Customer Reviews for

Official Book Club Selection: A Memoir According to Kathy Griffin

Average Rating 4.5
( 380 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(214)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 381 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 20
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Insightful

    I never really knew how much she struggled. I totally get her now and like her even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Iffy.

    As someone previously stated, I expected it to be funny and amusing like Chelsea Handler's books. I just can't get into this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Very Funny!

    Just a really funny read, especially if you are a Kathy fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    Very Good

    She rambles a bit in the beginning but quickly get's it together. All in all it was a really good, funny book! If you watch my life on the D list, you'll understand it more and love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    Fantastic read, and VERY hard to put down!

    I knew Kathy had done alot with her life, and this book shows she has worked hard to get where she is. Like her or not, she's here to stay and I am glad for that! I simply loved this book, and almost peed my pants a few times...ok through most of the book. I can't wait for her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Loves it!

    I am a fan of Kathy Griffin so I knew I would love the book, but I was suprised even more by how fast this read was! The writing was awesome, what a storyteller...bravo-this paints the picture of hard work :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    great book

    such a good book you get a real look into her life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    worst book i ever read

    I expected to laugh like I did when I read Chelsea Handler's book. Instead I was bored and eventually stopped reading the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    D list lady with an A list work effort.

    A couple really funny moments in this book. Made me realize how hard she really had to work to get to the top, or pretty close to it anyways. Even if youre not a griffin fan this book is pretty funny and a great read if youre even considering a career in comedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    fantastic tip your chair back and enjoy!

    loved this book! it's a wonderful easy read. kathy is such a hard worker. loved reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    Fantastic read!

    I laughed....I cried! What an amazing read! I highly recommend, its pure entertainment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    LOVED IT!!!

    It had a slow start but really is a grest book for fans, or anyone interested in learning more about Kathy. At times I couldn't stop laughing, grab a box of wine and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    very enjoyable

    my first nook book was an easy read and i think she's great. a fun book if you lik autobiographies and gossip

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    Slow start but great finish!

    I've always been on the fence about Kathy but this book has turned me into a genuine fan. The book starts off a little slow with childhood facts and sometimes irrelevant fluff but as you read on and the years go by, you can't help but enjoy Kathy's stories of her career.

    She is incredibly hysterical. You will laugh out loud, especially if you enjoy a little bit of dry and sarcastic humor that most likely offends at least a few of your friends.

    I enjoyed reading her personal takes on the persons she's worked with that I've followed on TV myself. You feel like you kinda know the people she knows.

    She's also a smart cookie and an admirable individual. She's confident and puts herself first but doesn't mind admitting she's just like any other girl that wants to be loved.

    Delightful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    awsome and hilarious:)

    this is an awsome book make sure that u get the paper back not only is it cheaper but it nas extra crap about people love it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, quick, easy read. Great way to understand Kathy's life

    I like Kathy's work. Always enjoy her performances. With that background, it was great to read the book and learn--in a fun way--her life story and background. The book reads like she's sitting with you over coffee telling the story. Good stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good for Fans

    I'm an on/off fan of Kathy Griffin, haha. I do enjoy her comedy, however, only occasionally. I liked the honest approach she took to writing this book and I was entertained and interested the whole time I was reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    I'm a huge Kathy Griffin fan.This book is really entertaining and funny.We learn a lot about Kathy and her family.She takes us back to the beginning of her life and she takes us through a lot of her experiences.Mostly funny but also a little sad when she talks about her brother but overall its really funny. The story is a easy read and really well written.She is so honest you cant help but love her for that.This I recommend for anyone who has a sense of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    Great Read

    To be honest I really didn't care for KG before picking up this book. But after reading it, I am looking at her with new eyes. Kathy you have changed my view. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    Great Read

    This book is amazing. Kathy tells it all. She has no restraint when describing her life. From childhood to divorce to now, this book lets us look at how she rose to the top.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 381 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 20