQ reading it over and over, i know it did that to me. this is one book i would always want to have around because its a short read ( 10...
This book is an instant classic in my eyes and will never die down because this is a book that can keep anybody of any age and of any IQ reading it over and over, i know it did that to me. this is one book i would always want to have around because its a short read ( 100 or so pages ) that will captivate you in many ways.

posted by Bran on April 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Horrible, not recommended

I found this to be one of the worst books I've ever read. I wouldn't have read it at all if it hadn't been for school. The language is horrible, pertaining to swearing and the way the people talk. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

posted by Oceangirl on June 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    Horrible, not recommended

    I found this to be one of the worst books I've ever read. I wouldn't have read it at all if it hadn't been for school. The language is horrible, pertaining to swearing and the way the people talk. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    7 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    short,but good book

    I thought this book was very short and easy, that is one reason why I picked it. The second reason was because my mom said it was a great book. This book was only 107 pages, so it did not take very long to read it all. I like "old timey" books. I think they are more interesting and its fun to find what it was like back then. Lennie and George are the main characters in this book. They move around a lot, because Lennie always gets himself in trouble. The setting takes place in Califonia. When they finally find a place to stay, some one starts trouble with Lennie. George always tells Lennie be quiet and go with the flow. Lennie is big and strong like a bull. On the other hand, George is short and stubby, with a darker face. George and Lennie had a dream of starting their own ranch, if only Lennie was good. Like I said before, this book was very short. And I thought it would be easy but it was not. I could not understand some of the language and words. It was very colloquil.I have never read a book by John Steinback, so I can't really say it was my favorite book by him, But so far this was a great book. Over all, I thought this book was a great book. I would recommend this book yo people who like " old timey" books as well as I do. Also for teens about my age.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    It was alright - Not the best book i ever read

    John Steinbeck's Of Mice And Men was one of the worst books i have read to date. I had to read it for my English class. It was interesting at times but when it wasn't interesting i found my myself thinking about what my schedule for school was the next day. The non interesting parts outweighed the interesting parts so much, (in my opinion) I probably will never read another John Steinbeck book again. It started off pretty solid and I thought I was going to like it but in the last few chapters it was just awful. plus how George kills Lennie at the end just put the cherry on top of one of the worst books i have ever read.

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    AWESOME

    Yolo swag #snapbacks

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Hypocritical

    I was required to read this for my lit. class and saw it for something very hypocrtical.
    The entire book steinbeck is attemping to show that humanity is bad and one of the themes of the book is humanity; preying on the weak. Yet, steinbeck himself the entire book is preying on those with developmental dissabilities. He makes Lennie into an unintelligent man who constantly causes horror and acts like a baby.
    I know firsthand however people who have developmental dissabilities are so much more than that. They are the happiest people on Earth who would not dare murder someone.. not only that but many are independent on their own and have their own jobs and do not need to rely on someone else their entire lives. They are so much more intelligent that ignorant people like Steinbeck and many literature enthusiasts believe.
    Anyway i guess it wasnt horrible since i now know steinbecks just another igmoramt hypocrit.
    Dont waste your money, and if your kids need this for school advise them that this book sends a totallly wrong message.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    $8.99 for this book. I dont understand why you are slowly destroying the consumer's faith in B and N. Gouge us while u can u greedy morons.

    See above

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Two words

    Hated it!

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    thanks for ruining the story

    thanks reviewers for being so considerate and ruining the ending for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    62

    M b;!'!xeyei &#*#8zfsy ,"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    Lorrie

    If i cant read the jacket cover of a book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2014

    Boring.

    Too short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2014

    Most depressing book ever! Of Mice and Men does not even deserv

    Most depressing book ever!
    Of Mice and Men does not even deserve a one star rating! Teachers, please do not make your students read this
    book. I know you want students to learn about older literature, but please have mercy on your students' souls!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    Ugh

    Such a brutal book. Why would u kill ur friend ? George is like kdhdwhjdjjw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Bad

    Such a horrible book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Anonymos

    Um no we read it un class and i dudbt like ut judt like everyone else in my clads

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    THE BAND IS BETTER

    I started listenin to a band called of mice& men and then today i hadbjust foun out tha there is a book cled of mice an men, no doubt that the band is name after the book, but i have not yet read this book, and in my opnion, th ban isbprobably beter than the book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    No chapters

    I couldnt find the chapters. It would help if anybody knows i have the nook version, also there wasnt at table of contents

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    TERRIBLE

    Worst summer readung bok evs!!!! Dont recommend

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Nm

    Vvv

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Muders!!

    Too vioelent for children!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4