Customer Reviews for

Of Thee I Sing: Read & Listen Edition

Average Rating 3.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Every daughter should receive this from her dad.

My son gave this book to his nine-year-old daughter. After a few read-throughs she was repeating her favorite quotes verbatim. She truly loved this book, although she is not an avid reader. It will have a positive influence on any child. Whether you lean left, right,...
My son gave this book to his nine-year-old daughter. After a few read-throughs she was repeating her favorite quotes verbatim. She truly loved this book, although she is not an avid reader. It will have a positive influence on any child. Whether you lean left, right, or not at all please don't ignore the message this book offers.

posted by 4828813 on December 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Would give it zero stars if i could

Did not appeal to my kids at all

posted by 2457441 on April 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Every daughter should receive this from her dad.

    My son gave this book to his nine-year-old daughter. After a few read-throughs she was repeating her favorite quotes verbatim. She truly loved this book, although she is not an avid reader. It will have a positive influence on any child. Whether you lean left, right, or not at all please don't ignore the message this book offers.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Beautiful Children's Book!

    This lovely book just happens to have been written by a loving father, Dad and husband that we all know. It's obvious that he loves his daughters very much. This book is meant to show children that they can reach for the stars and be all they can be even when the journey seems difficult and even impossible using examples of famous American heroes. The book reminds them they have everything inside them that they need to succeed. It is meant to inspire and is beautifully written and illustrated. I thank the POTUS for taking the time to share his love of all Americas children with us. You can see him reading parts of it on YouTube with an audience of 60 second graders. Also look for the illustrator talking about the drawings. I will buy one for my NookColor and a couple of hard copies for school.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    perfect

    great read for all children. as a teacher ands mother i will have multiple copies.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Beautiful

    an amazing story in all

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Great!

    It was awsome and I would recomend it to all teachers to read to their class!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    great childrens book

    when i read this book it was so heartwarming!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    A must read for kids ...i loved this book

    For the i sing is a book that even little kids will understand and enjoy. It also shows that everyone is unique and not always the same. It tells about people who haved changed the woeld and this book changed my life!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    Bbe

    (That means best book ever) be sure to buy

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    wonderful book

    $o @m@zing!? dont you @gree with me

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    must read

    this book is so good from the moment i picked it up to the moment i finshed it

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    very inspiring

    my son's teacher read this, and he always admired obama and this book eas something

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Perfect

    We love this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Would give it zero stars if i could

    Did not appeal to my kids at all

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Recommended Read

    I recommend this book for both adults and children. A learning experience for both. Enjoyed the read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Inspirational

    I love that the President made time for his daughters, and then shared that time with us. Inspiration starts within your immediate family. Thank you, President Obama, for a book I will love reading to my children.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    So inspiring and so moving . My daughters love this book and the inspiring stories it shares. Ty, well worth it. An instant classic.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Not worth...

    Not worth 12$!! People who wanna buy this book... save ur money for something else!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Fantastic book

    This book is wonderful. I love how it depicts so many inspirational people. This is really a book about love, hisory and the amazing people our children can look up to. I also believe the price is cheaper than buying the hardcover book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Fabulous book!

    I loved this book! I've used it in my classroom and even based our class play on it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    great read....!

    i love this book! so heartfelt, you can definitely relate to the love this father has for his children. i downloaded it on my nook and have read it several times to my daughter since. highly recommend!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4