Customer Reviews for

Off Season

Average Rating 3.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding work Ms. Siddons! Loved it...

I am a huge ARS fan. The first ARS book that I read of hers was 'Colony' and I loved it. Sine then, I have read almost all of her books. 'Off Season' is very reminiscent of 'Colony' with a big twist and a surprise ending, dare I say, a la J. Picoult, that has apparen...
I am a huge ARS fan. The first ARS book that I read of hers was 'Colony' and I loved it. Sine then, I have read almost all of her books. 'Off Season' is very reminiscent of 'Colony' with a big twist and a surprise ending, dare I say, a la J. Picoult, that has apparently stunned her readers based on many reviews that I have read. However, instead of being disappointed with this ending, I relished it 'but only after reading those last few pages about 2 or 3 times...'! I enjoyed the complex writing at the end. Why do books have to tie-up so nice & neat in the final pages in black and white for so many readers? I find nice & neat endings predictable and boring. If you have read ARS's 1978 classic, 'The House Next Door' then you would know that this type of story ending is not uncommon for ARS. 'If you have not read THND, then read it soon!' THND book & ending left me thinking about it and talking about it for days with other ARS readers. I am happy to say that 'Off Season' has left me in the same frame of mind! I love an ending that stays in my mind for days and leaves me wanting to discuss with so many others who have read it. Thank you Ms. Siddons!

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ugh.

I have tried to read this book for weeks, picking it up time after time, slogging through chapters, waiting to be grabbed. It's not happening. It's slow and the storyline is not well represented in the synopsis. I'm only halfway through and may not make it the rest o...
I have tried to read this book for weeks, picking it up time after time, slogging through chapters, waiting to be grabbed. It's not happening. It's slow and the storyline is not well represented in the synopsis. I'm only halfway through and may not make it the rest of the way. Save yourself the frustration. Choose a different title.

posted by Laurie2LG on December 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    Outstanding work Ms. Siddons! Loved it...

    I am a huge ARS fan. The first ARS book that I read of hers was 'Colony' and I loved it. Sine then, I have read almost all of her books. 'Off Season' is very reminiscent of 'Colony' with a big twist and a surprise ending, dare I say, a la J. Picoult, that has apparently stunned her readers based on many reviews that I have read. However, instead of being disappointed with this ending, I relished it 'but only after reading those last few pages about 2 or 3 times...'! I enjoyed the complex writing at the end. Why do books have to tie-up so nice & neat in the final pages in black and white for so many readers? I find nice & neat endings predictable and boring. If you have read ARS's 1978 classic, 'The House Next Door' then you would know that this type of story ending is not uncommon for ARS. 'If you have not read THND, then read it soon!' THND book & ending left me thinking about it and talking about it for days with other ARS readers. I am happy to say that 'Off Season' has left me in the same frame of mind! I love an ending that stays in my mind for days and leaves me wanting to discuss with so many others who have read it. Thank you Ms. Siddons!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    Off Season

    I really enjoyed this book. I have lived long enough to experience the loss of a loved one. People that we love dearly can disappoint us too. And there are mysteries following death that have no explanation. I loved the ending too! Meoow!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2014

    This book that I happened upon by chance at a used book store, l

    This book that I happened upon by chance at a used book store, led me on a journey with this brilliant author that I will hold in my heart forever.  Add me to the list of ARS fans.  I read all of her books last year and loved them all!  I have preordered her last book and can hardly wait for it to come out in July!  I cherish these books, and they hold a spot in my bookshelf which I will reread again taking my time as the first time through I sailed through them too fast as I was consumed by the stories.  Beautifully written all of them!  This woman can write about everything and everything!  She amazes me.  Love you Anne!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Siddons at her mystical best

    Another strong character who found true love in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Off Season

    Hard to get into. But once you do it is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    Loved it!

    A must read. The story and characters stay with you long after finishing the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    Loved it!

    What a great book! I thought Jane Alexander was ok but the story and journey on which the story takes you is wonderful. I recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    Best Ever!

    I have read every work of fiction by ARS. This is just THE very best. You just feel as though you are in the story. Her descriptive prose pulls you in; but, is never too long so as to put the reader asleep. I don't want to comment on the storyline itself, as I feel that would leave the future reader disappointed. Suffice it to say if you're an Anne Rivers Siddons lover, this was well worth the wait. If this is your first foray into her world, you will be happy for the journey!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    I loved it

    I loved Off Season and I loved the ending. It was the best ending she could have written, and a happy ending for the cat too. And you know that evil Peaches didn't send her son over to help Lilly to be nice. She wanted Lilly to know the truth and be hurt. Anne Rivers Siddons writes fantasy. Some of the things in her books don't have to be true to life. Her books would be boring if she only wrote about things that could really happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It

    When I first received the book, I thought "Oh no, it's so long" (358 pages). I really like to read shorter books. But as soon as I started reading I loved the characters and the descriptions of Edgewater made me feel as if I was there with them at the sea, smelling the food from the kitchen, feeling the excitement at being a child in the summertime. The only down side was I felt the book should have concentrated more on Lilly and Cam's life together, since there are missing years we know nothing about. I felt Lilly's pain at losing her loved one and loved that she talked to him and "heard" him talk to her. I've read mixed reviews about the ending, but if you read carefully and pay attention to what comes before, you might have an idea of what is coming. I did, and loved it from a readers point of view, but hated it for Lilly. This will definitely not be my last Anne Rivers Siddons book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    True Siddons' Style Again

    With her latest novel, Siddons has returned to the beautiful style of her earlier works, such as Outer Banks. Once again, she tells the in-depth tale of a marriage with a troubling undercurrent of uncertainty. The reader senses from the very beginning that Peaches will bring something sinister into Lilly's life, but Siddons artfully pulls the reader along while keeping the level of suspense alive until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2