BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Of Thee I Sing: A Letter to My Daughters

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

113 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

Clarification of Song Reference

In response to the September 22, 2010 post entitled, "Earnings donated???":

The book's title does not come from the song "America the Beautiful" (whose lyrics are "O beautiful for spacious skies, For amber waves of grain..."), but instead from the song "America (My ...
In response to the September 22, 2010 post entitled, "Earnings donated???":

The book's title does not come from the song "America the Beautiful" (whose lyrics are "O beautiful for spacious skies, For amber waves of grain..."), but instead from the song "America (My Country, 'Tis of Thee)". The lyrics of that song are:
"My country,' tis of thee,
sweet land of liberty, of thee I sing;"

In this lyric, "of thee I sing" is referring to "my country" not to God.

So he is writing about 13 individuals who he feels represent the spirit of America.

Also, according to an Associated Press article (see Yahoo News for a reprint of the article): "The president will donate any author proceeds to "a scholarship fund for the children of fallen and disabled soldiers serving our nation," the publisher said in a statement."

Thank you to the reviews that have focused on the contents of the book and the facts. Those reviews are helpful in determining whether or not to purchase this book.

posted by 5167128 on November 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

63 out of 413 people found this review helpful.

Seriously???

Am I the only one who thinks the publication of this book is ridiculous? Does the president not have enough things to do with his time??? Call me crazy but I thought the president was supposed to be focusing on dealing with the important issues facing America's citizens...
Am I the only one who thinks the publication of this book is ridiculous? Does the president not have enough things to do with his time??? Call me crazy but I thought the president was supposed to be focusing on dealing with the important issues facing America's citizens, not sitting around writing children's books. Guess this is just another example of how Obama is more of a celebrileader than a president...

posted by 999764 on September 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    Clarification of Song Reference

    In response to the September 22, 2010 post entitled, "Earnings donated???":

    The book's title does not come from the song "America the Beautiful" (whose lyrics are "O beautiful for spacious skies, For amber waves of grain..."), but instead from the song "America (My Country, 'Tis of Thee)". The lyrics of that song are:
    "My country,' tis of thee,
    sweet land of liberty, of thee I sing;"

    In this lyric, "of thee I sing" is referring to "my country" not to God.

    So he is writing about 13 individuals who he feels represent the spirit of America.

    Also, according to an Associated Press article (see Yahoo News for a reprint of the article): "The president will donate any author proceeds to "a scholarship fund for the children of fallen and disabled soldiers serving our nation," the publisher said in a statement."

    Thank you to the reviews that have focused on the contents of the book and the facts. Those reviews are helpful in determining whether or not to purchase this book.

    113 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    beautiful book

    I read this book over the weekend and was struck by the fascinating American figures President Obama chose for inclusion in his work. His choices could lead to some wonderful conversations with children. The book is also beautifully written and illustrated.

    I also must mention to the "anonymous" reviewer who wrote the negative comments that President Obama actually wrote this book BEFORE he became president. Perhaps a little research is in order before one chooses to go on such rants. Just a suggestion!

    95 out of 102 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    Inspirational!

    Is it so bad to take a little time out to uplift the lives of children? "Obama agreed with Random House in 2004 to write a children's book, which, according to the publisher, he completed before he became president. "Of Thee I Sing" is part of a $1.9 million, three-book deal with Random House reached in 2004, according to a disclosure report filed in 2005, when Obama was a U.S. senator from Illinois. The other two books were nonfiction."

    91 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    Proud of MY PRESIDENT- very loving gesture

    Please leave the negative, hateful, personal comments on your negative, hateful blogs. And PLEASE get the truth from a reliable source (not Faux News)before you start spouting off. This is a forum for people who enjoy actually reading books and giving others honest reviews.

    This sounds like a beautiful letter to his daughters to let them know how proud he is to be an American and how proud he is of the people who came before him to help shape this country.

    72 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    I have a heavy heart ...

    Given the publication date date of this book is only today, November 16th, 5 hours old EST, the fact that there are already several dozen reviews of it is remarkable. The ratings of these reviewers are either 1-star or 5-stars ... either Wonderful or Despicable. Dichotomous. No nuances there. Either you're with us or against us. This is a microcosm of what's happened to American society and culture in the last two decades. We've been polarized by the mainstream media and partisan, reactionary politics. We've become ravenous to pounce on any target of opportunity: to hate, to denigrate and decry. We can no longer accept a sincere address to young schoolchildren beginning a new year of study, or respect a father's sincere tribute to his daughters for what it is: an expression of love for two beautiful children who will never again be able to work out their adolescent tribulations in anonymity. Bless them both. My heart if heavy, weighed down by the vitriol of those who hate the Obama family and cannot understand a father's love for Sasha and Melia. I will order copies to send to my granddaughters for Christmas.

    64 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    What a joy - a fathers love letter to his daughters

    What is wrong with us. Everything is under suspicion. Can't we believe that there are parents who love their children for no other reason that they are the light of our lives? Way to go President Obama...teach us all about the important things in our life. Remember our past and celebrate the now and look forward to making the future the kind we want it to be.

    54 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    Beautiful book

    This is a beautifully written book for children. It points out some wonderful Americans who sent a great example for children. These Americans are diverse and from all walks of life ... showing children anyone can be a hero. The illistrations are beautiful as well.

    46 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    Inspiring base for a children's book

    Every parent should be so loving as to write a story entitled "of Thee I Sing' -- the double-meaning is touching and inspirational for American families. The hateful, mean-spirited people who are making vicious comments are sad souls who appear to be incapable of appreciating a book like this. I feel sorry for them.

    44 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    Beautifully done!

    Very well done, touching, and beautiful.

    39 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Charity

    HE IS DONATING ALL PROCEEDS TO CHARITY...IT WAS COVERED ON EVERY NEWS ORGANIZATION...INCLUDING FIXED NEWS...I MEAN FOX. SO GET OVER IT AND GIVE THE MAN A BREAK. BUSH DIDN'T EXACTLY MAKE IT EASY FOR HIM. I BELIEVE THE MONEY IS GOING TO MILITARY FAMILIES...I'M NOT SURE ON THAT. AND AMERICANEG...SHALL WE COUNT HOW MANY VACATIONS BUSH TOOK IN OFFICE? SERIOUSLY MAN, SHOW SOME RESPECT.

    38 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    YES VERY SERIOUS!

    looks like you are the only one that thinks its ridiculous...know the facts before making negative comments, THANKS :) GREAT READ!!!

    36 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    Perfect Christmas Present

    After reading my neighbor's copy, I am now buying this beautiful, thoughtful book for every child on my Christmas list -- and a few of the adults as well. The uplifting message of the book, as well as the obvious love for family and country, will not only benefit children but may also comfort their parents through this period of economic stress and political ugliness. The patriotism and faith that America will always overcome setbacks and even failures radiates from every page.

    35 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    the dude

    Hey Idiots! The book was written before he took office. If you're going to criticize him, at least base it off fact.

    34 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Touching, Incredible, Superb!!!

    At first I thought the price was a bit high, if it was a child's book. I didn't know what to expect but when I opened it I wanted to cry. The illustrations captured the feeling of togetherness as one nation under God. It is beautifully illustrated. Well worth the purchase.

    33 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait to receive the book!

    Hard to review a book that's not yet released, but I am looking forwards to reading it. The President wrote this book before taking office and it's great that Random House is publishing it now - the country needs more positive inspiration and the sooner it is published the sooner all author proceeds will go to scholarships for children of wounded and fallen soldiers. How can one not be inspired by a tribute to great Americans? President Obama is an accomplished author and Loren Long is a wonderful illustrator.

    31 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    What A Legacy to Leave Behind!

    I'm thrilled at learning of the book's production and am looking forward to receiving my copy! As a military brat of a retired Vietnam Vet myself, I believe this is a very honorable and timely gesture. Just goes to prove that the American people were right this time in their choice of president - someone who we can all be very confident in and proud of.

    30 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    Excellent book!!!

    Just purchased and read Of Thee I Sing for my godchildren. With the many reviews I have read prior to my purchase, I would have never picked up this book. It is a sad commentary that this country has become so hostile, mean, incredibly ignorant and down-right nasty that we can no longer choose and read a book that the president has written not only for his daughters but for the daughters of this country. I am becoming ashamed of the fact that ignorance truly is bliss in this country. Grow up America. This book is is a gift for your children. While you're at it, gather some history of this country for yourselves. Greatness won't come this way again for a long time.

    29 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    "Ridiculous? I Don't Think So.

    The only thing ridiculous is the person who thinks that this book is ridiculous. I commend the President for having the compassion to write such a book. As a parent, I will make sure that I read this to my children.

    24 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Kids Review - Cool - Even Though My Parents Were Negative?

    Politics comes into play with some folks,but, this really is a beautiful book with a awesome message. I hope that people who dislike President Obama's choices in office will not cast aside this book without taking a look first. The pictures are out of sight. I agree with some of the other reviewers that some of the examples of great Americans seem kind of strange, but I appreciate the sentiments behind all of them, and I think this book could inspire young readers to read in school and find out more about some of these people. I like that there is a short bio of each person in the back of the book, as I did not know who some of the people were. the bottom line of the book is that our country is made up of all types of people and that we all bring different talents and ideas to the table. Some of the writing is really beautiful, but some of it does seem a little stilted, and some of the word choices make me wonder what age group this book was really written for. Just a point to note, President Obama wrote this book before he was in office and 100% of the profits are being donated to a charity for the children of disabled veterans. I enjoyed the book. Tex

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    Give your child something to sing about

    Of Thee I Sing is not only Obama's loving letter to his daughters, it is a touching tribute to our nation. The Americans the president highlights are interesting, inspiring, and well-chosen models for our children. Long's illustrations are engaging and lively, as always. Perfect choice to remind us of the ties that bind us and the values we want to pass on to the next generation. I'm buying one for myself, too.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11