BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Of Triton

Average Rating 4.5
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Technically 4.6 rounded to 5 --- I have waited for this next ins

Technically 4.6 rounded to 5
---
I have waited for this next installment for so long. The pain of it was excruciating.
You can imagine my excitement when I obtained an early copy. My eyes danced, my heart
sang and my fingers itched to grab hold and read every deliciou...
Technically 4.6 rounded to 5
---
I have waited for this next installment for so long. The pain of it was excruciating.
You can imagine my excitement when I obtained an early copy. My eyes danced, my heart
sang and my fingers itched to grab hold and read every delicious syllable. 

The book started off with a bang and only expanded from there. I held my jaw off the floor the
whole way through. Anna Banks delivered a whale of a novel, packed to the gills with romance,
intrigue, action and tactile characters. What I loved most about her writing are the snap-crackle-pop,
snarky personalities that jump out of the book.

The intensity left my nails in tatters. I fell in love with the characters all over again. Bravo to Banks
for writing such a well crafted novel. She made everything so organic and believable. The storyline
was rock solid, the plot was convincing, the writing style was consistent and well developed and the
 character development was outstanding. She is a master of detail. Combine those with her boiling
hot romance, perfect pace and quick-witted humor and the result is
the best catch of the summer reading lot! 

Anna Banks didn't pull punches in this second installment. I found the story made even more intense
by the various points of view. Emma's and Galen's viewpoints created an enriched, flavorful depth
to the story that wouldn't have existed otherwise. 

One of the aspects to Banks' writing style that I loved is her ability to drop the reader into the
middle of a character's head. I felt what they felt and experienced everything they did. Sigh.... brilliant.

Emma got her game on and showed everyone just what she was made of in this installment.
I felt so proud of her for stepping up to the plate and trying to make a difference.  

Banks unloaded a dump truck of surprise information in this second book that left me with a whole
new appreciation for several characters.  She threw so many twists and turns at me that I was holding
onto my sofa for dear life. All I have to say about her characters is that if you think you have them
pegged, think again. They morphed into completely different persona. One transformation was eye
raising. Another had me trying to yell into the book, thinking they could all hear me.  Along with the
humor and intense scenes, Banks included some resolutions that had me up doing my victory dance
(but I assure you it was not in an orange track suit.)

Banks had me in complete shock and awe for several scenes. One in particular left me talking to the
book asking, "Are you joking?" My husband has continued to threaten counseling for me as I talk to
inanimate objects.... aka books... way to much. Seriously though... it was mind blowing, heart stopping
and I just didn't want to believe what happened.

I have unanswered questions. One of which occurred in the very last paragraph. (No cheating people,
don't skip to the last page!) If you've had questions regarding the mythology specifically, you should
be pleased with the explanations added in this book.  We get introduced to characters only hinted at
before and got a much closer look at some of the other merfolk. I applaud Banks on an outstanding
second installment that was meaty, juicy, flavorful and super filling.

I anxiously await what delicious goodness Banks has in store for book three. If you have not read
OF POSEIDON, I HIGHLY recommend it. This is excellent reading, especially for summer. ENJOY!

TWITTER: @MamaBookasaurus 

posted by MAMABookasaurus on May 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Demi-god anyone?

Havent read the book, but it seems to me that she needs to go to camp half-blood!

posted by Anonymous on June 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Of Triton by

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




    Of Triton by Anna Banks
    Book Two of the Syrena Legacy series
    Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
    Publication Date: May 28, 2013
    Rating: 3 stars
    Source: ARC won in a giveaway




    Summary (from Goodreads):




    In this sequel to OF POSEIDON, Emma has just learned that her mother is a long-lost Poseidon princess, and now struggles with an identity crisis: As a Half-Breed, she’s a freak in the human world and an abomination in the Syrena realm below. Syrena law states that all Half- Breeds should be put to death.




    As if that’s not bad enough, her mother’s reappearance among the Syrena turns the two kingdoms—Poseidon and Triton—against one another. Which leaves Emma with a decision to make: Should she comply with Galen’s request to keep herself safe and just hope for the best? Or should she risk it all and reveal herself—and her Gift—to save a people she’s never known?




    What I Liked:




    ***Potential spoilers for book one, Of Poseidon! You are warned. There shouldn't be any of book two, Of Triton***




    What a fun sequel this was! I waited a really long time to read it, for some reason, and that was stupid. I'm definitely glad I read it now, before Of Neptune comes out! I will be reading Of Neptune - I wouldn't miss it. I don't read many mermaid books, but this series is one series that has held my attention. While my rating of this book wasn't incredibly high, I enjoyed this book and would encourage people who liked the first book to continue with this series. 




    At the end of the first book, there was that HUGE cliffhanger, about Emma's mother. The book literally cuts off with the revelation that Emma's mother is Nalia, the lost Poseidon princess and original mate of Grom, the king of Syrena and Galen's brother. This book starts with Emma and Nalia fleeing - Emma, against her will. Nalia is quite sure that Grom is dead, and that Galen has been lying to Emma the entire time. And there are bigger problems at hand - like the fact that Grom JUST took a mate towards the end of book one - Paca - and that since Nalia is the Poseidon prince, she must mate with a Triton prince...




    The plot of this particular book was not my favorite part of the book - it was entirely too simplistic and predictable (see more below). However, the book was still a fun ride, and the series itself has taken an interesting turn. Most books have a series climax in which the protagonists must save the world or the country or SOMETHING. In this case, the protagonists aren't necessarily trying to save anything, which is fine with me (because it's something different).




    Galen remains my favorite character, but I feel like he isn't his usual self in this book. I really feel in love with him in the first book, but maybe he doesn't much page-time in this book, because I feel like he wasn't really there. Emma and Rayna are the primary characters in this book, and maybe Grom and Nalia. I didn't really love this change, but I rolled with it. 








    I REALLY liked Antonius, Emma's grandfather and the king of Poseidon. He. Is. Hilarious. He's always saying or doing something incredibly ridiculous or strange and it is endearing. He was in self-imposed exile or something, since Nalia "died".




    The climax kind of crept up on me and then exploded in my face. It wasn't particularly exciting, but the trial right before the climax was both exciting and funny. It's great to see that the humor in the series didn't decrease in this book - because it's one of the things that stuck out to me, that I really liked about book one.




    While I enjoyed the first book more than I enjoyed this book, I liked this book well enough! I don't think it suffered from sequel slump too badly, and I'm glad I gave this one a shot! I hope to read the final book when it comes out!




    What I Did Not Like:




    There were several things that I didn't really like in this book, especially when you compare this book to the first book. In my opinion an author's books should get better and better, especially when they are within a series. That isn't quite the case with this series, in my opinion, which is sad.




    For one, I wasn't a fan of the plot. It was really, really slow. Literally half the book was Emma being kidnapped by her mother - they were running away from Galen and Grom, because Nalia was SO SURE that Grom was dead, and that Galen was trying to arrest Nalia for her Syrena crimes. There is nothing wrong with this part of the plot, except that it dragged through half the book, and it was really boring and repetitive after a while. In general, the plot was kind of lag-y. The second half of the book focused primarily on who was allowed to mate with who, and why certain people couldn't mate with other people, and why some people had to mate with someone else. 




    Honestly, it just felt like a soap opera, or some sort of drama. OF COURSE it's all about "arranged marriages" and love and who gets the girl. This book does not have any love triangles, within any of the relationships formed in this series. However, the drama and "excitement" in this book is due to Syrena rules about who can marry who and who can't. It just felt kind of old and repetitive. And a bit predictable. After a while, everything seems very obvious and you can totally tell what is coming next. That wasn't quite the case in the first book.




    This book is so short, and I felt like this worked against Banks. For one, I feel like the characters did not get much exposure, like the first book. As I mentioned above, Galen definitely wasn't THERE like he was in the first book. One of the reasons why I loved the first book so much was because of the first book was because of Galen - he was really fun to read and follow. In this book, I feel like all he was doing was stressing out about Emma. Not. Attractive. 




    This book just didn't have the spark and life that the first book had. It didn't FEEL the same as the first book, and I was sad to see that. I liked this book, but I didn't LOVE it. I'm glad I read it, but I'm hoping that the third book redeems the series a bit, because I wasn't really feeling this book at first. Hopefully, the third book is amazing!




    Would I Recommend It:




    Despite my rating not being super high, I would definitely recommend this book, especially if you've read the first book (and enjoyed it). It's a good series to start, if you haven't read book one! I like the slightly more original type of paranormal fiction, and I love the humor - it's not often that we find authors with a really great humorous writing style.




    Rating:




    3 stars. I would have liked to see a little more, but overall, I'm pretty satisfied with this sequel. I have a pretty good idea as to what to expect for the third book, and that's exciting! Hopefully, the third book blows us away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Love

    OMG love!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    WOW!! AMAZING BOOK

    Wow
    This was a really good book and I would recomend it to anyone who has read the first book 'Of Posedion' which also is an amazing book! Read Read Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Loved

    I really enjoyed this book, although the first one was better in my opinion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    sigh.

    Wow these books are terrible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Really enjoyed this book!!

    I really enjoyed the first book and I finished it in 2 days and had to immediately get this book to find out what happened next! It was so good and I fell in love with the characters even more. I love Galen but Toraf has definitely become my favorite in the series. I can't wait until the third book releases!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Omg

    Book was awesome there needs to be another that tells more about the relation.ship of galen and emma

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Of t TRUT Of Triton is t Epic sequal to Of Posiedon

    Just finished reading this book. No questio about it, there is a great plot aswell as parts where you just can't stop reading. Hope there will be more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    :)

    :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Need the rest of story

    LOVE IT!!!!GOT THE SAMPLE......NOW NEED THE REAL THING!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Fin-tastic

    This book is amazing! Anna Banks is such a captivating writer! I picked up these books over the summer and absolutely loved them. This story is a perfect picture of undying love and sacrifice! If you want to read something with a fresh perspecti ve then please read Of Triton!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Love

    OMG cant wait tell the third book comes out loved this book had alot of surprises in it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Loved it! More Please!

    This book takes up right where book one left off. Excitement and exciting all the way.
    Learning more of the society(s), their royals, and, the underhanded members of both
    nations was fun. I hope Ms. Banks decides to continue this wonderful series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Brilliant writer! 

    Brilliant writer! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    AMAZING

    Read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Love it

    This is a great second book in a series. I hope more books come from this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Oh goodness..

    Good freaking lord! Quit saying she should go to "camp half blood". She aint no percy jackson freak. U guys r stupid..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Yes.

    Amazing. No other words could describe it. The beginning, middle and end were great. I only wish it had been a thousand pgs longer...
    I cannot wait for the next book! I think i might drown if there wont be one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Awesome

    Loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    Haven't read yet but she sounds like maybe she is Percy Jackson'

    Haven't read yet but she sounds like maybe she is Percy Jackson's cousin.  She needs to go to Camp Half-Blood...

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5