Customer Reviews for

Of Mice and Men

Average Rating 4
( 1275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(683)

4 Star

(340)

3 Star

(146)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Instant Classic

This book is an instant classic in my eyes and will never die down because this is a book that can keep anybody of any age and of any IQ reading it over and over, i know it did that to me. this is one book i would always want to have around because its a short read ( 10...
This book is an instant classic in my eyes and will never die down because this is a book that can keep anybody of any age and of any IQ reading it over and over, i know it did that to me. this is one book i would always want to have around because its a short read ( 100 or so pages ) that will captivate you in many ways.

posted by Bran on April 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Horrible, not recommended

I found this to be one of the worst books I've ever read. I wouldn't have read it at all if it hadn't been for school. The language is horrible, pertaining to swearing and the way the people talk. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

posted by Oceangirl on June 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 683 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 35
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Instant Classic

    This book is an instant classic in my eyes and will never die down because this is a book that can keep anybody of any age and of any IQ reading it over and over, i know it did that to me. this is one book i would always want to have around because its a short read ( 100 or so pages ) that will captivate you in many ways.

    20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    Great book

    love this book, it was highly recommended for me by my brother and all my teachers. It is a classic and i was happy to add it to my book shelf. it now holds a place in my heart. Currently, i am making all my friends read it and of the few who I've made read it so far, they absolutely loved it. It is a fantastic book i reccomened it to everyone.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    One of the best books I've ever read

    John Steinbeck's "Of Mice and Men" was stimulating to say the least. The plot was strong, the characters were interesting, and the writing styles of John Steinbeck never let me down. When I started, I didn't get up until I was done. The book may have been only about one hundred pages, but I was sucked in as soon as I started
    The story begins with two weary travelers walking down an old path to a watering hole. George and Lorraine, as you soon learn they are called, are talking about a future that they have been working towards. They want to buy a small house in the country where they can live off the fat of the land, raising animals and growing crops. The two men could be called opposites, but they are working together for their goal. George was described as a small quick witted man, while Lorraine was massive and gentle, but mildly retarded.
    Lorraine and George work at a ranch down in California for a while. Their goal in the story would be accomplished in a few short weeks, but an accidental murder by Lorraine stops them in their tracks. From there everything goes downhill, in an epic ending that is a real heart throb.
    After I finished "Of Mice And Men" I felt melancholy to say the least. I locked myself up in my room, and listened to really depressing music for awhile. It was a very sad ending, but I'm still very glad I read it. John Steinbeck is an author matched by no other, with descriptions and plots untouched by any.
    I would suggest "Of Mice and Men" to anyone. Along with all other of Steinbeck's works, it is a truly epic tale. Although it is similar to Steinbeck's other writings, "Of Mice and Men" is a bit more interesting and has a good fast pace. One of the best books I've ever read can be said with ease.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2000

    GREAT BOOK (possibly the greatest book of all time)

    John Steinbeck has really outdone himself with this masterpiece. He portrays how misunderstanding people can be at times. He shows the true meaning of companionship within these two characters. They remain friends through the thick and thin as if they were brothers. I strongly urge you to buy this masterpiece.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Very good

    I had to read this for home work but i enjoyed this book

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    U

    Im tired...*yawns* goodnight! *curls up in SUPER cozy nest*
    ~amberclaw

    5 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Amazing!!!!

    I had to read this book @ my school in 7th grade. This book is very touching. I love love love the foreshadowing in this book. The language the characters use, is a bit much but, when I read it I just skipped the profanity. This book is very imsightful. A must read for ages 11 and up.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Brilliant

    Written by Steinbeck. Does it need any more explanation to why it is great?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Amazing book

    I'm entering 9th grade and this is an amazing yet depressing piece of literature. It starts out so hopeful, but at the end you realizes that everything is all crashing down. The ending was especially sad. Prepare to cry if you like the characters. On completely un related note, does anyone else find typin in a Nook is really hard? I wonder hiw reviewd with good grammar and spelling sre typed lol.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    depressing and sypethetic

    There are two farmers, George and Lennie, whom are following their dreams.George and Lennie travel across the country by foot to follow their dreams. They need to find work, so they land on a farm to work. George looks after Lennie because he has a mental illness and acts like a 5 year old. He is a very nice man. There are many reasons they left town, read it to find out. They are very strong men to have traveled so far. They are almost like brothers. George definitely has to be strong to be able to take care of Lennie and the hardships they encounter throughout the novel.The hardships Lennie and George encounter are realizations of life. No matter what happens to any of us, time keeps turning. It is a sad novel, but describes thoughtfulness from George to Lennie throughout the book. I really enjoyed this novel and would recommend it to anyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    One of my favorite books, tied with or maybe even better than my favorite, In Dubious Battle

    I especially like the ending, which is sad but a cruelly realistic decision

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    Left me feeling melancholy, but in a good way

    Of Mice and Men follows the journey of two friends, George and Lennie, as they attempt to fulfill their American dream of owning their own land. George and Lennie work as temporary farmhands who move from ranch to ranch as they look for work. Lennie, who is not intelligent, sometimes complicates the process by getting them into trouble, but rather than abandon him, George sticks up for him and protects him. Just when George and Lennie are the closest they've ever been, a tragedy interrupts their plans. You'll have to read the book to find out what it is!

    I have read Steinbeck before and so am familiar with his writing style, but this book is one of my favorites. Steinbeck has an ability to capture a grand story in a short book, something I admire very much. Again, this book is a very short read and a great introduction for the beginning classics reader and a great break for the practiced one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    Good Book

    Of Mice and Men
    My name is Michael. I am a junior at Holt High School and had to read this book for my English class. Of Mice and Men is a book about two guys, who were best friends. Their names were George and Lennie. George was the normal one (his head worked fine) and Lennie was the slow one (his head wasn't all there). George looked after Lennie as Lennie looked after George. This book is about George and Lennie's relationship together and their life. In the book, George and Lennie go to work on a farm because they can make money and stay there. Lennie always keeps to himself but one day that doesn't work and something happens. Lennie runs away from the farm, but he's only followed. George is now stuck between his best friend and his own life. What will he choose to do?
    Some things I liked about this book are that it shows a strong friendship between two indivuduals and displays a strong sense of love they have for each other. Another thing I liked was George and Lennie never gave up and they never stoped believeing in owning their own farm someday. Another thing I liked was how George always put up with Lennie, no matter what Lennie did George never left him. Things I didn't like about the book was how Curley would always mess with Lennie and Lennie wouldn't do anything about it because he didn't know what to do. I also didn't like the fact that the black guy that worked on the farm had to sleep in the barn with the pigs where it stunk. That's not right.
    I recommend this book to kids because kids make fun of retarded kids in school all the time and its wrong. They are people, too, and deserve to be treated with respect and not be made fun of. This book starts off very boring but once you get into it, you will like it. This book is a sad story, but there's a feel good theme to it. I give this book five stars and recommend anyone to read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Classic

    This is a must read for evetyone!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A book filled with detail

    Of Mice and Men was assigned to me on my summer reading list and i absoltutely loved it i loved the symbolism with Curley's wife. and the foreshadowing with Candy's dog....you have to read it to know what im talking about...but this book has lots of detail and makes it very easy to see the plot and setting. I also thought the characters had great unique qualities and i also believe this book had great life lessons for all ages. It is a great read and you'll love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of The Best

    I read this book in the 5th grade. Still can remember how good it was. The climax is riviting and exciting. Would recommend to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    wonderful!!!

    i had to read this book for my junior engligh class and write a paper about the feelings and emotions i experienced while reading this novel. as any student would do, i sighed and though oh great another one of those put you to sleep books that im just going to skim through. of mice and men was the complete opposite of what i took it for. i loved reading this book. just the story its self was incredable. i would defientaly go buy and read this book again. it is now one of my all time favorite books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorites

    I read this book back in highschool, at first it was a chore. The dialogue between characters was almost too irritating to read. Then I got past the first two chapters and I couldn't put the book down. Also, definately a tear jerker in the end. This book is a must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    This book.....

    This is a really good book its kinda sad and kinda happy like in some parts is a true hart warmer I read this whole book in 4 days and im only 10.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Anonymus

    PLEASE LET ME JOIN, i am very loyal, and i reallly want to join, flameclaw

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 683 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 35