Customer Reviews for

Oh. My. Gods. (Oh.My.Gods Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 246 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down!!!

Poor Phoebe is dragged off to a Greek island, away from her best friends, only to learn her new stepfather is headmaster at a school for the descendents of the Greek gods. Unless she can keep up her grades and make the track team, she'll lose her scholarship to USC and ...
Poor Phoebe is dragged off to a Greek island, away from her best friends, only to learn her new stepfather is headmaster at a school for the descendents of the Greek gods. Unless she can keep up her grades and make the track team, she'll lose her scholarship to USC and the chance to return home for college. But how does a girl hold her own against super-kids determined to make her life miserable? And then there's her track nemisis Griffin, too gorgeous for even a Greek god. Luckily I started this book on a Saturday afternoon because I read it in one sitting and immediately wanted more. (Yes, I've heard there's a sequel coming but not quickly enough!!!) I loved Phoebe and her friends, both old and new. Mythology is cleverly woven into the story but never takes over. Although it's a young adult book, it's so original and fun, even adults will enjoy it. Buy it. Now.

posted by Anonymous on May 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Oh.My.Gods. by Tera Lynn Childs Review

Right off the bat I just have to say that this was a fun book to read. I've always been fascinated with Greek and Roman mythology, right from the start in middle school where it was a large part of my history class' curriculum. And not much has changed. I'm still intere...
Right off the bat I just have to say that this was a fun book to read. I've always been fascinated with Greek and Roman mythology, right from the start in middle school where it was a large part of my history class' curriculum. And not much has changed. I'm still interested in mythology and folklore, but I've expanded my horizons since sixth grade, and my interests now vary and include exploring cultures other than Greek and Roman. But when I came across this book and found it a was another fun spin on Greek mythology I couldn't resist...and I'm glad I didn't. Oh.My.Gods. is book I'm glad I added to my collection.

I've read a lot of great books lately but not many have been light reads. Some were intense and others very dramatic and emotional. This book was not any of those things in my opinion. It was light and I found it easy to fly through the pages. It was extremely fun to read about the main character Phoebe and her struggles to fit in as a "nothos" or a human without any godly blood running through her gene pool. Tera Lynn Childs' spin on a modern day version of a high school that caters to the descendants of the Greek gods was entertaining.

Phoebe dealt with the typical struggles of a normal teenage girl; fitting in at a new high school, close-knit cliques that are very hard to break into, making friends, crushing on cute but unfortunately not so nice boys, and having her single mother marry a complete stranger. While these issues may be ones we've all heard of before or experienced in part for ourselves, the writing and this particular story were not. The writing was clever and witty and was not overloaded with teenage slang, it was funny throughout and often I found myself laughing out loud at parts which is not always the case for me. A chuckle or two can be expected while reading a comedy but some parts in this novel were just downright funny and hard to resist.

If you're looking for a fun read, this might be something for you to pick up. The sequel, Goddess Boot Camp, is out and I'll be downloading it to my Kindle momentarily. I want to find out what happens next with Phoebe and the whole gang. It may not fall into my category of keeping me up late at night because I had to find out what happens next but at the same time that wasn't what I was looking for at the moment. I wanted FUN and I got it in spades with this book.

posted by Burg on May 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Oh.My.Gods. by Tera Lynn Childs Review

    Right off the bat I just have to say that this was a fun book to read. I've always been fascinated with Greek and Roman mythology, right from the start in middle school where it was a large part of my history class' curriculum. And not much has changed. I'm still interested in mythology and folklore, but I've expanded my horizons since sixth grade, and my interests now vary and include exploring cultures other than Greek and Roman. But when I came across this book and found it a was another fun spin on Greek mythology I couldn't resist...and I'm glad I didn't. Oh.My.Gods. is book I'm glad I added to my collection.

    I've read a lot of great books lately but not many have been light reads. Some were intense and others very dramatic and emotional. This book was not any of those things in my opinion. It was light and I found it easy to fly through the pages. It was extremely fun to read about the main character Phoebe and her struggles to fit in as a "nothos" or a human without any godly blood running through her gene pool. Tera Lynn Childs' spin on a modern day version of a high school that caters to the descendants of the Greek gods was entertaining.

    Phoebe dealt with the typical struggles of a normal teenage girl; fitting in at a new high school, close-knit cliques that are very hard to break into, making friends, crushing on cute but unfortunately not so nice boys, and having her single mother marry a complete stranger. While these issues may be ones we've all heard of before or experienced in part for ourselves, the writing and this particular story were not. The writing was clever and witty and was not overloaded with teenage slang, it was funny throughout and often I found myself laughing out loud at parts which is not always the case for me. A chuckle or two can be expected while reading a comedy but some parts in this novel were just downright funny and hard to resist.

    If you're looking for a fun read, this might be something for you to pick up. The sequel, Goddess Boot Camp, is out and I'll be downloading it to my Kindle momentarily. I want to find out what happens next with Phoebe and the whole gang. It may not fall into my category of keeping me up late at night because I had to find out what happens next but at the same time that wasn't what I was looking for at the moment. I wanted FUN and I got it in spades with this book.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    An Okay Read

    The story just seemed overly cliche to me. I understand that it's supposed to be a high school drama, but all of these high school food-chain/popularity pyramids are starting to get a bit old. There were a lot of really predictable scenes in this story and the characters lacked depth. I felt like their conflicts were too easily solved and often these heart-to-hearts were randomly placed.
    However, it was a fun read and the fact the story was set in one of the world's most beautiful countries was a big plus. The idea of mixing the present with the past also scored points in my book. Mythology is always a fun thing to play around with and the author certainly did a good job with taking Greek myths and spinning them into a story of her own.
    While this may have been a fun and easy read for me, I wish the book could have been longer so as to let the characters develop better. I mean, what happened to the Hades girl? Kassandra, was it? Overall, I give this book three stars.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    OK read

    LOTS OF SWEARING, geeze take a breck no one wants to read all those profanities nor no apparent reason,

    This book had a lot of the sterio typical popular chain and highschool woes a little too over done if you ask me,
    BUT THIS BOOK WAS A GOOD LIGHT READ
    but the ending, i hate, how cheezy can you get!
    I debated alot on the rateing, light read, one star, good writing, star, realistic in a weird way, star, nice topic, one star, good and interesting with sports weavd in, star, unessessey profanitys, minus a star, wwwaaayyyy to chezy ending,Uggh, minus a star.
    You see my problem?
    Ok to read, i would only recoment this for a at the very youngest an 11 year old who has allready been exposed to the more couse swears.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    It's ok

    I think the Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus are better, but this is still a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Should i get it?

    Should i buy it? Ireadthe sample and it looked terrbile. Is it better as it goes on?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    meh

    At first I actually thought it was okay but there were a few things that made no sense at all. For one, how obnoxious was it of her mother to hook up with a guy when she was at a reunion of her dead husband's family? Who does that? The mom also tells Phoebe in the middle of a track just after she won a huge race that they are moving to Greece in a month and Phoebe gets no say in the matter. Then at Serfopoulous, Phoebe falls in love with an a**hole. Also after Phoebe's feelings get hurt, her sister then decides to care if it would hurt her, even though that was her intent the whole time.
    The biggest issue with the book, though is the screwy facts. For one thing, all the gods had boys and all the goddesses had girls except for the Hades kids. For instance the Zues kids were all guys (and jocks which is besides the point)and the Hera kids were all girls; there is no way for that to happen. Which brings me to another issue: Hera was the goddess of marriage- she would never have kids with a mortal because she was married to Zues! And she would never get divorced from him because, again, she is the goddess of marriage. Also, they had Eris's golden apple that she threw into the Herra's and Zues's wedding, which makes no sense. Paris gave it to Aphrodite when he picked her as the fairest and there is no way Aphrodite would ever give that to the school.
    Another issue is that all of the descendants have all of the gods' powers. There also shouldn't even be any "Zues kids" or "Hephasteus kids" because all of the demi-gods mix with each other so ther is no one who can claim that they are from any one god.
    Even though there were a lot of flaws I thought it was still good enough, and I did end up reading the second one. I don't know if you should buy this book, especially since you probabley won't reread it much, but you might when to check it out from your library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Ok....

    im only half way through and it feels like nothing is happening...it barely ever talks about greek mythology and it is very easy to see where the story is going. but if you would like a light and easy read this is your book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    More of a 3.5 star

    I enjoyed this book. I reminded me of Percy Jackson Series, but geared more towards teen girls. The only thing I didnt like was that the main charater drove me insane at points in the book. I will be reading the rest of the books though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Summer Read.

    I needed a book. Something to satisfy my craving. Just like when a person needs their sugar or caffeine, I need my literature. I was glad I picked up Oh. My. Gods. It was exactly what I needed. Something fun and perky. Something to sit in the sun and just read by the pool or at the beach. Nothing too complicated or too long. Just plain fun. I enjoyed Pheobe's narrative. It wasn't too teenager wish-wash. Just the perfect amount of attitude. What made the book was the school life with a twist. It wasn't a book about bad guys trying to kill heroine or destroy the world. It was a book about a girl arriving at a new school and leaving her happy life behind. Except the new school is full of decedents of greek gods. Like I said, fun. Fluff. Something to enjoy on a summers day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    OKOK

    Thsi book was all in all a good read but has some mistakes in the writing. It was a little bit confusing at parts and i don;t like the guy she ends up w/.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Fun, Okay Read

    Phoebe Castro is on the fast-track to achieving her dream of attending USC with her friends on a cross-country scholarship, but this all changes when her mom announces that she's marrying a near-stranger and moving them to Greece in this Young Adult Romance by Tera Lynn Childs.

    Before she knows it, Phoebe is stuck on a secret island in the Aegean and attending a super-exclusive private school known as the Academy, where her new stepfather is the headmaster and the kids are anything but average-they're descendants of the Greek gods, superpowers included. Her only chance of reclaiming her old life lies in securing that scholarship, but managing that could be an ungodly challenge, considering she's got a sabotaging stepsister, and a gorgeous guy-a veritable god!-in her way.

    The story is a fun, easy read, ideally suited to the audience, especially the younger end of the Young Adult crowd. Phoebe is moody and belligerent when her mom moves them halfway across the world, which rings true, and despite this, she's a likeable character that develops nicely as the story progresses.

    The plot was entertaining and moved quickly, albeit predictably, and the setting and premise were fun and interesting.

    Unfortunately, all the other characters are a bit over the top. Her friend Nola (short for Granola) is a hippie child, environmentally concerned, conspiracy theorist. Her stepsister, Stella, is as nasty as any that Cinderella could have claimed. Her mom is a clichéd therapist ("That sounds like you're running away from your problems.")

    The biggest problem I had with the story was that the main characters weren't as fully developed (probably the reason for the clichéd, over the top characters that were there) as they could be, and, as a result, the romance part of the story didn't develop well. Griffin, the undeniably gorgeous love interest, goes from nice, to jerk, to loving, with very little explanation. As a romance reader, I want there to be more redeeming qualities in the male half of the relationship than great looks and a compulsion (yes, an actual compulsion) to help people in danger.

    On the whole, it was a fun read and I like the main character enough that I am looking forward to the next book in the series, Goddess Boot Camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2