Customer Reviews for

The Officer Says I Do

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A- rating...

    My Review:
    I really loved this book. As an Air Force officer's wife for 20 years, it was like going back into that life (he retired 2 years ago). The life of a military wife is definitely a different thing and Jeanette NAILED all the little intricacies and annoyances about it. Not that it's all bad because it's certainly not....there are just so many little details about the life that no one else in the civilian world has to deal with and as a spouse, you're "expected" to deal with them all. That includes a LOT of get-togethers and functions where you have to be "on".

    For Skye, who grew up in a commune as a pacifist with a very hippy lifestyle, this is most definitely foreign territory. But she wants her marriage to work with Tim, so she tries to tone down her normal personality to fit in...yeah, you can see how that's going to work out. She's a free spirit. Follows fate where it leads her and has the style of a gypsy. She has a zest for life that Tim can't resist, although she's nothing like who he'd normally choose to become involved with.

    As a fourth generation Marine, Tim just accepts that this is the way life is. Yes, he absolutely hates it when his commander gets into his family life, but he knows eventually he'll get a new CO who will be easier to deal with. He doesn't see what it's doing to Skye or her natural exuberance for life. He doesn't see that she needs his reassurance that he likes the woman she actually is, not the personality she has to put on for the military functions. He's methodical and precise. He's a detail guy and good at his job. He doesn't ever "let loose" so it's as much a surprise to him as anyone else when he loses segments of his night in Vegas and has no idea that he's married.

    There was so much about this book that I loved. I loved the friendships. For every awful person you have to deal with in the military, there are another ten that are wonderful who make all the pain worth it and can commiserate in a bad situation. Jeanette showed these friendships wonderfully and beautifully.

    I really enjoyed this "opposites attract" story. I think Tim and Skye make a wonderful couple and I can't wait to read Jeremy and Madison's story in December. This is shaping up to be an absolutely fabulous series. Bravo, Jeanette!! You got it right. A great story for glimpses into the military life. It most definitely resonated with me.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    Fate is defined as “that which is inevitable predetermined

    Fate is defined as “that which is inevitable predetermined; destiny”. Add that to the “Opposites Attract” statement and we got ourselves a fun, entertaining and a cleverly written romance novel!

    However, this isn’t your typically story where the “tidy, everything in its place” hero and “carefree, sometimes flakey” heroine realize that there’s no point in opposing fate and succumb to what they’ve been fighting against at the very end of the story. Instead, in “The Officer Says “I Do””, both characters, Capt. Tim O’Shay and Skye McDermott get to know each other throughout the entire story and try their best to not let the “opposite” side of each other create the line that divides them.

    A Captain in the Marine Corp, Tim O’Shay is a third generation Marine, who knows the ‘ins and outs’ of the Corp and what it takes to be a good Marine. He is the “responsible one” among his friends and holds them and himself to high standards. While on a short leave prior to a deployment in Vegas, Fate deals her cards (pun intended) and places Skye McDermott in the direct line of sight of Capt. O’Shay! The connection is made and sparks fly.

    Jeanette Murray, author, was successful in creating two characters with convictions and individualized identities. Our Marine Alpha male is strong, intelligent, serious and a ‘follow the rules’ kind of a guy. However, you’ll like him from the very beginning. Our “free spirit” heroine is just that, free spirited but smart with a strong sense of responsibility, loyalty, and understanding of human relationships. There was nothing “flakey” about Skye (love the name by the way!!). It was nice to see them work at their relationship and understand that it wasn’t going to be an overnight fix. Which reigns true with any relationship, one must work for it and at it in order to be happy and have it be a success.

    I really liked the plot, the characters and the pace of the story! I could relate in one way or another to each of the main and supporting characters. I also enjoyed the dynamic of each of the relationships (family and friends and heck, even the “enemy”) and look forward to getting to know them further! Jeanette, did a great job of laying the foundation work to her next book, “Duty Calls” (Available January 2013) with Jeremy and Madison’s story! Can’t wait to see how their story unfolds.

    Please visit Reading Between the Wine Book Club for this and other book reviews!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Personal opinion, it was just okay

    I tried reading this book, but found it just so-so. Not into the characters very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Desere Book provided by NetGalley for review Review

    Reviewed by Desere
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book


    This was the first Jeanette Murry book I read and I will certainly be coming back for more! Imagine a girls night out turning into saying ‘I do’ in Vegas to one seriously hot and very strict Marine!

    Yeah I know sounds like a that will never happen kind of scene, well in this book it does and boy oh boy was it hot, so hot that the pages were on fire!

    These two character are completely opposite from each other, Timothy is the straight as narrow Marine with a no nonsense attitude and Skye is your care free hippie kind of girl who believes in fate.

    Throughout the book they try everything to save a marriage that was brought on in less than 12 hours. The book was simply brilliant and I recommend this every lover of reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Boring and unbelievable. How can someone get married drunk in Ve

    Boring and unbelievable. How can someone get married drunk in Vegas, without even know each other and he was the only one drunk, she says yes with just one kiss. Even when they tried to make the marriage work, I couldn't find much to like in the book, put it down many times. I don't know if I'll be reading the next in the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Good read!!

    I really liked this book! Looking forward to the next in series coming in jan. She also has another under kat murray, it's either just out or coming soon. Defineatly an author worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Good Romance with tears n laughs

    I loved it. Hope the other two mwn have a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Being first in a series I found some good things about this book

    Being first in a series I found some good things about this book, and
    other thing that kind of bugged me. I would give her a second chance.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Awesome!!

    I really enjoyed this book! I liked that it was a different kind of HEA story. I liked how they both decided to make a go of things. Tim is such a hottie! I liked how independent Skye was, but how she was willing to change to make sure Tim's job was jeopardized. Tim was great, too! It was such a great story that I hope we get to hear more about these two in the book. I can't wait to see what happens with Madison, Jeremy, Dwayne, and Veronica!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    fun, romantic, and delightful

    Captain Timothy O’Shay and his best friends are on pre-deployment leave. They are having one last hurrah before heading to Afghanistan. Tim, always the responsible and level headed one decides to loosen up and have fun for a change.

    Skye McDermott, the daughter of modern day hippies, is colorful, free spirited and a big believer in Fate.

    What should have been just a very hot one night stand turns into so much more. Unfortunately for Tim though he doesn't remember much from the night before. So, before Skye wakes up he quietly creeps out.

    A week later Skye is determined to hunt her husband down and give the marriage a try. She packs up, quits her job and heads for Camp Pendleton. Just one little problem, Tim has no clue he has a wife.

    I loved this story. It was so sweet. Tim and Skye are complete opposites, but it works for them. She's exactly what he needs and didn't know it. They are both devoted to making it work. She believes it’s Fate and he doesn’t believe in calling it quits. They both rather give it a try and fail, then not try at all. They have so much to overcome. I loved watching them get to know each other and fall in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Very good read- I enjoyed reading Tim and Skye's story and gett

    Very good read- I enjoyed reading Tim and Skye's story and getting to know all the supporting characters. First time I have read this author and I definitely will be watching for more from her. Next book in this series coming in January 2013 will be Jeremy and Madison's story. Can't wait to see how Madison finally snags Jeremy..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Good

    Good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1