Customer Reviews for

Oh My Dog: How to Choose, Train, Groom, Nurture, Feed, and Care for Your New Best Friend

Average Rating 3
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Its about the info inside, not the authors husband!

Simply put, this book is filled with valuable information regarding dogs. Some of the information you might need, some you wont. But the information inside I found to be very insightful.

The 1 star reviews seems to be coming from people who haven't read the book. The...
Simply put, this book is filled with valuable information regarding dogs. Some of the information you might need, some you wont. But the information inside I found to be very insightful.

The 1 star reviews seems to be coming from people who haven't read the book. These people are attacking the author for who's she's married to and claiming that its a shameless attempt at making money. I'm no expert on her husband, but isn't he one of the highest paid entertainers in the United States? So why would she need to write a dog book to make money? This just goes to show you how absurd these people are who haven't read the book.

All I can say is that I think the information in the book is valuable info and would benefit many dog owners. Try finding a review from a qualified reviewer, because the independent reviews online are misleading and actually have nothing to do with the content inside the book!

posted by J_Sash on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Wanted to like it...I just can't.

On one hand, the negative reviewers dislike the book based on premise rather than substance. That is to say, they dislike the fact that the author seems to be putting out a product to further her cause (the NSAL) and to make money. I'm all for someone making money by se...
On one hand, the negative reviewers dislike the book based on premise rather than substance. That is to say, they dislike the fact that the author seems to be putting out a product to further her cause (the NSAL) and to make money. I'm all for someone making money by selling a product, but they do have a point in that the NASL is a pretty low-rated charity. .

On the other hand, there are obviously planted pro-reviews which all seem to ding the same bulleted talking points (i.e. she never claimed to be an expert) and ignore the fact that the book is only 2 days old, and yet they have not only already read the book cover-to-cover, but have also implemented the advice given in the book and seen results. Its either an amazing book that will let you see results so quickly, or someone's lying about having read and/or implemented said advice.

I have to admit, the reviews have piqued my interest in purchasing the book yesterday, and, after reading a substantial portion of the text, I rate this a definite pass (as in try something else). The book reads like it was written by Dr. Jeckyll and Mr. Hyde in that there was minimal attempt to blend the writing styles of the two authors. The so-called "tips" in the book are somewhat interesting at times, but I found it odd that there is a lot (too much for my taste) of steering the reader into purchasing products in which they apparently share some monetary benefit to the authors.

The book seems hastily written and thrown out to the public in the intent of solely providing revenue streams for the authors. Sadly, I feel that the negative reviewers are more correct in their assertions than the positive reviewers and the "advice" given in the book is nothing more than what anyone with access to the internet can find on a common search engine

posted by Elizabeth36 on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Wanted to like it...I just can't.

    On one hand, the negative reviewers dislike the book based on premise rather than substance. That is to say, they dislike the fact that the author seems to be putting out a product to further her cause (the NSAL) and to make money. I'm all for someone making money by selling a product, but they do have a point in that the NASL is a pretty low-rated charity. .

    On the other hand, there are obviously planted pro-reviews which all seem to ding the same bulleted talking points (i.e. she never claimed to be an expert) and ignore the fact that the book is only 2 days old, and yet they have not only already read the book cover-to-cover, but have also implemented the advice given in the book and seen results. Its either an amazing book that will let you see results so quickly, or someone's lying about having read and/or implemented said advice.

    I have to admit, the reviews have piqued my interest in purchasing the book yesterday, and, after reading a substantial portion of the text, I rate this a definite pass (as in try something else). The book reads like it was written by Dr. Jeckyll and Mr. Hyde in that there was minimal attempt to blend the writing styles of the two authors. The so-called "tips" in the book are somewhat interesting at times, but I found it odd that there is a lot (too much for my taste) of steering the reader into purchasing products in which they apparently share some monetary benefit to the authors.

    The book seems hastily written and thrown out to the public in the intent of solely providing revenue streams for the authors. Sadly, I feel that the negative reviewers are more correct in their assertions than the positive reviewers and the "advice" given in the book is nothing more than what anyone with access to the internet can find on a common search engine

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Beth loves animals

    If you've ever heard Beth talk about animals, you'd completely understand the passion she has for animals. She spent over a year working, writing and compiling this book to help people care for their animals/dogs. If you need a guide to lead you tru the bumps and bruises that come with dog care, this book is for you. All haters need not apply.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Its about the info inside, not the authors husband!

    Simply put, this book is filled with valuable information regarding dogs. Some of the information you might need, some you wont. But the information inside I found to be very insightful.

    The 1 star reviews seems to be coming from people who haven't read the book. These people are attacking the author for who's she's married to and claiming that its a shameless attempt at making money. I'm no expert on her husband, but isn't he one of the highest paid entertainers in the United States? So why would she need to write a dog book to make money? This just goes to show you how absurd these people are who haven't read the book.

    All I can say is that I think the information in the book is valuable info and would benefit many dog owners. Try finding a review from a qualified reviewer, because the independent reviews online are misleading and actually have nothing to do with the content inside the book!

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    Don't waste your time or money

    There are a number of better books out there if you are looking for help and guidance in dealing with your pooch. When I purchased this book, I took with a grain of salt that the author was Howard Stern's wife, and upon careful reading, I found that it was definitely an attempt to make money off the use of the author's famous husband's name. You can do a lot better than this one, and it is better to spend your money buying a book from a reputable expert in animal care.

    9 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Loved it

    I had trouble with my dog not doing what he was told ,so I read the book tryed some of the suggestions in the book and it really helped.
    Thanks Beth for doing the research.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    A must read for dog owners

    Very informative book for dog owners with questions.I bought an extra copy as a mothers day gift.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    must have

    a must have for any dog owner. I had to put my dog to sleep a few years ago and wish I had this book then. When I get another one I will definately use the info in this book.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    This book is pretty good if you are new to owning a dog

    While I feel some of the reviews here are meant more to insult the author because she is married to Howard Stern. The book is meant to help people who own dogs or want to own one. Most of the information has been said in other dog expert books. Nothing in this book is new information. Its more information repeated before. I wouldn't recommend this book if you are an experienced dog owner. If you are a novice I would recommend it but there are other books out there that are just as good.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    DON'T BUY

    From a pure informational aspect, this book is badly lacking. There is so much misinformation and bad advice given that should be left for the professionals or more qualified persons. What prompted the author to write this book is mind-boggling for the author is clearly not qualified. It's like me thinking I'm qualified to write a book instructing others on how to remove tumors from your loved one's brain because I've spent time visiting patients at hospitals, have spoken to nurses and watch M*A*S*H reruns.

    It's also poorly, poorly written, as if the author (and/or editor) lacked formal education, further diminishing the credibility of this book. So we are left with a book with misinformation, bad spelling and awful grammar. What's the point?

    I actually feel ripped off for buying this book at somebody's request. Now I'm finding out that some proceeds are going to a shady organization called the North Shore Animal League that was given the lowest charity rating possible by Charity Navigator, an organization that rates all charities. This is not good. They are a scam and purchasing this book only contributes to that scam. Had I known this prior, I never would have purchased this book. That alone deserves zero stars, but since the lowest rating is one star, that's what it gets.

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Waste of time and money

    I wish I would have paid attention to the reveiws before buying. I have never listed to the author's husband's show, but I am a dog lover and always seek out ways to better care for my pets. This book was filled with obvious information, and some mis-information. I should have realized this was a vanity project when I saw the author insisted on having her picture on the cover. Complete waste of time and money.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    A dog book written by a horse

    I'm a dog owner who was looking forward to this book being released, but it turned out ot be a huge disappointment. Instead of wasting time and money on this book like I did, donate your time and/or money to your local animal shelter.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    Stop Dissing Beth

    It seems that ALL of the negative reviews written here are more personal attacks on Beth than actual reviews. I doubt any of these alleged reviewers read her book, or can read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    Poorly written

    I have to agree with the negative reviews. This is a poorly written text that screems "I cheated my way out of high school."

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Well Researched!!!

    I especially like the mini box columns throughout all the pages that say 'What does it mean when my dog,...?' great questions and astute answers. I especially like the chapters on Nutrition and Health. Written very well, easy flow and a cozy read while you're learning a ton! I learned so much about how to read nutrition labels, different types of vets, health symptoms and what it could be plus CPR and emergency care. Many helpful web site addresses offered throughout the chapters that you would never think to look up, this is very beneficial and I highlighted all of them. This book covers everything from 'You're getting a dog, to Training, Grooming, Health, Nutrition, Emergency and Loss' all chapters are packed with helpful information that you don't find in other books. A must read for newly and existing dog owners!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    the amazing tips for dog care

    this book is amazing and it said all i need to know about my new best friend, my chihuahua peanut.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    This book is a publishing joke

    Well, this book certainly must be a first in publishing. A person who continually says that she doesn't know anything about dogs, admits that she's no canine expert, confesses that she didn't have the answers to people's dog questions, discloses that she learned so much doing this book, declares that she discovered what a dreadful long-term error she was making with her choice of dog food…. A person who didn't own a dog before she happened to live with Howard Stern, who owned a dog - this is the person asked by a major publisher and paid a lot of money to write a definitive dog book – a reference book, no less. How utterly absurd is that?

    I never heard of a person who professes her ignorance on a subject, being asked to write a reference book on that very subject. Beth Stern admits that she compiled the dog experts for them to write the chapters. The readers should skip this book and choose the numerous other dog reference books that were actually written *by* the experts.

    The thing that Beth Stern doesn't seem to realize is that she spent a year compiling the information written by experts that had already been written about, directly by the experts, many years ago. How ridiculous is that?

    Also, truth in publishing - in all of Beth's media appearances plugging this book, she neglects to mention how much help she received from co-author Kristina Grish in writing this book. Between Grish's work, plus all the experts who wrote all the chapters in this book, there was little contribution left for Beth to make beyond writing the Forward to the book. Indeed, on his radio show, Howard Stern freely admitted that Beth couldn’t even physically write her book: She quickly lost her manuscript on her computer, and then, to add insult to injury, she couldn’t even find it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3