Customer Reviews for

The Official Chuck Norris Fact Book: 101 of Chuck's Favorite Facts and Stories

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Find chuck norris

    Google won't search for Chuck Norris because it knows you don't find Chuck Norris, he finds you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Awesome!

    It's so great to learn about how great a guy Chuck is. This book really makes me look at the Ruler of the Roundhouse Kick differently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Cherck Nerrers

    Chuck Norris. Your argument is invalid.

    PWNT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Chuck Norris...

    Can kill two stones with one bird... hell yea...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Well nook girl

    You lied about being at the chuck norris girls sio

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Did you know?.....

    Chuck Norris was born on May 6th, 1995...........
    Hitler died on May 7th, 1995.
    Mind. BLOWN.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    true chuck norris story!

    There was a new mortal kombat game with chuck norris in it that was discontinued. Chuck norris' only move was a roundhouse kick, whatever button you pushed was a roundhouse kick. People complained that to chuck. He replied every time, "I told them to make it like that."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    awesome

    Awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    CHUCK NORRIS!!!!!!!

    Did u guyz kno chuck norris took a trip to the virgin islands...now thier just called 'the islands'....lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Gift for my 12-year-old son

    My son LOVES this book. He and his friends are always talking about how Chuck Norris is "indestructable" and now he has a book to quote from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Awesome!!!

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Interesting Read

    I never knew Norris was Christian; this book is an interesting commentary on that worldview, linked to a 'fact.' Glad to see not all martial artists are Eastern Mystics. A fun book and quick read, format is great for short sessions/commutes. Will have my kids read it next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Awesome

    this autobiography is cool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    Inspiring and funny!

    We were on a short trip out west and took turns reading this book! We laughed alot and learned to respect Chuck Norris. He is a good family man. Good clean humor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    The Official Chuck Norris Fact Book

    Most everyone loves a good Chuck Norris joke. Well, this goes one better. This is 101 funny things they say about Chuck and his responses. I didn't realize what a cool guy Chuck really is. Lots of true stories of people he has trained and things he has done. I was very surprized how entertained I was. I have given this to 5 different people and they have all loved it. I keep buying more to give away. I of course have my own copy also. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    WOW! What a GREAT surprise and read!!

    Especially noteworthy is the audio version of "The Official Chuck Norris Fact Book." Rarely does an audio book match or equal its printed version, but, in this case, Johnny Heller, who reads for it is a perfect match (a little like John Wayne and a little like Clint Eastwood and a little like Chuck Norris).

    The Official Chuck Norris Fact book would make a fantastic Christmas gift for just about anyone, and is small enough even to be a stocking stuffer, a perfect "White-Elephant" gift, or fun gift for just about anyone on any occassion. I can see how the book would be great for young people and college-aged, but there is nothing that restricts its reading enjoyment among any age group, gender or blue-collar or white collar worker. When one reads it, you see how quickly this is a PERFECT evangelistic tool--amazing how Norris weaves his Christian passions and faith in the 101 entries. It is hilarious, inspirational and educational. This book would be particularly encouraging to military personnel and their families, as Norris shares repeated stories about his own military experience, his two visits to our troops overseas, and even the death of his brother Wieland in Vietnam. I can see this book sitting on coffee tables, in bathrooms, in break rooms, in barracks or just on one's nightstand for lighter, slowdown, evening reading. This is a definite 5-star G & PG-rated comical and inspirational book that is good for the whole family, easily down to junior-high ages.

    This book is Norris's 2nd grand slam (or should I say solid roundhouse connection?) in two years, following his #14 New York Times Best Seller, "Black Belt Patriotism"--a cultural manifesto (available I understand in Jan. 2010 in a 50-page expanded paperback version--Black Belt Patriotism: How to Reawaken America) Well done Norris! Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    A Man worth far more respect than I had realized...

    First, I have to say, "wow." I feel like a kid saying that, but I had no idea growing up what the big deal was about Chuck Norris. Then, over the past few years I started hearing about these internet rumors about him and I didn't understand the fascination. I think I got a clue about all of that in reading this book.

    This book is a collection of Chuck Norris's 101 favorite internet rumors about himself. I learned a lot of interesting things about Chuck Norris in this book. First, his first name is Carlos--he got nicknamed Chuck in armed forces. He got married 10 years ago (He is now 69) and has twin 8 year old boys. He loves God. A lot. And he loves his family and this country.

    With each rumor, he shares either a story about his life or some of his perspective about life. He does talk about God a lot in this book which was very interesting to me.

    I realized as I read this book that I really had known nothing (!) about Chuck Norris before I read this book. And now, I've learned a lot. Honestly, I can say that I'm glad that I read this book and I know about 10 people that I want to tell about this book right away--because I think they'll genuinely enjoy it.

    Note: I did receive this book as a complimentary copy from Tyndale Publishing. But, I definitely would have bought it on my own!

    The perfect place for this book: In the bathroom, so that when you can shut the door and steal a few minutes of peace away from the kids-- you can sit, laugh, and read something light, funny, and encouraging!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    5-stars for comical and inspirational book by Chuck Norris

    Under each of Chuck's 101 favorite Facts in the book is also a related short story about it (titled "Let's Be Honest"), then a related quote from contemporaries to classic figures (titled "They said it") and a final section summarizing Chuck's life principle based upon what he just wrote (titled "Chuck's Code").

    The 101 Chuck Norris Facts include some Facts that I've heard before, but many, many, many I have not. They all are belly-achingly funny! Examples of a few are: "If you work in an office with Chuck Norris, don't ask him for his 3-hole punch," "Chuck Norris was born in a cabin that he built with his bare hands," "Sweating bullets is literally what happens when Chuck Norris gets too hot," and "Chuck Norris can gargle peanut butter and blow bubbles with beef jerky." And, just in time for the holiday season, "Chuck Norris knows when you are sleeping; he knows when you're awake; he knows when you've been bad or good; so play dead for goodness sake!"

    A phenomenal artistic touch to this book is the inclusion of Chuck Norris caricature sketches accompanying each of his 101 favorite Facts. They include Chuck wrestling with a grizzly bear (8 times his size), Chuck roundhouse kicking a stick of dynamite, Chuck hanging from a ladder that is dropped from a flying helicopter (an action and scary stunt story he also shares), etc.

    As hilarious as the Chuck Norris Facts are, I found the most engaging part of the book is the diversity of stories in the 101 entries, from Norris's martial arts, movies and television careers to his encounters with notables and others all around the world. My favorites are how he wrestled and got bit by a snake on "Walker, Texas Ranger," and how he had to use a real rat (instead of a fake one) for a stunt in one of his Missing in Action movies in which he had to hold the rat in his mouth for several minutes while hanging upside down from a rope! The stories also include intimate details of his personal life, from family, love and marriage, faith and even his daily workout plan and diet. He discusses how he was able to overcome the effects of an alcoholic violent father, abject poverty and the many hurdles on his way to become world karate champion and an award-winning actor. Particularly moving are his tributes to his mother and brother Wieland, who died in 1970 in the Vietnam War (book is great for military personnel!). He also conveys insights into (and funny stories about) his relationships with other legends like Bruce Lee, Elvis Presley and many other movie stars, sports figures and cultural icons. Lastly, many entries are inspirational and educational on a host of subjects, from America's origins to fitness and finances and overcoming various obstacles in life. In almost every entry, Chuck encourages his readers to keep striving to be their best, physically, mentally and spiritually. And he uses his five core values (fight, family, faith, fitness and freedom) to motivate them.

    If you like quotes, you'll love Norris's collection of quotes ("They said it"). They are a rich group of sayings from those over the past couple centuries, from comedians, scientists, revolutionaries to cultural heroes. Contributors include classics from Isaac Newton, Thomas Jefferson, C.S. Lewis, Mother Teresa, etc., but there are also contemporaries like Steve Carell, Steve Colbert, Jeff Foxworthy, Rachel Ray, Jon Stewart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2