Customer Reviews for

Oh. My. Gods. (Oh.My.Gods Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 246 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down!!!

Poor Phoebe is dragged off to a Greek island, away from her best friends, only to learn her new stepfather is headmaster at a school for the descendents of the Greek gods. Unless she can keep up her grades and make the track team, she'll lose her scholarship to USC and ...
Poor Phoebe is dragged off to a Greek island, away from her best friends, only to learn her new stepfather is headmaster at a school for the descendents of the Greek gods. Unless she can keep up her grades and make the track team, she'll lose her scholarship to USC and the chance to return home for college. But how does a girl hold her own against super-kids determined to make her life miserable? And then there's her track nemisis Griffin, too gorgeous for even a Greek god. Luckily I started this book on a Saturday afternoon because I read it in one sitting and immediately wanted more. (Yes, I've heard there's a sequel coming but not quickly enough!!!) I loved Phoebe and her friends, both old and new. Mythology is cleverly woven into the story but never takes over. Although it's a young adult book, it's so original and fun, even adults will enjoy it. Buy it. Now.

posted by Anonymous on May 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Oh.My.Gods. by Tera Lynn Childs Review

Right off the bat I just have to say that this was a fun book to read. I've always been fascinated with Greek and Roman mythology, right from the start in middle school where it was a large part of my history class' curriculum. And not much has changed. I'm still intere...
Right off the bat I just have to say that this was a fun book to read. I've always been fascinated with Greek and Roman mythology, right from the start in middle school where it was a large part of my history class' curriculum. And not much has changed. I'm still interested in mythology and folklore, but I've expanded my horizons since sixth grade, and my interests now vary and include exploring cultures other than Greek and Roman. But when I came across this book and found it a was another fun spin on Greek mythology I couldn't resist...and I'm glad I didn't. Oh.My.Gods. is book I'm glad I added to my collection.

I've read a lot of great books lately but not many have been light reads. Some were intense and others very dramatic and emotional. This book was not any of those things in my opinion. It was light and I found it easy to fly through the pages. It was extremely fun to read about the main character Phoebe and her struggles to fit in as a "nothos" or a human without any godly blood running through her gene pool. Tera Lynn Childs' spin on a modern day version of a high school that caters to the descendants of the Greek gods was entertaining.

Phoebe dealt with the typical struggles of a normal teenage girl; fitting in at a new high school, close-knit cliques that are very hard to break into, making friends, crushing on cute but unfortunately not so nice boys, and having her single mother marry a complete stranger. While these issues may be ones we've all heard of before or experienced in part for ourselves, the writing and this particular story were not. The writing was clever and witty and was not overloaded with teenage slang, it was funny throughout and often I found myself laughing out loud at parts which is not always the case for me. A chuckle or two can be expected while reading a comedy but some parts in this novel were just downright funny and hard to resist.

If you're looking for a fun read, this might be something for you to pick up. The sequel, Goddess Boot Camp, is out and I'll be downloading it to my Kindle momentarily. I want to find out what happens next with Phoebe and the whole gang. It may not fall into my category of keeping me up late at night because I had to find out what happens next but at the same time that wasn't what I was looking for at the moment. I wanted FUN and I got it in spades with this book.

posted by Burg on May 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Love Griffin

    Love this! My hardcover had a different cover... but this is a cool book! I didnt even have to google any Roman gods! Easy to follow, and no, its not a trick-your-kids-into-learning books. Although it holds some facts, they only say whats needed for the story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    For Teenage Girl Fans of Percy Jackson

    I found Oh. My. Gods. to be a very enjoyable read. It was easy to follow, but somewhat confusing in points. Also, the ending was quite predictable. Those things aside, Oh. My. Gods. was engaging and different. You can't help but root for Phoebe along the way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    NEMISES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Lovely

    Very good storyline!!!!"well played

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Omg

    I also love this one start out as a bet and leads to more

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Good

    This book is a good short read. At first it didnt really make sense to me it wasnt realistic but it got good torwards the middle and end. Even though its unrealistic at first it keeps you hooked throughout the story. I would recomend this book to anyone looking for a short read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    Fast and Furious....And Funny!

    This book is a must read! Phoebe can brighten anyone's mood! Her very presence in O.MY.GODS. is enough to give the reader a good laugh.


    I especially like how Childs took, molded, and produced the next book in Rick Riordan's hit series. It is more from Annabeth's point of view, though. Ha-ha!

    I cannot wait for the next book in the series!


    O.MY.GODS is so edgy and fast. Just the fact that Stella placed the bet on Phoebe was enough to keep me reading! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh.My.Gods.

    I really liked this book, I read alot of these kinds of books(the teenage girl kind).I have read this book over and over again, its not particularly long, and I finished it in four hours.I would recomend this book to teenage girls that like to read about a girl that is set on winning and finding love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    Light snack ambrosia!

    Light your head! A good teen fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ancient Mythology Meets Current Teens

    I'm going to admit my bias right now. I'm a huge ancient mythology geek! Really, I took Latin in high school, own more than one translation of The Iliad, and am part of the Classics Honor Society. Now that you're aware...on with the review.

    Characters: Poor Phoebe! If moving senior year isn't bad enough, she's forced to attend school with descendants of the gods. The fact that she gets to live in beautiful Greece doesn't seem to placate any of her anger, either. As soon as she arrives, she's greeted by her evil stepsister, who doesn't want to have anything to do with her. Sure, they've just met, but Phoebe isn't a descendant. Many of the other kids in school call her make it a point to remind her of her family heritage, and sometimes use their powers against her. Luckily, one girl, Nicole, takes pity on her. Over the course of the book, Phoebe develops her friendship with Nicole, as well as with Troy (the nice guy). The story also focuses on Phoebe's relationship wiht Griffin, the jerky yet irresistible guy. Upon learning more about him, Nicole starts to realize that the preppy, too-cool-for-you attitude might just be for show.

    Plot

    You're all aware of my bias, so you already know how much I loved the plot. The idea of the offspring of the Greek gods all attending school together was really fun, and it was nice to see some of those god's characteristics displayed in the students. For example, a character that shall remain nameless is an offspring of Heracles (aka Hercules), and when someone is in need he has no choice but to help them. I also really liked how Phoebe developed over the course of the book. At the start, she's extremely against the move, and concentrates only on how long it will take her to escape Greece. , she stopped sulking about the move, and decided she was going to prove herself worthy of attending the academy.

    I can't wait for the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Makes you feel her emotions... made me laugh

    This book really gets you into it.. its not a terribly hard book, reading level wise.. I got done with it in about 4 hours and thats only because I was watching a little tv and eating lunch at the same time...

    I couldn't put it down... I wanted to know what happend next sooooo bad!!!! The author makes you really feel what the main charachter, Phoebe, is feeling... her ups and downs and when her life changes happen you feel like you are right there with her and want to console and/or congradulate her...

    I definietly reccomend this book to any Greek Myth fans out there, also great for any coming of age tweenagers... Not a bad read for anyone though...

    Hope you like as much as I did...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    I really like this book. I read it for the third time, it is that great. Its got cute guys, over rated popular girls and children who are related to the greek gods. When I started reading I could never put it down. The second book, goddess boot camp is just as good. I hope there is a third book in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OH. My. Gods. review

    I found this book facinating I love the idea of having decendents of the greek gods among us. The way that Childs wrote this in the point of view of "goal oriented" Pheobe made this story seem more believable to the readers. I would say this was very well written for teenages to relate to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Muddy Goddness!

    Wow its the new lightning theif! This was an awsome book for your average eight grader!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3