Customer Reviews for

An Offer from a Gentleman (Bridgerton Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 225 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of the best historical romance novels.

After having read the series out of order, I finally came back to this one, Benedict and Sophie's story. In later novels we see them as the happy couple from the country, raising their children away from Society while Benedict indulges his painting passion.
Of the 6...
After having read the series out of order, I finally came back to this one, Benedict and Sophie's story. In later novels we see them as the happy couple from the country, raising their children away from Society while Benedict indulges his painting passion.
Of the 6 Bridgerton novels I've read (only Francesca and Gregory's stories to go), this one is the best of the lot. The beginning is a Cinderella story but in the brutal Regency style. Cinderella is a bastard and her
The magical night at the masquerade ball is pure fairy tale, but I admit the twist that follows is frustrating. I was so enthralled with Sophie and her plight, I raged at the sudden jump to the left. It's a miracle she survived as she did.
Yes, the "I'm a Society gentleman so can't possibly marry a servant" was overdone a tad. People frequently did rise above themselves and keep their origins secret. Considering Benedict loved this woman and had a supportive family, I was a little frustrated he kept throwing up Society dictates as a barrier.
But in the end, this was a sweet love story where you felt the characters actually did deserve their happy ending. Much better than Daphne or Anthony's story, and far more satisfying than Colin's or even Eloise. I recommend this on stays on my keeper shelf.

posted by BANCHEE_READS on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good

I am liking this Bridgerton Family a lot. Benedict was sweet but a little more reserved. I actually really liked Sophie. At first I was a little bit annoyed by the "Cinderella" story but it grew on me. Violet (the mom) is awesome!

posted by curlyloulou on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 227 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best historical romance novels.

    After having read the series out of order, I finally came back to this one, Benedict and Sophie's story. In later novels we see them as the happy couple from the country, raising their children away from Society while Benedict indulges his painting passion.<BR/>Of the 6 Bridgerton novels I've read (only Francesca and Gregory's stories to go), this one is the best of the lot. The beginning is a Cinderella story but in the brutal Regency style. Cinderella is a bastard and her <BR/>The magical night at the masquerade ball is pure fairy tale, but I admit the twist that follows is frustrating. I was so enthralled with Sophie and her plight, I raged at the sudden jump to the left. It's a miracle she survived as she did.<BR/>Yes, the "I'm a Society gentleman so can't possibly marry a servant" was overdone a tad. People frequently did rise above themselves and keep their origins secret. Considering Benedict loved this woman and had a supportive family, I was a little frustrated he kept throwing up Society dictates as a barrier.<BR/>But in the end, this was a sweet love story where you felt the characters actually did deserve their happy ending. Much better than Daphne or Anthony's story, and far more satisfying than Colin's or even Eloise. I recommend this on stays on my keeper shelf.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    Another great book from a fabulous author!

    Loved this book even better than the last one and that's saying something. Her characters are flawed, funny and fabulous (like the author). The love scenes are deliciously steamy. A very, very good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    You must check

    Julia quinn is my favorite romance author. She is funny and brilliant!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Not as good as the 1st two books.

    I enjoyed it but not as much as the first two of the Bridgerton series. A note to future readers: There is some sort of writing or editing mistake occurring repeatedly in this book. The surname of Crabtree is mistakenly used instead of Bridgerton. I first noticed the error when Sophia joins Violet and her daughters for tea, and the errors occur with more frequency as the novel progresses. HOWEVER, the caretaking couple at My Cottage are correctly identified as Mr. and Mrs. Crabtree.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Good story, but PROOFREAD please!

    Crabtree and Bridgerton are not interchangeable characters; identify them accordingly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Give it a chance

    I was duped myself at the beginning and actually skipped this book as I began reading this series. I was convinced I wouldn't like the story since the summary didn't do much for me. It was actual my friend (who only reads romance novels that I recommend) that convince me to read Benedict and Sophie's story. Even when I started right away I thought I wasn't going to like the story as it so blantently referenced the Cindella plot devices. But once you get to their actual meeting you definately won't regret it. Their interactions and story was romantic and belivable and this woukd be my favorite story for this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Love it!

    All Julia Quinn books are so good! I love them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    LOVE the Bridgerton series! And this book is one of my favorites. I recommend reading them in order.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Butterflies.

    Fantastic twist on a story that has been redone several times-Quinn put her own twist on it, and it still gives me butterflies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    Loved it!

    I read this series in order one right after the other and was sad to see it end! I felt like I was leaving friends and family! I just love Julia Quinn!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    highly recommended

    Love this series. The family enteraction is great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    One of my favorite versions to the Cinderella story

    This book was a wonderful twist on the classic Cinderella story. From beginning to end I couldn't put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    One of my favorite romances!!

    I have read this book so many times and it never gets old. Never.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    In love with the book!

    Probably my favorite out of the Bridgerton Series...that good. I loved it so much. I re-read it too much! Sophie and Benedict are just precious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Offer From A Gentleman

    AN OFFER FROM A GENTLEMAN is the third book in Quinn's Bridgerton series, and her own version of the classic, Cinderella. I'm always interested to see new versions of classics, particularly this one (I'm a big Cinderella fan!), but I'm also hesitant. The remake of any great classic can be disastrous.

    However, this book was wonderful! What I liked the most about this book was that, even though Quinn does keep with some of the traditional details of the Cinderella tale, you won't find any glass slippers left behind. Rather, you will find subtle, more powerful gestures that Quinn has threaded in throughout the story. I was unaware that gloves could be so romantic.

    The characters themselves.

    Sophie is not a "sing-to-the-birds" type of Cinderella. In truth, who's really going to be singing after being denied, abandoned, attacked, locked away, and then thrown out in the cold? No one. Sophie held her head high and kept right on playing her cards, but she never sang to the birds. There's a strength and determination in this character that I admired.

    Benedict comes from a strong, well-developed family-many of who make a lot of appearances in this book-and is suddenly thrust into a confused state, in which his mind plays games with a moment from the past and the girl in front of him. I always enjoy seeing a confident, attractive male confused. It tugs the heart.

    All in all Quinn takes the traditional Cinderella story and twists it into a beautiful story about breaking social standards for love, and never settling for less than what one and one's future deserves. The book is utterly romantic, and Benedict had me continually melting in my seat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Benedict and Sofie- I LOVED IT!

    I just can't say enough about Julia Quinn and "The Bridgerton Series" family of books. I fell in love with them all. I truly liked the fairy tale romance of Benedict and Sofie. It was endearing to see that Benedict (a reserved, big hulk of a man) could have such tenderness and love for Sofie. It's what all fairy tales should be. I recommend the whole series to every romantic out there...you will not want to put them down so take a few days to yourself and enjoy these wonderful love stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    I am liking this Bridgerton Family a lot. Benedict was sweet but a little more reserved. I actually really liked Sophie. At first I was a little bit annoyed by the "Cinderella" story but it grew on me. Violet (the mom) is awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    "Ever After" Wonderful!

    I have to say, I almost didn't read this, because the beginning is almost identical to the movie "Ever After" (1998) and I thought, well great, I know what's going to happen. <BR/><BR/>But I am so glad I did read Sophie and Benedict's story, because it was absolutely WONDERFUL! and definitely not what I expected.<BR/><BR/>I got a lot of good laughs picturing Sophie and Benedict in some of the situations they get into and their conversations.<BR/><BR/>Julia Quinn is an Excellent writer, I've already got Colin's story sitting on the shelf beside me, ready to read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    Sophie is by far the best character in this book. Benedict seem

    Sophie is by far the best character in this book. Benedict seems to pale in comparison to his brothers Anthony &amp; Colin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Fu3l3x

    Love the continuing saga of the Bridgerton family but it was very annoying that half way through the book references to Bridgerton was mentioned as Crabtree all the way through the remainder of the book and not consistant Otherwise love the storyline

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 227 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12