Customer Reviews for

Off Course

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    And Yet Another Great Read! Book 4 in the Off Series. I love th

    And Yet Another Great Read! Book 4 in the Off Series. I love this series.. Author tells a great story. Each book is about another member
    of the family but continues including the other players from the previous book keeping the family story alive.
    This one has a HOT Rock Star in so what's not to love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Very good book.

    This was the first book I read by this author and I was very impressed. I got sucked in and had a hard time putting the book down. While this book can be read as a stand alone, I would like to go back and read the other stories in this series. This story was written in such a way that you do not feel left out by references to happenings in the other stories. As with all e-books there were some errors, but there weren't very many. I will definitely be reading other books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2014

    Sexy as sin, with a voice to boot, rock star god? What else coul

    Sexy as sin, with a voice to boot, rock star god? What else could you want? This is the story of Renner, Linc and Nix's cousin who moved
    to Ireland to find herself and what she might want to do with her life. Working at her uncle's bar, she meets back up with Cillian (read the
     book for why she's meeting him again), a famous rock star in Europe. Cillian works to break down Renner's barriers and the chemistry is
    explosive. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Loved this book

    Thks could be a stand alone book, its made ,e want to read the others from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    worth reading

    Quick breezy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Great book

    I liked this book a lot it was worth the cost Renner and cillian were perfect for each other him being a rock star and used to getting what he wants and and her being predictable they were able to even each other out he made her be spontaneous and she made him realize to take things more seriously great love story the only problem I had with it was mauve and cillians relationship with her he let her get away with to much he needed to realize that she needed professional help and I wish we would have learned more about the guys in his band it was like the author just needed to fill empty spaces but overall great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    Interesting storyline, excellent characters... A well developed

    Interesting storyline, excellent characters... A well developed book that I really enjoyed... Seems like opposites really do attract in the case of Renner and Cillian... Thought parts of it were a bit "dark" and hated  that Maeve just disappeared in the  end. But perhaps that is another book in the series... My only problem with the book is that I am a speed reader (phrases and not words) and there were  enough typos and missing or additional words in this one be be annoying if nothing else... This I blame the Editor for because proofreading should catch these mistakes before the book is released... Ms Bennett is an excellent author and I enjoy her books very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Great Story

    The whole story is captivating! I loved the passion between Renner and Cillian, but I feel that he got off a little too easily in the end. He should have had to kiss a little more a** to get her back, but other than that I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Heartbreaking storyline: OFF COURSE is the fourth installment in

    Heartbreaking storyline: OFF COURSE is the fourth installment in Sawyer Bennett’s contemporary, new adult Off Series featuring the lives and loves of the Caldwell clan. Off Course is a slight departure from the previous three storylines in that it takes place in Ireland. This is Renner and Cillian’s (pronounced Killian) story.
    The storyline begins five years previous when a then seventeen year old Renner Caldwell meets the nineteen year old lead singer for the Irish rock band Over The Edge- Cillian O’Bradaigh-while on summer vacation. For all intents and purposes, the couple have an immediate attraction to one another but when Cillian realizes Renner is an inexperienced young girl, he walks away but never forgets their brief passionate kiss. Fast forward five years and Renner Caldwell returns to Ireland, disgraced and brokenhearted, and finds herself working in the very Irish pub where she first met the man whole stole her heart years earlier.
    Renner and Cillian’s relationship is a story of second chances (to some degree). Following their brief first encounter where Cillian appears to reject Renner, the young woman returns home believing herself not worthy. But when her personal and professional life take an abrupt turn and Renner finds herself without employment, returning to Ireland seems like her only option. And running into Cillian is not high on her list of priorities especially when it looks like he does not remember Renner.
    Cillian has never forgotten Renner Caldwell and his attempts to win her over fail at every opportunity especially when the ghosts from his past continue to control his present life. Hoping to alleviate a guilt that has been burning for years, Cillian does not realize that he is pushing Renner further away every time he jumps when some one else calls. Cillian believes it is his responsibility to save the world. But heartbreak and betrayal once again follow Renner and returning to America is now her only option.
    Linc and Nix (Renner’s cousins) make a cameo appearance when Renner returns to the USA which gives the storyline a connection to the first three installments. The storyline also focuses on alcoholism and rehab and the lengths an alcoholic will go through to avoid acceptance and help. This is also a story of manipulation, enabling, and one man’s inherent guilt over death and destruction of his family. Sawyer Bennett addresses a different issue in each of her storylines and Off Course is no exception.
    Off Course is a fast paced, heartbreaking and eye opening storyline that addresses several issues of current headlines including addiction and rehab: lies and manipulation; and work place affairs. Sawyer Bennett has noted that her next book in the series Off Chance will be her final installment and I have enjoyed the series and storylines. She has also stated that Renner and Cillian’s future will be addressed as Off Chance is Renner’s brother’s (Flynn) story.
    Reading Order1. Off Sides2. Off Limits3. Off The Record4. Off Course5. Off Chance (October 2013)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    4.5/5 stars Well, folks. Sawyer Bennett has done it again. I am

    4.5/5 stars

    Well, folks. Sawyer Bennett has done it again. I am absolutely in love with this series and I never ever want it to end! Sawyer has a knack for creating sexy male leads and strong, likeable female MC's. I love that both books I've read by her (Off the Record and now Off Course) are both dual POV. I can't get enough! I guess books just become so much real for me if I can see what both characters are thinking and feeling- and why they make the decisions they do.

    I loved this one. Off Course alternates between both Renner and Cillian's POV's. We met Renner briefly in Off the Record- she is Linc and Nix's cousin and all we really knew about her was that she was a flight attendant for Delta and recently had her heart broken by a married man. We first meet Cillian in Off Course and he is a young, 19-year old rocker in a band. The sexual tension that boy can emit off the stage is mind-blowing! And Renner (who is visiting her cousins in Dublin) can certainly feel it. At 17, she is not as experienced as he is, and after a steamy kiss, puts the brakes on his advances. Cillian wasn't a douche or even upset about it- he's actually very sweet, telling her to just be herself. However, that certainly didn't stop him from sticking his tongue down the next girl's throat at the same party. Ouch. However, 5 years later, Renner finds herself back in Dublin to escape what went down with her job at Delta. She is left reeling by the outcome but is determined to make the best of her situation. She ends up running into Cillian again, as he is taking a summer break with his band. At first she doesn't think he remembers her, but there's no way he could have forgotten.

    Renner is definitely not going to fall into Cillian's arms- no matter how sweet of a talker he can be. She's been burned once and she refuses to let it happen again. Not to mention, she remembers the way he was and how disappointed she felt when she saw how easily he could cast her aside. Cillian doesn't even fit Renner's ideal man description. She is looking for Mr. Perfect- a businessman, who is stable and responsible, that she can settle down and have kids, a white picket fence, the whole shebang with. Cillian is rough around the edges, has an unpredictable lifestyle, and doesn't seem like the settling down type. He is also obsessed with being in control. There was a time in his life where he wasn't able to be in control and he lost so much. This explains why he is the way he is with his band-mate and former lover, Maeve. Maeve is a piece of work, let me tell you! She is still in love with Cillian, even though he's told her numerous times that they can't be that way together and he only wants to be friends. She has an addiction to alcohol and is somewhat suicidal. I really felt bad for Maeve in the beginning, because she seemed like a girl who had no one to depend on, so she clung to the first person she trusted most in the world and loved: Cillian. However, she is still in love with him and is NOT happy that Renner is in the picture. The lengths Maeve will go to are quite insane, but Cillian will not take the tough love route with her. He feels like he can make amends for his past, by helping her- even though no one can help her but herself.

    I will say Renner put up a pretty good fight against his charms. He's quite persistent when it comes to her and won't give up. I have to admit- I love the chase. I love the build up between these two because when Renner finally gives in- dear God, it's hot. It's pretty clear from the get-go that Cillian is definitely attracted to Renner (he can't get her out of his head) and wants to be the one to free her from her self-imposed restraints and show her how to live a little. He didn't stop to account for the fact that he could actually be falling for her.

    Will Renner be able to open up her heart to Cillian after having it smashed by her ex-boyfriend (who is still sending her text messages begging for forgiveness?) or will she find that she just can't let herself fall for the guy who doesn't fit her criteria but can make her feel more alive than she's ever felt? And will Cillian be able to see through Maeve's manipulation and determine what is worth fighting for and who he can't live without?

    *Received a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1