Customer Reviews for

Oh My Stars

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great but extremely sad

I love Lorna Landvik's writing, and this book is no exception. It is really great, but a bit depressing. I don't mean to sound rude about other crippled people, but I think I would have enjoyed Violet's character more if she still had her arm. I know the book might have...
I love Lorna Landvik's writing, and this book is no exception. It is really great, but a bit depressing. I don't mean to sound rude about other crippled people, but I think I would have enjoyed Violet's character more if she still had her arm. I know the book might have not been the same and as great as it is now, and that losing an arm to the machines back then was very common, but I kind of struggled to relate to the loss of her arm. Maybe if she had paralyzed it, which is sort of the same idea, I could've understood her pain on a deeper level. I think the constant use of the word "stump" made it sound kind of ridiculous. I really don't mean to offend any people in that condition, though! This is just my opinion on the book.
But really overall it was great! Patty Jane's House of Curl and Angry Housewives Eaing Bon Bons are still my favorite of Lorna's books, though.

posted by 9958513 on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A slow steady tale...

I read this book solely because of the author. I liked it but found that is was pretty slow and sad.The characters were real and I was intereted in their lives but it was just a little too slow for me

posted by Anonymous on May 7, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    This book is beautifully written and a great evolving story. i l

    This book is beautifully written and a great evolving story. i love stories about people with afflictions(i myself have a problem) and see how life could change in a split of a dime. This Author had wrote everything exact and summed up all the stories. its by far now my favorite book. whoever reads this wont be sorry.trust me. its very entertaining and once i started reading i could not stop. All the characters sucked me in and i wont forget this book 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    great book not sad

    I'm not sure why people said this so sad,






    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    another great read by lorna

    After reading other reviews, I was unsure about this one, but I love Landvik's writing, so I took it to the beach to read. I couldn't put it down! I laughed and cried and really loved this book - I am passing it to all my friends now! Thanks Lorna!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    GREAT BOOK!

    Since the author is Lorna Landvik, I bought the book without learning the storyline. It didn't matter to me. I just expected it to be another light, fun, enjoyable Lorna Landvik tale. When I learned that it was not the usual Lorna Landvik fare, and was instead a more somber telling of one woman's struggle through life and overcoming adversity and learning lessons and blah blah blah, I honestly didn't think I'd like this book at all...and definitely not as much as I did Lorna's others. Well, I was wrong. I really enjoyed this book, and was so taken with these characters (I think I may have talked back to them - outloud!). I laughed and I cried, and sometimes did both at the same time. A fantastic read. Another wonderful, delightful story from Lorna Landvik. Thank you, Lorna!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    Different (yet wonderful) from other Lorna Landvik stories...

    I too purchased this solely because I love Lorna Landvik's books with a passion. Her style of writing has really evolved - this book was quite different than her other novels, yet the characters were still wonderfully quirky and the story line drew me right in. Violet's adventures in Oh My Stars were thought-provoking and had strong laugh/cry quality. I'd definitely recommend this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Teriffic

    In Mount Crawfiord, Kentucky Erlene Mathers abandons her daughter Violet to be raised by her spouse Judd, a terrific mechanic but an abusive ugly drunk with no quality time for his wallflower giraffe of a child, dubbed Olive Oyl by her peers. In 1935, Miss Eugie Dodds hires the lonely almost sixteen year old Violet to work the night shift at the Marcelline Threads factory. The shy unhappy teen, whose first name is apropos, finds acceptance and a feeling of belonging for the first time in her life. However, on her sweet sixteenth birthday, a machine accident amputates her arm.................... Once released from the hospital, Violet concludes she has nothing but bad memories in Mount Crawford so like many others takes the bus to California, but a crash in North Dakota strands Violet and others. Musicians Austin Sykes and Kjel Hedstrom rescue everyone. Violet likes the kind black Austin, but is quite attracted to Kjel and joins the duet, who hopes to pioneer a new style of music to a still somewhat depressed America as the show has just begun....................... OH MY STARS is a terrific look at the mid 1930s in America. Fans will appreciate the metamorphosis of Violet from her belief that she is the ugly duckling into a confident swan symbolizing America coming out of the Depression. The cast is fantastic as the audience will believe they are traveling with the heroine and others as readers discover the wonders of the country while Violet seeks her groove. Lorna Landvik provides a delightful Americana tale that will elate historical readers with its depth of characterizations to include the land..................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1