Customer Reviews for

Of Triton

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Technically 4.6 rounded to 5 --- I have waited for this next ins

Technically 4.6 rounded to 5
---
I have waited for this next installment for so long. The pain of it was excruciating.
You can imagine my excitement when I obtained an early copy. My eyes danced, my heart
sang and my fingers itched to grab hold and read every deliciou...
Technically 4.6 rounded to 5
---
I have waited for this next installment for so long. The pain of it was excruciating.
You can imagine my excitement when I obtained an early copy. My eyes danced, my heart
sang and my fingers itched to grab hold and read every delicious syllable. 

The book started off with a bang and only expanded from there. I held my jaw off the floor the
whole way through. Anna Banks delivered a whale of a novel, packed to the gills with romance,
intrigue, action and tactile characters. What I loved most about her writing are the snap-crackle-pop,
snarky personalities that jump out of the book.

The intensity left my nails in tatters. I fell in love with the characters all over again. Bravo to Banks
for writing such a well crafted novel. She made everything so organic and believable. The storyline
was rock solid, the plot was convincing, the writing style was consistent and well developed and the
 character development was outstanding. She is a master of detail. Combine those with her boiling
hot romance, perfect pace and quick-witted humor and the result is
the best catch of the summer reading lot! 

Anna Banks didn't pull punches in this second installment. I found the story made even more intense
by the various points of view. Emma's and Galen's viewpoints created an enriched, flavorful depth
to the story that wouldn't have existed otherwise. 

One of the aspects to Banks' writing style that I loved is her ability to drop the reader into the
middle of a character's head. I felt what they felt and experienced everything they did. Sigh.... brilliant.

Emma got her game on and showed everyone just what she was made of in this installment.
I felt so proud of her for stepping up to the plate and trying to make a difference.  

Banks unloaded a dump truck of surprise information in this second book that left me with a whole
new appreciation for several characters.  She threw so many twists and turns at me that I was holding
onto my sofa for dear life. All I have to say about her characters is that if you think you have them
pegged, think again. They morphed into completely different persona. One transformation was eye
raising. Another had me trying to yell into the book, thinking they could all hear me.  Along with the
humor and intense scenes, Banks included some resolutions that had me up doing my victory dance
(but I assure you it was not in an orange track suit.)

Banks had me in complete shock and awe for several scenes. One in particular left me talking to the
book asking, "Are you joking?" My husband has continued to threaten counseling for me as I talk to
inanimate objects.... aka books... way to much. Seriously though... it was mind blowing, heart stopping
and I just didn't want to believe what happened.

I have unanswered questions. One of which occurred in the very last paragraph. (No cheating people,
don't skip to the last page!) If you've had questions regarding the mythology specifically, you should
be pleased with the explanations added in this book.  We get introduced to characters only hinted at
before and got a much closer look at some of the other merfolk. I applaud Banks on an outstanding
second installment that was meaty, juicy, flavorful and super filling.

I anxiously await what delicious goodness Banks has in store for book three. If you have not read
OF POSEIDON, I HIGHLY recommend it. This is excellent reading, especially for summer. ENJOY!

TWITTER: @MamaBookasaurus 

posted by MAMABookasaurus on May 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Demi-god anyone?

Havent read the book, but it seems to me that she needs to go to camp half-blood!

posted by Anonymous on June 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    WOW!! AMAZING BOOK

    Wow
    This was a really good book and I would recomend it to anyone who has read the first book 'Of Posedion' which also is an amazing book! Read Read Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Loved

    I really enjoyed this book, although the first one was better in my opinion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    sigh.

    Wow these books are terrible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Really enjoyed this book!!

    I really enjoyed the first book and I finished it in 2 days and had to immediately get this book to find out what happened next! It was so good and I fell in love with the characters even more. I love Galen but Toraf has definitely become my favorite in the series. I can't wait until the third book releases!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Omg

    Book was awesome there needs to be another that tells more about the relation.ship of galen and emma

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Of t TRUT Of Triton is t Epic sequal to Of Posiedon

    Just finished reading this book. No questio about it, there is a great plot aswell as parts where you just can't stop reading. Hope there will be more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    :)

    :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Need the rest of story

    LOVE IT!!!!GOT THE SAMPLE......NOW NEED THE REAL THING!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Fin-tastic

    This book is amazing! Anna Banks is such a captivating writer! I picked up these books over the summer and absolutely loved them. This story is a perfect picture of undying love and sacrifice! If you want to read something with a fresh perspecti ve then please read Of Triton!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Love

    OMG cant wait tell the third book comes out loved this book had alot of surprises in it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Loved it! More Please!

    This book takes up right where book one left off. Excitement and exciting all the way.
    Learning more of the society(s), their royals, and, the underhanded members of both
    nations was fun. I hope Ms. Banks decides to continue this wonderful series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Brilliant writer! 

    Brilliant writer! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    AMAZING

    Read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Love it

    This is a great second book in a series. I hope more books come from this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Oh goodness..

    Good freaking lord! Quit saying she should go to "camp half blood". She aint no percy jackson freak. U guys r stupid..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Yes.

    Amazing. No other words could describe it. The beginning, middle and end were great. I only wish it had been a thousand pgs longer...
    I cannot wait for the next book! I think i might drown if there wont be one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Awesome

    Loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    Haven't read yet but she sounds like maybe she is Percy Jackson'

    Haven't read yet but she sounds like maybe she is Percy Jackson's cousin.  She needs to go to Camp Half-Blood...

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Rated just okay.

    It's rare a book I read is just okay, but this book was just kind of boring...you knew what would happen.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    About a year ago I read author Anna Banks¿ novel Of Poseidon and

    About a year ago I read author Anna Banks’ novel Of Poseidon and absolutely loved it. When I found out that I’d be able to read the sequel Of Triton I was very excited to find out what would happen next to all the characters from Of Poseidon. I needed to know what would happen next for Galen and Emma, as well as find out what would happen to Emma’s mother, Nalia who is a long-lost Syrena princess. Honestly, reading Of Triton reminded me why I enjoyed Of Poseidon so much—and has me ready to delve back into the world of mermaids.

    Of Triton does take place right where Of Poseidon left off: Emma has just discovered that her mother, Nalia, is a Poseidon princess who was supposed to be mated to Galen’s brother Grom and that she is a half-breed. Out of fear for her daughter’s safety Nalia kidnaps Emma. The two start off on the run, trying to get as far away from the Syrena as possible.

    When Rachel catches Nalia the matter of Nalia’s future comes into play. Nalia returns to the ocean, leaving Emma on land, and causing both Syrena kingdoms to go against each other. Nobody wants to believe that Nalia is who she claims she is, Jagen is trying to overthrow the royals and Nalia must deal with the fact that Grom is mated to Paca who is still pretending to have the Gift of Poseidon.

    Meanwhile, Emma forced to stay on land by Galen who has told her to stay as far away from the ocean as possible. As a half-breed Emma will be put to death if the Syrena find out about her existence—but could the fact that she has the Gift of Poseidon change that? Emma is left with two options when things go from bad to worse: To comply with Galen’s orders and stay on land and away from the ocean, or to risk her life and enter the Syrena kingdoms—revealing herself and the Gift of Poseidon to the Syrena that would surely kill her for being a half-breed.

    Like I said earlier, it’s been about a year since I’ve read Of Poseidon and I’ve read way too many books to remember every single detail in the Of Poseidon universe. I was very glad, and surprised, that the novel had a lot of recapping going on. It was something that definitely added to the story and reminded me of all the crucial things that I forgot (like character names, relationships, etc.) This is a novel that readers who forgot a few things during the time between novels will be able to get back into almost instantly. Have I also mentioned how addictive the novels becomes over time?

    Of Triton is filled with plot-twists. And when I say ‘filled’ I don’t mean a few plot twists every once in a while—I mean it becomes something that you are looking out for. Every few chapters or so I’d be reading and suddenly my eyes would widen and my jaw would drop as something in the novel that wasn’t expected would happen. Honestly, Banks does an amazing job at keeping her readers interested until the very last page. I’ll be the first to say that I’m still hoping for a sequel to Of Triton.

    Of Triton moves at a very fast pace, I felt like every chapter compelled me to read the next and so on. Part of what made Of Triton so addictive (without all the plot-twists) was the character relationships. I wanted Nalia and Grom to end up together, I wanted Emma and Galen to end up together, I wanted everybody to have their happily ever after. Where Of Poseidon was all about the forming of Emma and Galen’s relationship, Of Triton is all about the little things that could make or break their relationship.

    *The Of Poseidon novels are definitely for fans of the mermaid-lore that has been appearing a lot lately in YA. I’d recommend the series to readers who are looking for a good romance and an addictive read. An all-around fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5