BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Official Book Club Selection: A Memoir According to Kathy Griffin

Average Rating 4.5
( 381 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(214)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 382 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I'm pretty much in love with Kathy Griffin

    I've been watching My Life on the D-List for a while and have always been a fan of Kathy, so I was very excited for her book! It reads just like how she talks, and I loved that there were also very personal, serious moments such as descriptions of her father and marriage/divorce. I'd also suggest getting the audio book - I did and it's fun to hear how she reads her own book and adds some hilarious personal comments as well. This book made me laugh out loud, and I can always appreciate that. People either seem to love or hate Kathy, but if you love her like I do, you will LOVE this book too! :-)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Classic Kathy!

    I wolfed this book down like a bear claw! Ms. Kathy Griffin comes off as not just fiercely funny, which we all knew, but also kind, bright, eloquent and beautiful, inside and out. It's really a wonderful, surprisingly moving and honest book. Oprah, take note! And if you don't agree, then you can suck it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Kathy is genius with this book...

    An awesome book...I have never laughed so hard! There is a great balance of humor, substance, and even a few spots that have you emotionally tied to the book. You really learn a lot about Kathy and her past. Awesome book! It is my official book club selection!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm a fan

    I think Kathy's hilarious and her book didn't let me down. I was surprised by how frank and personal she was about her life. I didn't expect that but it added to the book. Kathy seems like a very nice person too, along with being a great comedian. This is definitely worth reading if you like her comedy or just enjoy reading fun books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Female Comedians ARE Funny

    I wouldn't call myself Kathy's biggest fan; I assumed this, like a lot of comedy memoirs, would be a quick and easy read and would make me feel better about myself than if I picked up an US Weekly or People magazine. Kathy's introspective look and honesty came as a surprise, and I was impressed at her drive to make it finally onto that D-list. Her chapter on a college show where she performed with Andy Dick was uncomfortable but a great addition and I really thought she handled the chapter on the break-up of her marriage with a lot of class. I doubt I'll be tuning into her show, but I do look forward to future books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    Official Book Club Selection A Memoir According to Kathy Griffin

    Official Book Club Selection A Memoir According To Kathy Griffin, was written by Kathy Griffin, comedian, actress, and now author, about her life on the "D- List" and how her hard work through life got her there. If you've heard of Kathy Griffin, you know she's not afraid to speak her mind. In this book, you hear about the craziest things she's ever said and learn the true reason behind them all. Through her story, Kathy also gives advice if you're trying to make it in the world of Hollywood. She tells you everything and holds back nothing. You learn about her family and her relationship with her brother Kenny. She also talks about some of the most influential celebrities that she's met and opens up about her plastic surgery which nearly killed her.

    Written to get on Oprah's "Official Book Club", where the name of the memoir derives from, this book tells the story of her life in a way that makes you laugh almost the entire time. However, she describes parts of her life that really make you empathize with her and could change your whole perspective. I really enjoyed this book, and no part of it left me wanting to put it down. If you've ever heard of Kathy Griffin, love Kathy Griffin, or don't know about Kathy Griffin, you should definitely read this book. Even if you despise Kathy Griffin, I recommend this book to you, because your whole view of her might be changed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Kathy Griffin's Book Is Not Just Funny But Also Touching and Provocative

    There are plenty of laughs in Griffin's autobiography, but there are also plenty of insights and revelations. The discussion of her brother's problems was especially interesting. I also enjoyed reading about her adventures on the comedy club scene. And no one name drops like D-list Kathy Griffin!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    I would actually give this book about 4.5 stars. It was pretty

    I would actually give this book about 4.5 stars. It was pretty darn good. The parts I had issues with were personal to me, so it's not something that other people might not be bothered by. While the book as a whole was, of course, funny (I mean we're talking about a book by Kathy Griffin people!) I was surprised to see some more deep thoughts and sadness sprinkled in. Perhaps that was silly to imagine that someone's life would be without sadness simply because they are a funny person and always seem happy on the outside. I'm glad that Kathy included these things in her book and the way she told them wasn't funny. It would have made her seem ingenuine. All in all, this being the first "memoir" I've read, I was impressed. It's made me rethink my stance on non-fiction reading. Thanks Ms. Griffin!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    I could NOT put this memoir down. I liked Kathy Griffin's standu

    I could NOT put this memoir down. I liked Kathy Griffin's standup when I was a kid. I had no idea her life was like that at all. Her brother the pedo and drug addict, and her family stuck up for him. GOD. Her husband stole money her money. A very good memoir but I did skip the Steve Wozniak emails. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Delicious!

    I thought it was great and it made me hungry for cake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    More to the book than I thought.

    Very good book, comedy and serious. Some sides of Kathy Griffin I didn't think were there. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    great read

    Kathy doesn't hold back! A great and fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Thought it would be better

    An "ok" read..just thought it would be more insightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Bwahahaha!!

    I enjoyed this so much I accidently read it twice and didn't even realize it until I was over half way thru it for the second time ;) I felt like I was hanging out with my best snarky girlfriend & loved every minute of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Awesome.

    What a great read. This book really has substance, and its super funny. I would definitly recommend this book to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    if you love Kathy, then you will love this book!

    she's funny, witty, and honest. from heartfelt stories to crazy silly stories, this book was a great read. she's not affraid to make fun of herself and show how she is sometimes the butt jokes. i really loved it. you feel like she's your new best friend, opening up about her crazy life that you hadn't known before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Great book

    You will like Kathy even more after reading this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Funny

    She is a humorous writer and person..however, sometimes I am unsure if she is telling the complete truth. One can only hope but some of her tales are so unbelievable! Great read for the plane or beach!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended - Laughed out loud!

    I love this book. Its very Kathy - funny and real. I love Kathy and I've watched her stand up and reality show for years. This book gets very detailed on her life - even the not-so-funny parts of it. If you love Kathy, you will love this book! ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You might not like her, but you've heard of her.

    I read this completely on a whim with no expectation of what this Kathy Griffin was about. I shortly learned that she was all business. What I admire most my new-found favorite comedian, is her honesty. Whether you agree with what she believes/says/does, you have to respect the fact that she knows herself well enough to stick to whatever she's going with. She deserves what she has and doesn't take that for granted, that's a rare quality with stardom! Most of all, read this for a good laugh because she is HILARIOUS.
    XXOO

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 382 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20