Customer Reviews for

Off Season

Average Rating 3.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding work Ms. Siddons! Loved it...

I am a huge ARS fan. The first ARS book that I read of hers was 'Colony' and I loved it. Sine then, I have read almost all of her books. 'Off Season' is very reminiscent of 'Colony' with a big twist and a surprise ending, dare I say, a la J. Picoult, that has apparen...
I am a huge ARS fan. The first ARS book that I read of hers was 'Colony' and I loved it. Sine then, I have read almost all of her books. 'Off Season' is very reminiscent of 'Colony' with a big twist and a surprise ending, dare I say, a la J. Picoult, that has apparently stunned her readers based on many reviews that I have read. However, instead of being disappointed with this ending, I relished it 'but only after reading those last few pages about 2 or 3 times...'! I enjoyed the complex writing at the end. Why do books have to tie-up so nice & neat in the final pages in black and white for so many readers? I find nice & neat endings predictable and boring. If you have read ARS's 1978 classic, 'The House Next Door' then you would know that this type of story ending is not uncommon for ARS. 'If you have not read THND, then read it soon!' THND book & ending left me thinking about it and talking about it for days with other ARS readers. I am happy to say that 'Off Season' has left me in the same frame of mind! I love an ending that stays in my mind for days and leaves me wanting to discuss with so many others who have read it. Thank you Ms. Siddons!

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ugh.

I have tried to read this book for weeks, picking it up time after time, slogging through chapters, waiting to be grabbed. It's not happening. It's slow and the storyline is not well represented in the synopsis. I'm only halfway through and may not make it the rest o...
I have tried to read this book for weeks, picking it up time after time, slogging through chapters, waiting to be grabbed. It's not happening. It's slow and the storyline is not well represented in the synopsis. I'm only halfway through and may not make it the rest of the way. Save yourself the frustration. Choose a different title.

posted by Laurie2LG on December 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    Outstanding work Ms. Siddons! Loved it...

    I am a huge ARS fan. The first ARS book that I read of hers was 'Colony' and I loved it. Sine then, I have read almost all of her books. 'Off Season' is very reminiscent of 'Colony' with a big twist and a surprise ending, dare I say, a la J. Picoult, that has apparently stunned her readers based on many reviews that I have read. However, instead of being disappointed with this ending, I relished it 'but only after reading those last few pages about 2 or 3 times...'! I enjoyed the complex writing at the end. Why do books have to tie-up so nice & neat in the final pages in black and white for so many readers? I find nice & neat endings predictable and boring. If you have read ARS's 1978 classic, 'The House Next Door' then you would know that this type of story ending is not uncommon for ARS. 'If you have not read THND, then read it soon!' THND book & ending left me thinking about it and talking about it for days with other ARS readers. I am happy to say that 'Off Season' has left me in the same frame of mind! I love an ending that stays in my mind for days and leaves me wanting to discuss with so many others who have read it. Thank you Ms. Siddons!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    Off Season

    I really enjoyed this book. I have lived long enough to experience the loss of a loved one. People that we love dearly can disappoint us too. And there are mysteries following death that have no explanation. I loved the ending too! Meoow!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Ugh.

    I have tried to read this book for weeks, picking it up time after time, slogging through chapters, waiting to be grabbed. It's not happening. It's slow and the storyline is not well represented in the synopsis. I'm only halfway through and may not make it the rest of the way. Save yourself the frustration. Choose a different title.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lyrical and Compelling

    OFF SEASON
    Anne Rivers Siddons
    Grand Central Publishing
    $13.99
    358 pages
    ISBN: 978-0-446-52787-3
    Reviewer: Annie Slessman

    I have been a regular reader of Anne Rivers Siddons works. Her writing is somewhat "lyrical" or what my writer teacher would deem as descriptive writing. OFF SEASON, her latest works, is no exception.

    The story begins as Lilly loses her beloved husband, Cam. They had been partners in the truest sense and were thought of as a happy couple by those who knew them best. When Lilly loses Cam suddenly she travels back to the place she had spent her best childhood years and the place where she and Cam had fell in love - the Coast of Maine.

    When Lilly arrives at their beach cottage in Maine she spends her days reliving her childhood years, the love she once lost as a child and discovers secrets about Cam she never wanted to know.

    The story is one that will keep you reading, so don't expect to get anything accomplished while reading this work. It is a compelling tale of a woman's lost love and her attempt to deal with the ghosts that surround her.

    The ending is a surprising one and no, I didn't see it coming. I thought I knew all the tricks of the trade and should have been able to figure out the ending of this tale. This was not to be. If you buy one summer book, make it OFF SEASON.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    I am only about 1/3 of the way through this book and moderately

    I am only about 1/3 of the way through this book and moderately enjoying it. However, I have come to the part where she expresses her political leanings by gratuitously tossing her political opinions into the story; i.e., the vile old man and the unlikeable father of the boy are Republicans. The rest of the really nice people are Democrats. I have absolutely no interest in her political opinions and they have absolutely nothing to do with the story line. She has done this time and again in various books and it has annoyed me to the point of coloring my enjoyment of her book, so I just won't purchase them anymore.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    Not A Choice For A New Siddons Reader

    I've read every one of Anne Rivers Siddons' novels so this one disappointed me. It might be a good choice for a book club discussion.
    I'd be interested in hearing how others felt about it. I wonder if any men ever read Siddons. I'd like a male viewpoint on Lily's Dad and Cam.
    As a woman, I've sized up Peaches and Kitty. Lily is a real case study!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Loved the book

    Anne Siddons is one of my favorite authors. I really enjoyed the book. Was caught off guard by the ending. It's well worth the time to read and enjoy. I'll be re-reading in the near future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2008

    Surprise ending but overall classic Siddons

    While I agree with the other reviewers that the ending is a surprise and I found quite confusing as well as atypical of Anne Rivers Siddons - it seemed to lack the detail and emotional backstop that her story lines usually have - I nonetheless enjoyed it immensely. Several points of contention with one reviewer, however - nowhere did I get the impression that the main character Lilly hated her father, quite the opposite to the extent that she felt both protective of him and protected by him, and I feel it's quite a stretch to say that Peaches coveted specifically a father who taught at GW, etc. - it would give away some juicy details to mention why, but I simply can't agreet with that assessment. Aside from that,Siddons' way of describing people and places continues to enthrall me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2008

    rushed ending

    I have long been a fan of the author's books and loved most of them. This book was a great read and engaging story right up until the end. The ending felt rushed and contrived, almost as though the author didn't know how to tie it all together and needed to get pages back to her editor. I was very dissappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2014

    This book that I happened upon by chance at a used book store, l

    This book that I happened upon by chance at a used book store, led me on a journey with this brilliant author that I will hold in my heart forever.  Add me to the list of ARS fans.  I read all of her books last year and loved them all!  I have preordered her last book and can hardly wait for it to come out in July!  I cherish these books, and they hold a spot in my bookshelf which I will reread again taking my time as the first time through I sailed through them too fast as I was consumed by the stories.  Beautifully written all of them!  This woman can write about everything and everything!  She amazes me.  Love you Anne!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Anonymous

    Loved the struck-in-the-heart ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    A bit toda o A bit to dark

    Didn't enjoy what felt like an abrupt ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    I love Siddons' work and have read 10 of her books. This was not

    I love Siddons' work and have read 10 of her books. This was not my favorite. Her descriptions are lavish and lovely. I thoroughly enjoyed learning about Lilly, her summers in Maine, her beloved dog, seeing the ripples of water, smelling the pine, hearing the call of the ospreys.  I was there with her through that wonderful summer and then into the darkness that descended on her life. But as Lilly got older it seemed that Siddons wanted to get on with it and suddenly she was 18, suddenly married and bango now two grown children who never got fleshed out so I could care about them at all. Suddenly Lilly was getting loopy and talking to things and getting answers and at the end a reappearance? A ghost? A dream? A reincarnation? The end?  I felt a little betrayed by this story. A little set up as if a friend set a trap and let me fall in with no warning to prepare me. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    I did not enjoy this book. I found it sad and depressing.

    I did not enjoy this book. I found it sad and depressing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    A terrible ending!

    What happened? I was reading along and all of the sudden it was over! Not Ms. Siddons normal style. Don't think I'll buy her's again. Does anyone know what happened in the end? Do we assume that the main character dies??!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    -_-

    Boring

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    Anne Rivers Siddons has created another good ¿colony¿ tale in OFF SEASON. Still reeling from her husband¿s death, 58 year-old Lily Constable McCall escapes to her family summer home in Edgewater, Maine. Here, Lily is truly happy. A malevolent spirit has kept her safe since the summer of 1962, when her world began to spin out her control. She gained her 1st love and lost Jon there. Her free-spirited mother found her voice as an upcoming painter and activist there. Her father buried himself in College Academia there. And she married Cam there. Here in Edgewater, Cam¿s ashes will be spread ¿ he loved the house as much as she did. He died here too. We learn of Lily¿s 11th summer as she remembers. She talks to Silas, Cam¿s grumpy cat and to the kind spirit that is close to her. We learn of Peaches Davenport¿s treachery that summer amid Lily¿s first love and outings on the island. Then we see her troubled relationship with her parents and her somewhat unconventional courtship with Cam McCall who has suffered loss early in his own childhood, before their two daughters come for Cam¿s ceremony. But the ending of OFF SEASON is jarring and unexpected. I have to ask why Siddons ended Lily story in that manner. Strong characters and story does NOT make up for that ending. I took 1 star off of a beautifully written novel because of that ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Loved it - you must check it out!

    Off Season is a nostalgic look at childhood, young love, and how it influences the adult one becomes. Lilly has returned in the off season to the island cabin her parents took her every summer as a child. Her husband has passed away and she has sought refuge in the place that holds so many memories for her. It kept me riveted through each chapter and has a surprise ending. You must check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Not her best

    Not one of my favorite reads from this author. I found it to be a little slow and I wanted it to end long before I got to the last page. Too bad as I usually love Anne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Off Season

    Hard to get into. But once you do it is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6