Customer Reviews for

Officer Off Limits (A Line of Duty Novel)

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great Book! What a great book! Tessa Bailey is a terrific autho

Great Book!

What a great book! Tessa Bailey is a terrific author and I always look forward to her next release. Officer Off Limits is a really hot and quick romantic read. This book has just the right about of romance, suspense, steaminess and humor that a contemporary...
Great Book!

What a great book! Tessa Bailey is a terrific author and I always look forward to her next release. Officer Off Limits is a really hot and quick romantic read. This book has just the right about of romance, suspense, steaminess and humor that a contemporary romance reader wants in a well written package.

Officer Off limits is primarily about two people, kindergarten teacher Story Brooks and NYC detective and hostage negotiator Daniel Chase. Daniel works with Story's father Jack. Story lives in California, near her mother who raised her. Her life so far has been a little humdrum and rushing to NYC because her Dad has had a mild heart attack couldn't have come at a better time. Her fiancee just broke off their engagement two weeks before the wedding and Story definitely needs a change of scenery. She loves her estranged father and wants to help him get better and work on their relationship.

Story and Daniel hit it off immediately and their chemistry is tremendous. Feelings form instantaneously and they can't get enough of each other. Daniel's playboy reputation along with Story's insecurities tamper with their future together. Luckily, they are able to work through their issues and find true love.

This book causes the reader to swoon, tear and laugh hysterically. It is a great ride and should not be missed.

I was gifted this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

posted by ljtljtljt on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Just OK

I bought this book because I liked this author's previous books. But this one did not reach the level of the other ones. The story line was OK but the dialogs were quite cheesy at times to the point that I found myself laughing at the absurdity of what the guy was telli...
I bought this book because I liked this author's previous books. But this one did not reach the level of the other ones. The story line was OK but the dialogs were quite cheesy at times to the point that I found myself laughing at the absurdity of what the guy was telling the heroine. And this says a lot, because the scenes were supposed to be serious and I rarely laugh when reading a book. It is also true that my standards were really high when I started this book, as I had just finished reading 'The last hour', which was exceptional. Still, it shows that this book is just OK. Not one that I will read again, that's for sure.

posted by EmmaGR on June 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    This is the third Tessa Bailey book I've read and let me say she

    This is the third Tessa Bailey book I've read and let me say she is still impressing me.She has a great handle on ALPHA cops. 
    Story and Daniel are a hot couple. I love the 40% crime drama and 60% hot sexy romance of her books. You are not overwhelmed with a all romance all the time kinda book.
    They start as a summer fling but end up falling in love. A must read.
     

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿Have Mercy¿ pretty much says it all about this book.  If you¿



    “Have Mercy” pretty much says it all about this book.  If you’re looking for a smoking-hot, steamy, sexy read full of emotional and physical intensity that explodes on the page then this is a book you’ll enjoy. Although this is the third book in the series, it can be read as a stand alone. 



    Story Brooks is in shock, reeling from her fiance’s confession that he isn’t going to marry her, when she gets the call that her father, Jack, is in the hospital after suffering a heart attack.  Even though Story has been estranged from her father since she was a child, she hastily leaves California to travel across the country to New York. Not only can she reconnect with her father, but she can also escape her current misery.



    Soon after she arrives at the hospital, she unexpectedly meets Daniel Chase, a successful hostage-negotiator who knows his  “come-hither” good looks  are his invitation to flirt with and seduce the women around him. However, this smooth-talking womanizer becomes practically speechless when he first sees Story and is mesmerized by her beauty. 



    Even worse,  Story seems to be immune to his charm, and, in their first teasing conversation, she shocks Daniel in a way that lets him know his flirtation is meaningless to her. Ironically, though, Daniel only finds her more intriguing and desirable. Their initial stimulating conversation was what really snagged my attention and from that point on, I was hooked. 



    Daniel is surprised and disappointed when he realizes that Story is Jack’s daughter. Jack is one of the most famous hostage-negotiators in the country and has been a mentor to Daniel since he started his career.  Jack immediately warns him: “She is my daughter and she’s vulnerable after her breakup. I won’t have you taking advantage of her. She came here to heal, not to be your latest conquest. Hands. Off. My daughter.”
     
    Although Story has acted as if she’s uninterested in Daniel, in fact, the opposite is true:  “Every movement of his body screamed sex. Combined with his ladies, ladies, there’s enough of me to go around vibe, she could understand why women stopped to gawk at him on the sidewalk. She couldn’t deny his magnetism. The guarantee of satisfaction practically radiated from him.”


    Story is tired of her passive lifestyle, and being around Daniel makes brings out a brazen side of her that pushes him to his limits.  Impulsively, she offers him a sixty second challenge to prove his sexual prowess, and, when the countdown begins,  the sexual tension between the two builds into an intoxicatingly explosive, passionate relationship. 


    As they spend more time together, Daniel becomes desperate for her, wanting to become more than a rebound. Yet, the emotional and physical wounds he carries from his childhood have made him feel unworthy to be with a woman like Story.  Although Daniel projects confidence,  his pain runs deep, and his need for Story is so heart-breaking and sincere: “Belong to me, Story. Even if it’s just for a little while.” Story opens his eyes to everything he’s been missing in life.  She brings a light into his darkness. 


    Although Story didn’t come to New York looking for a relationship, the connection she feels to Daniel in such a short amount of time both excites and scares her. Can she really be falling in love with this strong, possessive man who is determined to make her his? Can she push beyond the shameful secrets he keeps hidden away? 


    Although there is some conflict involving external antagonists, the story really delves into  Story’s and Daniel’s internal conflicts as they must confront their fears and insecurities before they can even think of promising a commitment. 


    Bailey has created two multi-dimensional characters whose inner turmoil and transformation move the plot, and their struggles intensify into a suspenseful crisis that unifies all plot threads to bring closure to the story. I found the realistic ending to be emotionally satisfying. 


    I received a copy of this book from Entangled Publishing in exchange for an honest review. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In Officer Off Limits (Line of Duty #3) by Tessa Bailey, Kinderg

    In Officer Off Limits (Line of Duty #3) by Tessa Bailey, Kindergarten teacher Story Brooks has just been unceremoniously dumped by her fiance weeks before they are set to get married. She is of course shocked by the news but is strangely not as upset and she probably should be. But before she can wrap her head around what just happened, Story receives a call that her estranged father, hostage negotiator Jack Brooks, has had a heart attack and is in the hospital in NYC. She flies from California to visit him as he has no other family around and thankfully finds him in stable condition. Story gets hit on by a gorgeous man while at the hallway vending machine outside her father's hospital room. He is obviously used to women falling at his feet, and while she's flattered by the attention, she's still dealing with her breakup. So she excuses herself to go back to her father's room only to have the man follow her. Story and the handsome stranger both look surprised as Jack introduces his protege, Daniel Chase, to her.

    Story is worried and slightly amused when her father has Daniel show her around the neighborhood and to Jack's apartment. She feels a heightened connection to Daniel and in her current state after the break up, is afraid she won't think clearly while being in such close proximity to him. Intense sparks fly the first time they are alone together and Story knows she's in over her head. She should go back to California as soon as she can so she can distance herself from Daniel. But she can't seem to stay away from him. When new details emerge regarding her fiance Fisher, she's further confused about her situation and has to decide if she should take a chance on building a relationship with Daniel, or return home to create a new life for herself and stand on her own two feet.

    Daniel Chase is an expert hostage negotiator on the NYPD. Over the past few years he has learned from one of the best: Jack Brooks. Now unfortunately Jack is in the hospital and he's unsure how serious his condition really is. Daniel encounters a beautiful woman in the hospital hallway when he arrives to visit his mentor. He can't help but stop to engage in a bit of flirting. But what starts off as harmless bantering turns serious as he feels himself being drawn to the mystery woman. He never expected her to be Jack's daughter and is further caught off guard when he's told to keep an eye on her safety...but to keep his hands off of her or else. Story obviously has heard of his reputation as a womanizer and tries to keep him at bay but he loses his normal composure when she's near. He's never been driven to such emotional extremes as he is with Story and thinks he needs to put some distance between them but he only becomes more miserable with each passing day. Daniel finally makes a decision about his feelings for her only to be swept up in a dramatic turn of events that may alter their lives forever.

    I have fallen in love with Tessa Bailey's writing style while reading her Line of Duty series. Each book has been written with a good blend of witty banter, intense emotions and steamy love scenes. Officer Off Limits is no exception. Both Story and Daniel are interesting characters...especially when they're in the same room together! Story is confused after her recent break up and intends to learn to stand on her own. She's got a heart of gold and brings out the best in Daniel, believing in the innate goodness in him. And Daniel, being an expert in reading people, feels like he isn't good enough to catch a wonderful woman like Story. It was fun watching these two fall in love and seeing Story give in to her inner vixen. I highly suggest this novel if you love seriously hot romance, an alpha male who talks dirty but is really at the mercy of his woman, and a story with an unexpected twist at the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2014

    The best of the series so far. I love the fact that each can be

    The best of the series so far. I love the fact that each can be read as a stand alone. I have to admit that the storyline surprised me a few times - which is an awesome thing as a reader. I'm not a fan of predictability. Daniel is a hostage negotiator. His mentor (Jack) lands himself in the hospital. Jack's daughter, Story, goes to support him. When Daniel and Story meet, sparks fly - and she calls him out on his lines more often than not. I loved it. They can't seem to keep their hands off of each other. Some of his tricks...let's just say I was a bit stunned that they hit the mark so accurately. I never thought I would see one of them in a book. The plot twist at the end had my head spinning. This is a must read in my opinion. Love can conquer all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Officer Off

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




    Officer Off Limits by Tessa Bailey
    Book Three of the Line of Duty series
    Publisher: Brazen
    Publication Date: June 10, 2013
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: Bought from Amazon




    ***Warning: this is an adult book, and for the eyes of mature readers***




    Summary (from Goodreads):




    His need to possess her is non-negotiable. 




    Story Brooks’ fiancé just called off their wedding two weeks before the happy day. As if that isn't bad enough, her semi-estranged father, an infamous NYPD hostage negotiator, has suffered a heart attack. Not wanting to examine her lack of emotion over the broken engagement, she hops on a plane to reconnect with her father before it’s too late.




    Playboy hostage negotiator Daniel Chase has never, not once, been refused by a woman, so when a debate over hospital snack foods with a delectable kindergarten teacher ends in flat-out rejection, he makes it his mission to seduce her. His only obstacle? She’s the daughter of his mentor who implicitly forbade Daniel from pursuing her.




    Despite her father’s warnings and Daniel’s troubled past, Daniel and Story can’t resist their intense attraction to one another. But when the reason for her fiancé’s abrupt wedding cancellation comes to light, can Story and Daniel's already forbidden relationship survive?




    What I Liked:




    I bought four Brazen books during their Brazen Bash back in July (I know, it's been that long since I read this book!), and of the four of the books, I think this one was my favorite. Maybe. I really liked this book! It was recommended to me by Jessirae from Words, Pages, and Books, so this one was the first of the four that I bought, and read. Back in July.




    I absolutely LOVE how this book stars. Story and her soon-to-be ex-fiance are in a restaurant. A seafood restaurant. Story HATES seafood. Fisher is such a jerk. He takes her to a place she won't enjoy, forces her to sit through his little I'm-breaking-off-the-engagement speech, and doesn't even let her get dessert! I love how Story handles the situation... she is hilarious!




    When Story and Daniel meet at the hospital, sparks immediately fly. It's almost expected that after they formally meet each other - as the boss's daughter, and the father's co-worker - and they are alone, things happen. Steamy things happen. Both of them seem to have zero control when they're around each other.




    It's funny how they go through the entire story tip-toeing around one another - especially when they're around Story's father. I love how Bailey constructs the scenes where Story and Daniel get together. It's clear to me that they are completely physically attracted to each other; at the same time, I can see how they begin to care for each other.




    The end: I KNEW there was something up with Fisher, and Story's father, and EVERYTHING. I knew it, I knew it, I knew it! It wasn't obvious, I'll give Bailey that, but oh my gosh! Story's father is... sneaky. And Fisher is one big JERK. Poor Daniel! Poor Story! I'm glad they got their happy ending though. I'm glad Story made it work for them. 




    That was something I really liked - the guy didn't drop everything for the girl. It was the other way around! Sort of. I don't want to spoil anything. There's a happy ending, just trust me.




    What I Did Not Like:




    This is something I'm going to complain about with all the Brazen titles, but I wish they were longer! I generally buy the longest one - the ones that are close to 200 pages or longer. But seriously! Full lengths novels would be fantastic.




    Also, I was kind of annoyed with Story and her indecisiveness with Daniel. I'm glad that she made the decision that she did, in the end. But I seriously could not understand her expecting Daniel to make the decision. Poor Daniel... oh, well. Everything ended nicely! 




    Would I Recommend It:




    Out of all the Brazen titles, I'd probably recommend this one the most! I loved it! Granted, I haven't read any of the newest titles yet. But this one was fabulous! But seriously... this is a very adult title. You are warned!




    Rating:




    4 stars. I need to go back and read the other two books in this series! Good thing I don't have to read each one to follow the series. That's the beautiful thing about companion novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    good story

    i liked this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Great read!

    Really enjoyed it and would recommend to friends...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Help..

    Hey how many pages???

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Rockstar

    Lionclaw

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    OFFICER OFF LIMITS is the third storyline in Tessa Bailey's cont

    OFFICER OFF LIMITS is the third storyline in Tessa Bailey's contemporary romance LINE OF DUTY series. Each novel (so far) is a stand-alone so there is no worry about cohesion and connection. This is Story and Daniel's tale.
    Story and Daniel's meeting is both accidental and fate. From opposite ends of the country, the couple will be pulled into a sensual vortex of want and need from their first meeting. Story, needing time to adjust to her fiance's final words, heads to New York to visit her ailing father. Never expecting to meet someone so soon, Story is sexually aware of her attraction and desire for her father's protégé and fellow hostage negotiator Daniel Chase.
    The attraction between Story and Daniel is instant. From the first time they lay eyes on each other to their first erotic and spontaneous encounter, the couple is lost in a world of sexual heat, emotional turmoil and sensual need. And keeping their relationship a secret from Story's father is constantly on their mind. The sex is hot and graphic with little room for interpretation. But I am happy to report that although the visual is colorful, Tessa has the ability to write an erotic love scene without the use of certain four letter words.
    There is some back story to Daniel's life that is slowly revealed over the course of the book. We learn that although Story's life was never perfect being raised by a single parent, Daniel's early life was much more traumatic and dangerous making him the man and officer he is today.
    OFFICER OFF LIMITS is another interesting and fascinating storyline with a little humor and plenty of steam in the bedroom-or stairwell-or backseat-or--well, you get the picture. There are a few moments of suspense as a small secondary story builds throughout the novel and comes to fruition in the final pages of the book, but overall it is a story about two people mutually attracted to one another, who give it their all knowing that at anytime it could all end with a phone call or the discovery of their ill-timed relationship. If you love a contemporary romance storyline where the sex scenes are passionate and hawt; the relationship is adult without the angst of perceived betrayal; and the ability of the author to pull you in until you become one with the characters then OFFICER OFF LIMITS is right for you.
    READING ORDER:1. Protecting What's His2. His Risk To Take3. Officer Off Limits
    see all of my reviews at : thereadingcafe(dot)com

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Officer Off Limits by Tessa Bailey is smoldering hot! Tessa Bail

    Officer Off Limits by Tessa Bailey is smoldering hot!
    Tessa Bailey writes a smoldering hot romance.  Her hero's are sexy, domineering alpha cops.  Once they set their sights on a woman there is no turning back.
    Officer Off Limits is the third book in the Line of Duty series.  The book is sexy, fast paced, and well written! I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2