Customer Reviews for

Of Witches and Warlocks: The Trouble with Spells

Average Rating 4.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A fun light read - perfect escape for the beach.

A fun light read - perfect escape for the beach.

posted by Linda__ on June 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Decent Read

***NOTE MY REVIEWS OFTEN CONTAIN SPOILERS***

Portia Mullins thought she was a normal girl with an encyclopedia salesmen for a dad, a nurse for a mom and a crush on the hottest boy in school who didn't even know she was alive. All that changes when she turns sixteen a...
***NOTE MY REVIEWS OFTEN CONTAIN SPOILERS***

Portia Mullins thought she was a normal girl with an encyclopedia salesmen for a dad, a nurse for a mom and a crush on the hottest boy in school who didn't even know she was alive. All that changes when she turns sixteen and she finds out not only is she a witch and a powerful one at that, but her Dad is a warlock and her Grandma is a witch too. To top it off the hottest boy in school, Vance Mangum, very much knew she was alive and as a warlock himself had been counting the days to her sixteenth birthday so he could introduce himself to her. Vance explains to Portia that not only is she his soul-mate, but he's in her coven because his demon father has been hunting him trying to steal Vance's power and turn him to a demon as well. When her best friends, the wannabe Barbie doll turns into a crazy goth chick Portia knows something's up, she only hopes she can get to the bottom of it before it's too late.

If you like paranormal romance, you'll most likely enjoy this books. It's fast paced with a good flow and easy to read. However, you'll also find quite a few grammar errors and I guess you'd say an immaturity in the writing that goes beyond it being a first person narrative in the eyes of a sixteen year old.

The characters are first of all a bit too perfect, their only possibly bad qualities have very good reasons behind them. They really don't have character flaws in anyway and both could be described as a Mary Sue character. They also seem to accept everything blindly. Oh I'm a powerful witch, well maybe I'll express disbelieve for a couple paragraphs but then I'll roll with the punches. Oh, we're soul-mates, cool, it's what I've always wanted. They fall instantly in love without any of the doubt or getting to know each other in typical relationships. She also has an 18 year old boy turning down sex with his girlfriend because he wants to wait until she's of age and they're married. And neither of their parents care that they spend every night sleeping in the same bed. Magic or not, no eighteen year old will be spending the night in my daughter's bed when she's sixteen. Their relationship is like a PG version of an adult relationship minus the courtship where they get to know each other. Nothing in real life falls as instantly into place as these characters' relationship does. No teenager is that good or accepting either. With a little more internal conflict in the characters and some more obstacles put in their way this could have been an excellent story. A better copy editor would have help as well.

I should also mention that these modern day children never even mention computers or video games or any of the other things that are normally as close to every teenage kid as the air they breath. It sort of reminded me of the PG way a mother might describe her teenage years to her children leaving out any part that could possibly be construed as a negative influence for them to copy.

That said the plot was interesting and it did flow well. The writer also has a nice writing voice. If she learned to be a little meaner to her characters I feel she could write an excellent story. She has potential and I plan to read more of Weatherford books in hopes these things will improve.

posted by jdonnelly14JD on May 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Love this book!

    Great read ! Can't wait to read the next one. You won't be disapointed.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Amazing

    Lacey has created a strong, role model worth, protagonist called Portia Mullins. Portia is an ordinary teenager, living an ordinary life until she reaches her sweet sixteen birthday. Instead of being given a dress or some frivolous gift, she is told she is a witch. A very powerful witch at that. She is a descendant form a long line of witches and warlocks on her father's side.

    Her Grandmother is the high priestess of a coven, in which she meets Vance Magnum. A leather clad, motorbike riding bad boy. Who turns out to be more than her soulmate, they are meant to be together.

    The chemistry and romance is breathtakingly deep, as Portia struggles to balance love, life, magic, family and being a teenager.

    What I love most about the fact that Portia was a witch, was that she was a real witch that can do some really cool magic. Not just, mix some herbs together and cure a cold. She can move things, blast things and just about anything. However, she needs to learn them and more importantly learn how to control her powers.

    Their bond is put to the test when Vance's past catches up with him. Will they survive it? Sparks will fly and not just between Vance and Portia.

    This book is refreshing, different from the others out there. I would rank this book one of the best paranormal young adult books out there. It appeals to readers both young and old. I will read it over and over again. You won't be disappointed.

    Check out Lacey Weatherford's website for her Of Witches and Warlocks Series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Loved it - great romantic story!

    This book was a nice surprise. Being almost 30 myself, I often feel that I am too old to read books in the Young Adult genre. I love them anyway though! This particular book had me hooked from the beginning. Portia finds out that she is a witch on her 16th birthday. Vance, who is a warlock, has fought an attraction to Portia for 2 whole years - waiting until she found out about her heritage before even approaching her. Poor Vance had such a tough childhood, and is such a lonely person. There is just something about him that makes your heart melt - he is perfect boyfriend material. Portia and Vance are both really mature for their age and are waiting for marriage to become intimate.They fall in love very quickly though, and there are plenty of romantic and passionate scenes in this book. There is also plenty of danger lurking around to make things exciting. The ending has left me almost heartbroken. I absolutely cannot wait to read the next book in this series! I'm dying to know what happens next!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Ya I believe its great for middle school and up

    This book is amazing. I recommend it to all middle schoolers and up. Enjoy

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Great

    Really great couldn't put it down can not wait to read the next book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    hmmm

    Reminds me of twilight

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Great book...

    Can't wait for the sequel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    I love it

    This book should b a movie.if u tap YES,u get to b in the movie.i call dibbs on portia!!!!!!!!!!!




    PLEASE TAP YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Lil

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Question!!!

    Is this book for kids?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Amazing

    The books were really fun to read and often kept me up needing to no what happens.
    I highly reccomend for teens 14 and up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Amazing!

    This book was so good. While I was reading it I couldn't help but think about the Immortal series by Alyson Noel and The Fallen Star series by Jessica Sorensen, which are both series I truly enjoyed. It means a lot with me saying it reminded me of those because they are 2 of my favorite series and this one is right there with them. The love between Portia and Vance is written so well. Whenever something would happen I could literally picture it like a movie or something. I think that if the mortal instruments, the hunger games, divergent etc. can make it to the screen then this should to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Yes there ate morwe books

    In response to Question. Plus tjey are all amazing! This series is a must read for anyone eho liles par

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Question.

    Is there more books????? THIS WAS A VERY WELL WRITTEN BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Love it life changing i cried at the end

    It brought tears of joy and sadness it reminds me of the relationship i have with my boyfriend we're perfect together <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    I absolutely love these series. By far it grabs you and you can

    I absolutely love these series. By far it grabs you and you can't put it down. Lacey Weatherford is an amazing writer. I bought her books after seeing a book blogger review them. I had gotten them for my teenage daughter, but I read them after she told me how good they were. I highly recommend reading these!!! It's true paranormal romance in way that hasn't been told. She completely captivates you and can feel the emotions of the characters, sense what they must be going through, and you end up cheering and plotting along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Sophie123!:)<3

    Love this book and series. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Awesome ally

    I love this book i can get enof of it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Amazing

    I loved it.I am only in fifth grade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    I LOVE IT!!!!

    The reason why i like this book is because of the romance. Even though it is a little over my perfeard reading level but its really worth reading. I just love this book all i ever read about this book is all good. This book is a fan- freaking-tastic book.If ant one disagrees qith me write back any time any way and i will prably write bqck. But most of the time i might not be on here cause i have a boyfriend and i am in the intermediant school and am in 7 th grade.If u can try to write back ASAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BYE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved this book! I really enjoyed it! It ad a cliffhanger ending though and that made me mad till i found out there was a second book! I seriously recommend that you read it! And it is a free good book! Almost 600 pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4