BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Of Nightingales That Weep

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    For those in doubt of this book...

    When I first picked up a copy of this book for my summer reading assignment I was in doubt. I believed it might bland or boring. I thought wrong. This is a beautifully descriptive story of a girl that you and me can easily relate to. It's an easy read and highly enjoyable. If you are looking for a book that you get a great deal out of, 'Of Nightingales That Weep' is most definitely for you. It's a new favorite added to my list. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    A great book discovered entirely by chance

    I chose this book entirely by chance for a book review in Japanese class. I had read 'Bridge to Terabithia' so I chose this book on the merit of the author. I must admit I was very impressed by the historical acuracy and evidence of reaserch. I was happy with the end, I hate 'Hollywood' style endings 'and this was anything but'. This ending was unexpected but I think it worked out as far as the story is concerned. I don't want to ruin the end, but I just love the final remark. It's a perfect way to end a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    meh

    I thought this book was really good and it taught you Japanease life in the old days. But I hate the ending, it was weird. I can't believe she would marry her step-father and that Hideo would just give up on her just because she was working now and her skin is not pale anymore and that she has that scar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read this book in my English class, and was sadly disappointed. The beginning of the book reflected deeply on Japanese culture, but, as the plot went on, it steadily got worse. Takiko's choice of actions is incredibly horrifying, and hints of having sexual intercourse is quite vivid. This is what is commonly known as a 'cheesy romance novel'. I would definitely never recommend this book to anyone. It's absolutely deppressing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    Takiko

    I really enjoyed this book. It was fun reading about the hard decisions Takiko had to make, through good times and bad. Katherine Paterson really showed emotions and feeling in this book. The only part which I thought was kind of weird was at the end where Takiko marries her stepdad. But overall, it was GREAT! I had to read this book for a project, and i enjoyed it a lot. I hope many kids are able to read this book and see it the way i do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2005

    Takiko Must Choose...

    Takiko, the daughter of a samurai, must choose to stay with her loving mother and step-brother or to leave for the imperial court. While on an errand, Takiko meets an espionage spy from the 'other side,' and he captures her heart. When her ugly step-father Goro comes to the imperial fort during the time of a Genji attack, Goro asks her to come back home, for her mother is expecting a baby. Because of Hideo, whom Takiko had only met a couple of times, she refuses Goro's offer, and decides to stay an aid for the young Emperor. Takiko learns the hard way that nothing should ever come between family. One reason that I question this book's excellence is because of Takiko's horrible judgement when she decided not to go back to her mother. This book's plotline is not crystal clear, but it does have lots of good description. I would recommend this book to anyone who is willing to read a sad book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    i love this book

    it is interesting and it makes me think iam takiko

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2005

    Great Book

    Beautiful. This was one of my favorite books as a child, and I still think about it to this day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2005

    Okay, I Suppose

    'The daughter of a samurai never weep'- a mantra often used around Takiko, the 11-year-old daughter of a recently deceased samurai while fighting in the feuding war between the Genji and Heike. Her mother, Chieko, remarried an unsightly potter named Guro. Takiko, who sings and plays a Japanese instrument, the koto, is chosen to perform for the imperial court. While serving her time in court, Takiko becomes infatuated with Hideo, who is on an espionage for the Genji- the enemy of her people. Meanwhile, Takiko's mother and half-brother are inflicted with the plague, and Guro insisted that she come home to assist her family to health. Takiko refused. The plague deteriorates, and Chieko and Ichiro are hanging by a thread. What ever shall Takiko do? Will her love betray her? I've read this book in the 7th grade, and it was moderately delectable. However, the novel includes some suggestive concepts, such as incest and sexual intercourse. I recommend it to zealous historical fiction fanatics and people fervent for Japanese culture. As for those who tend to have callow reaction to certain contents mentioned above, I suggest you stay away. Good luck, anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    Spectacular book!

    This book was really good. It had a great plot along with telling you all about life in Japn. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2003

    Still reading book

    So far this book is really good. It has a alot of characters and it gives you an idea what Japan really looked like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2002

    Read now!

    This was a very inspiring and lovely book. It really gives you insight on how medieval Japan really was, and how honor was so important, yet not important at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2001

    READ THIS, YOU MUST READ THIS!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was soo good. It had a lot character growth and some real-life problems. It was a sweet book and was just incredibly wonderfull!! It gave you the idea of what life was like in ancient Japan.(the time mentioned in the book was 1128)Please read this exellent book!!^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1