Customer Reviews for

Officer Off Limits

Average Rating 4.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great Book! What a great book! Tessa Bailey is a terrific autho

Great Book!

What a great book! Tessa Bailey is a terrific author and I always look forward to her next release. Officer Off Limits is a really hot and quick romantic read. This book has just the right about of romance, suspense, steaminess and humor that a contemporary...
Great Book!

What a great book! Tessa Bailey is a terrific author and I always look forward to her next release. Officer Off Limits is a really hot and quick romantic read. This book has just the right about of romance, suspense, steaminess and humor that a contemporary romance reader wants in a well written package.

Officer Off limits is primarily about two people, kindergarten teacher Story Brooks and NYC detective and hostage negotiator Daniel Chase. Daniel works with Story's father Jack. Story lives in California, near her mother who raised her. Her life so far has been a little humdrum and rushing to NYC because her Dad has had a mild heart attack couldn't have come at a better time. Her fiancee just broke off their engagement two weeks before the wedding and Story definitely needs a change of scenery. She loves her estranged father and wants to help him get better and work on their relationship.

Story and Daniel hit it off immediately and their chemistry is tremendous. Feelings form instantaneously and they can't get enough of each other. Daniel's playboy reputation along with Story's insecurities tamper with their future together. Luckily, they are able to work through their issues and find true love.

This book causes the reader to swoon, tear and laugh hysterically. It is a great ride and should not be missed.

I was gifted this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

posted by ljtljtljt on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Just OK

I bought this book because I liked this author's previous books. But this one did not reach the level of the other ones. The story line was OK but the dialogs were quite cheesy at times to the point that I found myself laughing at the absurdity of what the guy was telli...
I bought this book because I liked this author's previous books. But this one did not reach the level of the other ones. The story line was OK but the dialogs were quite cheesy at times to the point that I found myself laughing at the absurdity of what the guy was telling the heroine. And this says a lot, because the scenes were supposed to be serious and I rarely laugh when reading a book. It is also true that my standards were really high when I started this book, as I had just finished reading 'The last hour', which was exceptional. Still, it shows that this book is just OK. Not one that I will read again, that's for sure.

posted by EmmaGR on June 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    HOLLY HOTNESS!!! Story Brooks¿ life isn`s all peachy right now.

    HOLLY HOTNESS!!!

    Story Brooks’ life isn`s all peachy right now. Fiancé just called off their wedding and her semi-estranged father had a heart attack. So she immediately hops on a plane to see her father.
    Daniel Chase is a hostage negotiator, he has playboy reputation and all women have hard time saying no to him. Well...except Story. She rejects him, so he makes his mission to seduce her. But there is one big broblem. Her father is his booss and mentor, who forbade Daniel from pursuing her.


    OMG!! This bok is HOT, HOT and HOT! Tessa Bailey is the queen of dirty talking! Her writing is amazing! I liked both characters. They are both funny, sexy romantic. And the sex scenes. Wow!!

    I couldn`t put this book down! It`s a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    Story & Daniel are perfect for each other. Hot from start to

    Story & Daniel are perfect for each other. Hot from start to finish! Tessa's an amazing writer & I'm hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    This is a book I'll definately want to read again.  5 stars all

    This is a book I'll definately want to read again.  5 stars all the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Wow!

    Loved this book. The first Tessa I have read, but now i am loading up on more! Love the characters and I have to admit this is one of the few romances that really made me jealous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Loved it!

    Wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Recommend!

    I liked the playful dialogue between the main characters. I recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved Tessa Bailey¿s contemporary romance, Officer Off Limits,

    I loved Tessa Bailey’s contemporary romance, Officer Off Limits, it drew me in from the first page. 




    When we first meet Story Brooks, a kindergarten teacher living in San Diego, she is having a very bad day.  While having dinner with Fisher, her fiancée, he breaks their engagement two weeks before their wedding.    On the way home from dinner, Story’s phone rings and she is told her father, who she hasn’t seen in ten years, is in the hospital with a heart attack. She decides to fly to New York to see her father.  Story’s inner dialogue during the breakup and her reaction to her fiancée in the restaurant is hilarious.  Story is a strong, stubborn female with a smart mouth.




    Daniel Chase is a hostage negotiator for the city of New York’s police department.  He is the protégé of Jack Brooke, one of the best hostage negotiators in the country and Story’s dad.   Daniel is a playboy with commitment problems.   He doesn’t have a clue how to have a relationship with a woman.  I couldn’t help falling in love with Daniel. He is a gruff voiced, tough, alpha male who knows how to satisfy a woman.  He has issues, but they only make him more endearing. 




    Story’s first meeting with Daniel is at a vending machine at the hospital and wow what a meeting. Daniel tries to flirt with Story and she shots him down.   I loved Story’s snarky attitude with Daniel, he isn’t used to women treating him that way, and isn’t sure what to think.




    Officer Off Limits is a fast paced, well written story.   I loved the sexual tension between Story and Daniel and their witty banter.  I couldn’t wait to find out what would happen next and there were many laugh-out-load moments.  The beginning of the book was a fun ride however, the ending was a little disappointing for me, but I still loved the book.  You don’t want to miss this!




    Reviewed by Karen for Cocktails and Books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Another one!

    The ups and downs of the characters in this book kept me wanted to turn the pages and not put it down. Never would have guess the twist towards the end. Loved the book and highly recommend the book as well as the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Loved this Book!

    Loved this Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Officer Off Limits is the third book in Tessa Bailey¿s Line of D

    Officer Off Limits is the third book in Tessa Bailey’s Line of Duty Series and if you’ve followed my reviews, you know I’m a huge fan of Tessa and her writing.  I was beyond excited to get my hands on this book and after finishing it I can tell you….Tessa has done it again!  This book was fantastic!
    You know that saying “when it rains, it pours”? Well, never has that saying been truer than it is for Story Brooks right now.  Her fiancé just dumped her, two weeks before their wedding, and now she has just gotten a phone call that her larger-than-life NYPD hostage negotiator dad, who she doesn’t exactly have a relationship with, has had a heart attack and is in the hospital. Who knows, maybe the unplanned trip to see her father in NYC just may be what she needs to gain some clarity on her life and make some decisions on what to do next with her future.
    NYPD hostage negotiator Daniel Chase is used to taking orders from Jack Brooks…after all, Jack has taken him under his wing from day one and has taught him every thing he knows about hostage situations and negotiations.  Now, after unknowingly meeting Jack’s daughter, Story, in the hospital vending area, he has explicit instructions from Jack to stay away from her.  Usually Daniel wouldn’t think twice about obeying Jack’s orders but this is not an order he can follow.  Add Story shooting down his usually successful flirt tactics into the equation and Daniel is now even more determined to get to Story a whole lot better even if it means disobeying orders and ignoring all sorts of lines not meant to be crossed.
    Story and Daniel can’t deny the immediate attraction they both feel when they meet over vending machine snack choices but they don’t have much time to explore the feelings before Story is due to head back home to California.  With so many things working against them, will they be able to ignore all the reasons they shouldn’t act on the attraction and instead, focus on all the reasons they should?
    So I’ll say it again, this book was fantastic!  FANTASTIC! Just when you think you’ve encountered all types of alpha males, and there can’t possibly any more facets to add to an alpha male to make them stand out above the rest, you get a new release from Tessa and BAM! welcome to your new alpha male obsession.  Daniel was scrumptious.  Drop dead gorgeous, he is all gruff and tough on the outside but holds a soft and slightly insecure inside that made me love him from the very beginning.  He has the admirable quality of knowing his weaknesses and, although not always wanting to admit them, does when it was warranted.  Story is a perfect pairing for him.  She is witty, bright, strong and is willing to listen to that little voice in her head, even when it means she has to step outside of her comfort zone.  The chemistry between them is undeniable and pulls the reader in and refuses to let go until the very last page.  Delectable.  Their story is a journey of finding happiness, coming to terms with the past and learning to trust and to love.  So damn good!
    If you haven’t read anything by Tessa, you REALLY need to…like, stop reading this review and get to the bookstore or go online and buy a Tessa Bailey book right now.  She writes hot, sexy, and delightfully dirty dialogue like no other….add in some romance, mix in some drama like Tessa does and you’ve ALWAYS got a winner in my book! I can add Daniel to my list of fave book guys and this story to the list of books I will recommend time and time again.  Thank you, Tessa, for another fantabulous read!
    *I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great story and awesome author. Get it and you won't be disappoi

    Great story and awesome author. Get it and you won't be disappointed. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Awesome

    Love this series. Hope it continues

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    I am so digging the Line of Duty series right now. And well, dir

    I am so digging the Line of Duty series right now. And well, dirty-talking, sexually bold heroes just will never get old for me.

    If Entangled Publishing wanted to release this series in paperback, I would not shed a tear at all. In fact, I'd probably jump and click my heals together. Difficult task since I prefer terra firma, but whatever.

    So, you can take that to mean, I loved Officer Off Limits. Daniel, Daniel, Daniel. Ms. Bailey has delivered another swoony alpha male for my literary consumption. The chemistry between Daniel and Story is off the charts. And I loved that this ladies' man had finally met his match with Story.

    I've said it before and I'll say it again, Tessa Bailey definitely knows how to write a strong, sexually-charged alpha male who knows what he wants. Just keep writing them, Ms. Bailey, and I think we'll both be happy! Now, I can't wait to get my hands on the next alpha in line.

    If you're looking for quick, enjoyable reads with lots of steamy encounters and potential fictional boyfriends, give the Line of Duty series a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    From the first page I couldnt stop reading! This book gets you h

    From the first page I couldnt stop reading! This book gets you hooked until the end!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    I really loved this book. I love a book that can make me laugh

    I really loved this book. I love a book that can make me laugh right out loud, which I did more than once. The story was delightful, the sex was hot, the characters were likable and plausible and I can't wait for more books from Tessa Bailey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    Wow!! Tessa Bailey does it again with a wonderful story in her L

    Wow!! Tessa Bailey does it again with a wonderful story in her Line of Duty series. As the previous 2 books His Risk To Take and Protecting What's His, Officer off Limits has a fabulous story line!! From a Kindergarten Teacher that has "lost herself" to be what her fiance wanted her to be, to be dumped 2 weeks prior to her wedding, she leaves to go to NY to see about her father, to meeting Alpha male Daniel that has a dark past and feels he will never belong to anyone. The story that develops between the 2 is both heart warming, tearful and absolutely over the top. Can not wait for the future stories to continue!!! Thanks for your wonderful books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Wow, just wow. This new book from Tessa Bailey shocked the heck

    Wow, just wow. This new book from Tessa Bailey shocked the heck out of me - in the best possible way. All her books are funny, insanely sexy, romantic and thrilling, but this book took my breath away by its sheer tenderness. The romance between Daniel and Story cannot be missed. Daniel was introduced in Tessa's last book, the fabulous novella His Risk to Take (also a 5 star FYI). I knew he would be hot, dashing and fun, but in Officer Off Limits we see a man with a deep back story and wounds that need a lot of healing. And Story - LOVE her. Contemporary romances often disappoint me in the heroine department; whereas, Tessa's heroines do the opposite - they are strong, intense, funny and each intense in their own way. the drama between Story and Daniel is natural and believable. Nothing forced here. And the sex - steeeeeamy! As always, Tessa's sex scenes are the best in the biz, but she manages to make them each unique and they move the story along. You can read this as a standalone, but why would you? The first two books in this series are each wonderful in their own right and the next promises to be off the charts great, too. Thanks Ms. Bailey. You continue to be my favorite author out there today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    In Officer Off Limits we meet Story Brooks (yes, that is her nam

    In Officer Off Limits we meet Story Brooks (yes, that is her name and I love it!!!) who is being dumped by her fiancé two weeks before the wedding. The evening her fiancé announces the wedding is off, Story receives a phone call from a hospital in New York informing her that her estranged father, Jack, has had a heart attack and she is listed as his next-of-kin. Story jumps on a plane and heads to New York to be with her father. While perusing vending machine snack foods, our hero, Daniel Chase, sees Story and life as he knows it is over. He flirts shamelessly with Story over snack machine vending choices, they banter back and forth and he invites her to dinner, only to learn Story is the daughter of his mentor. Jack quickly and efficiently puts the brakes on Daniel’s attraction and places Story firmly in the ‘don’t look and don’t touch’ box.

    Daniel owes so much to Jack and has every intention of keeping his hands to himself but his fascination with Story weakens his resolve to do the right thing. Story, tired of always doing what is right, being the good girl and having everyone plan and control her life, decides that Daniel is just what she needs to recover from her humiliating break-up. Daniel makes her body sing and makes her feel things her fiancé never made her feel. So begins their love story. It’s one full of sexy, playful verbal exchanges and quite a few intense make-out sessions. We see Daniels resolve wither away in the face of Story’s blatant sensuality and provocative dares. Story turns Daniel on like no other woman has and he craves that after a lifetime of meaningless sexual exploits. Story in unable to resist Daniel’s smooth charm and panty-melting touches after years with a man who was slowly molding her into his idea of a perfect wife, causing Story to forget the kind of woman she used to be. I love the back and forth, push and pull between these two. You are never quite sure what is going to come out of the other person’s mouth and their witty exchanges leave you breathless, almost to the point of fainting. From Karaoke to baseball to charity galas, we experience a roller-coaster ride with these two which culminates in a twist I never, ever saw coming. Throw in a stressful and gripping moment full of suspense and this book just keeps you hooked from the very first sentence to the very last word. And Story’s father, Jack? I can’t help it. I’m in love with the wily old man. I also have to applaud the author on her amazing ability to have made me feel like I was in New York. I felt like I was seeing the sights and experiencing the smells all through her book and it was a delightful journey to take. I give this book 5 of 5 stars. It kept me entertained, on edge and completely, hopelessly in-love with Story and Daniel from beginning to end.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Tessa Bailey does it again! In her latest book, Officer Off Limi

    Tessa Bailey does it again! In her latest book, Officer Off Limits, she introduces us to Officer Daniel Chase, a hotshot hostage negotiator with the NYPD. He's 6'3" of rock solid alpha male. Yum!! He has a long list of female conquests and plans to keep it that way. That is, until he meets Story.

    Story is a kindergarten teacher from San Diego. She just got dumped by her fiancé 2 weeks before the wedding. When she finds out her dad Jack (whom she's had little contact with over the years) has had a heart attack, she decides that this is the perfect time to head to New York and reconnect with him.

    Jack is a world renowned hostage negotiator and Daniel is his protégé. Jack knows Daniel is a player and tells him in no uncertain terms that Story is completely off limits. But neither can deny their intense attraction to one another.

    "Belong to me, Story. Even if it's just for a little while."

    And boy do things get steamy! Daniel is a possessive and protective alpha male with a dirty mouth. But as Story gets to know him and his past, she finds out there's more to Daniel than what's on the surface. Is he really just a rebound relationship like she thought or do her feelings run deeper?

    "Tonight, she'd gone home with someone she thought was an expert player, but she'd woken up next to someone else entirely. Someone she hadn't been anticipating."

    If you've enjoyed Tessa Bailey's other dirty talking heroes from Protecting What's His and His Risk to Take, I guarantee you will want to meet Daniel. But don't get any ideas, Daniel is all mine!!! :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    I love this book so freaking much. Tessa Bailey only seems to ge

    I love this book so freaking much. Tessa Bailey only seems to get better with each release, and OOL is no exception. Daniel is conflicted and damaged and hotter than hot. I loved seeing how Story turned his entire world on its head and gave him a new insight. Story was amazing and had me laughing out loud throughout the book. 


    If you're looking for something hot and endearing and hilarious, this is the book for you!!! 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4