BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Oh, the Places You'll Go!

Average Rating 5
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Depends on the Graduate

This book is a great gift for some graduates.

The one who will be receiving it from me has lead a somewhat bumpy and hard life so far. he has fallen off of the tracks a few times and lost he way. With some recent help, he has found his way back into the race of lif...
This book is a great gift for some graduates.

The one who will be receiving it from me has lead a somewhat bumpy and hard life so far. he has fallen off of the tracks a few times and lost he way. With some recent help, he has found his way back into the race of life and is actually graduating a year early from HS.

My graduate takes gifts like these to heart and I know he will remember this one for years to come. Dr. Suess's words in this book are so inspiring for a boy like him. The Dr says it perfectly when he writes "You'll look up and down streets. Look 'em over with care. About some you will say, 'I don't choose to go there.' With your head full of brains and your shoes fun of feet, you're too smart to go down any not-so-good street."

These words touch home with this boy. His life has been full of choices, some that were not good ones. Now he has the knowledge and the brains to stear clear of these places and watch what he does and where he chooses to go. He has the knowledge to CHOOSE right and has the knowledge of what he should do.

I know for a fact that if I got a dictionary or something of that sort, it would be used even less than a book like this. I know, because I got one and it is still sitting on my bookshelf and hasn't been opened since the day I got it.

Students these days use the computer for everything they need, like looking up words in a electronic dictionary. It is so much easier and so much faster.

All I am trying to say is: when looking at something, please look at all sides of the situation. What might be worthless to some, is the best gift others could get.

The first thing that I felt when reading your review was that I spent weeks thinking of a really great gift for my graduate and that getting this was like getting him garbage; just something that he can throw away. When, in reality, it might be something that he keeps forever.

posted by Book_Lover89 on May 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good

A good, interesting read.

posted by SleepDreamWrite on October 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Depends on the Graduate

    This book is a great gift for some graduates.

    The one who will be receiving it from me has lead a somewhat bumpy and hard life so far. he has fallen off of the tracks a few times and lost he way. With some recent help, he has found his way back into the race of life and is actually graduating a year early from HS.

    My graduate takes gifts like these to heart and I know he will remember this one for years to come. Dr. Suess's words in this book are so inspiring for a boy like him. The Dr says it perfectly when he writes "You'll look up and down streets. Look 'em over with care. About some you will say, 'I don't choose to go there.' With your head full of brains and your shoes fun of feet, you're too smart to go down any not-so-good street."

    These words touch home with this boy. His life has been full of choices, some that were not good ones. Now he has the knowledge and the brains to stear clear of these places and watch what he does and where he chooses to go. He has the knowledge to CHOOSE right and has the knowledge of what he should do.

    I know for a fact that if I got a dictionary or something of that sort, it would be used even less than a book like this. I know, because I got one and it is still sitting on my bookshelf and hasn't been opened since the day I got it.

    Students these days use the computer for everything they need, like looking up words in a electronic dictionary. It is so much easier and so much faster.

    All I am trying to say is: when looking at something, please look at all sides of the situation. What might be worthless to some, is the best gift others could get.

    The first thing that I felt when reading your review was that I spent weeks thinking of a really great gift for my graduate and that getting this was like getting him garbage; just something that he can throw away. When, in reality, it might be something that he keeps forever.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    The Places You'll Go

    Dr. Seuss, "The Places You'll Go" is a really great book. It has been around since I was a kid. I think everyone should read the book from the ages 2-to-120.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    That was great!!!!!!! loved it!

    That was great!!!!!!! loved it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    The Best of Seuss

    This book is an amazingly pertinent read for all age levels - the message is timeless and ageless. It's funny, absorbing, and inspirational. The illustrations are eye-catching and colorful which children will appreciate. Reading and re-reading this to young children will show them your love, help develop their confidence, and inspire them. Though a child's book, it also makes an excellent 6th or 8th grade promotion gift or graduation gift from High School, College, or University, as it puts words to the feelings of love and confidence you have in the graduate. Or, read it for yourself for a shot of encouragement!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    Clever Idea

    I am a mother of a 3yr old daughter, who attends day care. It was brought to my attention that another mother is having her child's teachers sign a copy of Dr Suess, Oh the Places You'll Go! She intends to do this until her child graduates college w/o letting her child know it's being done. Then she is going to present it to the child upon graduation. I love this idea and the book and I am going to do it and maybe other parents may do it now too!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    This book is really funny!

    I bought two of these books to give to my daughter and her best friend for high school graduation. They loved their Dr. Seuss books when they were kids and they are going to love this one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    Newly relevant!

    In today's economy, this book has a whole new life. Although written for the new graduate finding his/her way into the world, I turned to it when I lost my job and had to face the challenges and fears of finding a new career in my 50s. "And when you're in a Slump,/you're not in for much fun./Un-slumping yourself/is not easily done." I've just sent a copy to my sister who's will also enjoy this encouraging story from the master tell himself.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    Excellent book for kids!

    Bought this for my 3 yr. old girl & intend to read it to her as often as possible. This book teaches life's lessons in a very entertaining fashion.
    Also bought it for my 5 nieces & nephews!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Great graduation gift

    Even though my son graduated from HS a few years ago, he wanted this book,as his English teacher read it to his senior class. He said the story fit very well for graduation and young people getting out on their own. I gave it to him for his birthday and he was very pleased with it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2001

    Can be read over and over and over again!

    I am the mother of a four year old. This book may have some deeper concepts that are beyond her but she understands that the boy in the book keeps trying no matter what life brings him and strives to be the very best that he can be. I love the book, and I believe that because of my love for the book, my enthusiasm when reading it transfers to my daughter. She likes to point at the pictures and show me what she sees. The pictures inspire her imagination and the rhymes are so catchy she can remember them and recite them to me! I will never get tired of this book. I think my daughter will continue to appreciate this book and it's message all of her life and share with her children.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2001

    Must Read For Graduating Seniors

    One of Dr. Seuss' best. A great way for upper level student to remember the joy of Seuss and to hear a positive message of life. That it does not matter what you do, but that you beleive in yourself and work hard.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2000

    Graduation Speech

    My son just graduated high school and he was the Salutatorian of his class. He used 'Oh, The Places You'll Go' for his valediction. He used excerpts, of course, but it was wonderful and everyone from students, teachers,parents and grandparents loved it! His paternal grandmother gave him the hardback edition for one of his graduation gifts, which will be a keepsake for him!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2000

    must read

    This is a wonderful book about life, and for any age of reader. I received it as a highschool graduation gift from a friend and as I read through it, it brought tears to my eyes because it has a REAL impact, (for being classified as a childrens book.)The words were very inspiring to me. I would recommend it to anyone from ages 3 to 99.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Awesome for any age

    I highly recommend this book for people of all ages. At any [point they are embarking on a new phase in life, Dr Seuss' words ring true. Gotta love the Seuss!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    Good

    A good, interesting read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Best!

    EXCELLENT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    A Twist on the Graduation Gift

    Someone suggested I do this for my daughter and it's exactly what I intend to do: buy the book and have significant people in their lives write a personal note in the book. Then give the book to the graduate filled with encouragement from school teachers, Sunday school teachers, coaches, family members. It becomes so much more than a book - it's personal and inspirational. Love this idea and hope others will too. My daughter is 4 now and I plan on having her teachers from 3K and 4K start it off.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best Dr. Seuss Books ever.... but NOT for a graduate......

    I personally love this book its a fun thought provoking book---Dr. Suess has a wonderful way of making life magical. I know that this is a favorite gift to give to the newly graduated-(high school, collage) I don't entirely agree with that.... I DONT think it makes a good graduation gift, and I love this book- I can quote this book, but a new grad needs a dictionary, a collection of the classics, a book on how to create a resume. when given to a grad theis book is going to be read once perhaps twice and put away- its a 'novelty gift' when it shouldnt be a 'novelty gift', this book is better than that, give this book to a three year old and read it often- thats when the message sticks and really sinks in. (this was the last book published before he died)


    "The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you'll go."
    - Dr. Seuss (Oh, the Places You'll Go!)

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    Excellent

    I give this book to every high school graduate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2014

    A perfect graduation gift!

    Oh, the places you'll go! With all the ups and downs and uncertainties of life, this book says it all and in a language that youth understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10