Customer Reviews for

Of Triton (Syrena Legacy Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Technically 4.6 rounded to 5 --- I have waited for this next ins

Technically 4.6 rounded to 5
---
I have waited for this next installment for so long. The pain of it was excruciating.
You can imagine my excitement when I obtained an early copy. My eyes danced, my heart
sang and my fingers itched to grab hold and read every deliciou...
Technically 4.6 rounded to 5
---
I have waited for this next installment for so long. The pain of it was excruciating.
You can imagine my excitement when I obtained an early copy. My eyes danced, my heart
sang and my fingers itched to grab hold and read every delicious syllable. 

The book started off with a bang and only expanded from there. I held my jaw off the floor the
whole way through. Anna Banks delivered a whale of a novel, packed to the gills with romance,
intrigue, action and tactile characters. What I loved most about her writing are the snap-crackle-pop,
snarky personalities that jump out of the book.

The intensity left my nails in tatters. I fell in love with the characters all over again. Bravo to Banks
for writing such a well crafted novel. She made everything so organic and believable. The storyline
was rock solid, the plot was convincing, the writing style was consistent and well developed and the
 character development was outstanding. She is a master of detail. Combine those with her boiling
hot romance, perfect pace and quick-witted humor and the result is
the best catch of the summer reading lot! 

Anna Banks didn't pull punches in this second installment. I found the story made even more intense
by the various points of view. Emma's and Galen's viewpoints created an enriched, flavorful depth
to the story that wouldn't have existed otherwise. 

One of the aspects to Banks' writing style that I loved is her ability to drop the reader into the
middle of a character's head. I felt what they felt and experienced everything they did. Sigh.... brilliant.

Emma got her game on and showed everyone just what she was made of in this installment.
I felt so proud of her for stepping up to the plate and trying to make a difference.  

Banks unloaded a dump truck of surprise information in this second book that left me with a whole
new appreciation for several characters.  She threw so many twists and turns at me that I was holding
onto my sofa for dear life. All I have to say about her characters is that if you think you have them
pegged, think again. They morphed into completely different persona. One transformation was eye
raising. Another had me trying to yell into the book, thinking they could all hear me.  Along with the
humor and intense scenes, Banks included some resolutions that had me up doing my victory dance
(but I assure you it was not in an orange track suit.)

Banks had me in complete shock and awe for several scenes. One in particular left me talking to the
book asking, "Are you joking?" My husband has continued to threaten counseling for me as I talk to
inanimate objects.... aka books... way to much. Seriously though... it was mind blowing, heart stopping
and I just didn't want to believe what happened.

I have unanswered questions. One of which occurred in the very last paragraph. (No cheating people,
don't skip to the last page!) If you've had questions regarding the mythology specifically, you should
be pleased with the explanations added in this book.  We get introduced to characters only hinted at
before and got a much closer look at some of the other merfolk. I applaud Banks on an outstanding
second installment that was meaty, juicy, flavorful and super filling.

I anxiously await what delicious goodness Banks has in store for book three. If you have not read
OF POSEIDON, I HIGHLY recommend it. This is excellent reading, especially for summer. ENJOY!

TWITTER: @MamaBookasaurus 

posted by MAMABookasaurus on May 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Demi-god anyone?

Havent read the book, but it seems to me that she needs to go to camp half-blood!

posted by Anonymous on June 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    Technically 4.6 rounded to 5 --- I have waited for this next ins

    Technically 4.6 rounded to 5
    ---
    I have waited for this next installment for so long. The pain of it was excruciating.
    You can imagine my excitement when I obtained an early copy. My eyes danced, my heart
    sang and my fingers itched to grab hold and read every delicious syllable. 

    The book started off with a bang and only expanded from there. I held my jaw off the floor the
    whole way through. Anna Banks delivered a whale of a novel, packed to the gills with romance,
    intrigue, action and tactile characters. What I loved most about her writing are the snap-crackle-pop,
    snarky personalities that jump out of the book.

    The intensity left my nails in tatters. I fell in love with the characters all over again. Bravo to Banks
    for writing such a well crafted novel. She made everything so organic and believable. The storyline
    was rock solid, the plot was convincing, the writing style was consistent and well developed and the
     character development was outstanding. She is a master of detail. Combine those with her boiling
    hot romance, perfect pace and quick-witted humor and the result is
    the best catch of the summer reading lot! 

    Anna Banks didn't pull punches in this second installment. I found the story made even more intense
    by the various points of view. Emma's and Galen's viewpoints created an enriched, flavorful depth
    to the story that wouldn't have existed otherwise. 

    One of the aspects to Banks' writing style that I loved is her ability to drop the reader into the
    middle of a character's head. I felt what they felt and experienced everything they did. Sigh.... brilliant.

    Emma got her game on and showed everyone just what she was made of in this installment.
    I felt so proud of her for stepping up to the plate and trying to make a difference.  

    Banks unloaded a dump truck of surprise information in this second book that left me with a whole
    new appreciation for several characters.  She threw so many twists and turns at me that I was holding
    onto my sofa for dear life. All I have to say about her characters is that if you think you have them
    pegged, think again. They morphed into completely different persona. One transformation was eye
    raising. Another had me trying to yell into the book, thinking they could all hear me.  Along with the
    humor and intense scenes, Banks included some resolutions that had me up doing my victory dance
    (but I assure you it was not in an orange track suit.)

    Banks had me in complete shock and awe for several scenes. One in particular left me talking to the
    book asking, "Are you joking?" My husband has continued to threaten counseling for me as I talk to
    inanimate objects.... aka books... way to much. Seriously though... it was mind blowing, heart stopping
    and I just didn't want to believe what happened.

    I have unanswered questions. One of which occurred in the very last paragraph. (No cheating people,
    don't skip to the last page!) If you've had questions regarding the mythology specifically, you should
    be pleased with the explanations added in this book.  We get introduced to characters only hinted at
    before and got a much closer look at some of the other merfolk. I applaud Banks on an outstanding
    second installment that was meaty, juicy, flavorful and super filling.

    I anxiously await what delicious goodness Banks has in store for book three. If you have not read
    OF POSEIDON, I HIGHLY recommend it. This is excellent reading, especially for summer. ENJOY!

    TWITTER: @MamaBookasaurus 

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    A

    Loved the first one so will love this one

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There's something about Anna Banks's writing that is genius. It'

    There's something about Anna Banks's writing that is genius. It's funny, yet at the same time serious, and paints a picture so vividly that you can't help but wonder if you need an oxygen tank for when she takes us beneath the surface. 

    In one sentence: OF TRITON is incredibly good. 

    In her sophomore novel, Anna Banks continues the story that began with a gigantic (unputdownable) splash in OF POSEIDON. I've said this before, but I'm a huge fan of mermaids, and this series takes the cake. And while I first had a feeling it might falter with a case of second-book-syndrome, it didn't. It blew my fears away with unexpected twists, character banter (which I ADORE) and a story that was just as good as the first. 

    The stakes felt higher in OF TRITON. With scandal and treason going against the Royals, Emma's life was pretty much on the rocks. Which reminds me: Emma was as awesome in OF TRITON as she was in OF POSEIDON. And if you haven't read Anna Banks's debut, get on that. ASAP. 

    While some people found the dual point-of-view of first-person and third-person confusing, I found it genius. Switch to the author's point of view and think about how difficult it could be to get voice in third-person that differs the first. Yep, it isn't easy. Yet Anna Banks makes it seem effortless, and while switching POVs may seem unnecessary, believe me, it is. 

    There isn't much to say about OF TRITON other than: it is so good, you need to pick it up. Because that's just what it is. I don't usually pick up novels that are more humor than serious. But OF TRITON, and its predecessor, OF POSEIDON, aren't more humor than serious - they combine both into a completely unbelievable must-read series. 

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Not a demigod

    Ok. First off i would like to say, if you havent read the books then why are you reviewing them!?!? And second, dont think that this book is like the Percy Jackson series,bevause its really not. Neither of them are even that similar except for the kids lenieage and the whole "this happens in the ocean" thing. Now, if you do think they are alike, please dont be aggresive towards me. Everyone has their own opinions, its just that I've read all of both books and dont find them that similar. It just kinda upsets me that the somw of the fans of Percy Jackson,I'm a fan too,dont worry, are trying to judge a book, literally, by its summary. But for the book, I THOUGHT IT WAS EXCELLENT. ANNA! GIRL YOU HAVE DONE A MAGNIFISENT JOB WITH THIS. OH MY. I LOVED IT!!! I FELT AS THOUGH I WAS EMMA ALMOST THE ENTIRE TIME. EXCEPT FOR WHEN IT WAS GALENS POV. :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    This Book was so amazing! I loved the first book and I couldn't

    This Book was so amazing!
    I loved the first book and I couldn't wait for the second! I must admit that I had very high hopes for this book and it did not disappoint. I would have appreciated more scenes between Galen and Emma but there weren't as many as I'd wanted. However, there were enough to make me feel satisfied. I know this sounds like I'm criticizing the book but I'm not. To prove my point I got the book on iBooks and it was about 250 pages. I finished the book in one day. Kudos to Anna Banks for writing another fantastic book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    I Loved It!!!!!

    I love these books. If u havent read Of Poseidon u definetly should. Anyways Of Triton leaves off at where Galen figuers out that Emma's mom is Princess Nalia. Of course i cant say much else if not i will spoil the book but i can say that Nalia should have payed attention to Emma's feeling because i mean how could she just tell her only daughter that she was made in the spur of the moment. AND that she never loved Emma's father. Also i so hope that Emma and Galen r true mates i mean they r perfect for each other. And if u have read the book can u tell me what the next book will be called? I want to mark it on a calender so i remember.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Amazing

    I read the first one last summer and didnt know the second came out. When I found out I went and got it! I LOVED IT!!! I read the book on my vacatation finishing it!!!! I really hope she writes more!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Amazing

    Never saw the ending coming. I loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    loved it

    characters in this series are great, fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Oooo lordie!

    I love this book! The concept of underwater life of mammals/ mermaids has always been a favorite of mine! I am about to reread the whole series to star the third one I have been waiting for since the end of school in 2013!
    Can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    FIVE STARS!!!

    It's really hard to find a good novel these days since they're all basically similar, but these novel captivated my attention right in the first chapter and kept on going. The series is truthfully one of the best :) so worth the purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Awesome

    I love this series!!! She is nowone of my favorite authors! I love the story line and the characters personalities. Very creative.

    She made me fall in love with the story. Great job and I definetly recommend this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Love

    OMG love!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    WOW!! AMAZING BOOK

    Wow
    This was a really good book and I would recomend it to anyone who has read the first book 'Of Posedion' which also is an amazing book! Read Read Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Loved

    I really enjoyed this book, although the first one was better in my opinion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Omg

    Book was awesome there needs to be another that tells more about the relation.ship of galen and emma

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Of t TRUT Of Triton is t Epic sequal to Of Posiedon

    Just finished reading this book. No questio about it, there is a great plot aswell as parts where you just can't stop reading. Hope there will be more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    :)

    :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Need the rest of story

    LOVE IT!!!!GOT THE SAMPLE......NOW NEED THE REAL THING!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Fin-tastic

    This book is amazing! Anna Banks is such a captivating writer! I picked up these books over the summer and absolutely loved them. This story is a perfect picture of undying love and sacrifice! If you want to read something with a fresh perspecti ve then please read Of Triton!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3