Customer Reviews for

Oh, the Places You'll Go!

Average Rating 5
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Depends on the Graduate

This book is a great gift for some graduates.

The one who will be receiving it from me has lead a somewhat bumpy and hard life so far. he has fallen off of the tracks a few times and lost he way. With some recent help, he has found his way back into the race of lif...
This book is a great gift for some graduates.

The one who will be receiving it from me has lead a somewhat bumpy and hard life so far. he has fallen off of the tracks a few times and lost he way. With some recent help, he has found his way back into the race of life and is actually graduating a year early from HS.

My graduate takes gifts like these to heart and I know he will remember this one for years to come. Dr. Suess's words in this book are so inspiring for a boy like him. The Dr says it perfectly when he writes "You'll look up and down streets. Look 'em over with care. About some you will say, 'I don't choose to go there.' With your head full of brains and your shoes fun of feet, you're too smart to go down any not-so-good street."

These words touch home with this boy. His life has been full of choices, some that were not good ones. Now he has the knowledge and the brains to stear clear of these places and watch what he does and where he chooses to go. He has the knowledge to CHOOSE right and has the knowledge of what he should do.

I know for a fact that if I got a dictionary or something of that sort, it would be used even less than a book like this. I know, because I got one and it is still sitting on my bookshelf and hasn't been opened since the day I got it.

Students these days use the computer for everything they need, like looking up words in a electronic dictionary. It is so much easier and so much faster.

All I am trying to say is: when looking at something, please look at all sides of the situation. What might be worthless to some, is the best gift others could get.

The first thing that I felt when reading your review was that I spent weeks thinking of a really great gift for my graduate and that getting this was like getting him garbage; just something that he can throw away. When, in reality, it might be something that he keeps forever.

posted by Book_Lover89 on May 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good

A good, interesting read.

posted by SleepDreamWrite on October 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted May 17, 2014

    PERFECT BABY GIFT

    This book was a huge hit at a baby shower! We used it to introduce our "larger" gift of a car seat from the shower registry that was shipped directly to the nursery. We inscribed the book with a rhyming message of our own, and everyone loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    I have purchased many copies over the years as graduation and good luck gifts. I love the message in it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Oh, The Places You Will Go is a recipient of the prestigious Mom

    Oh, The Places You Will Go is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award. The Mom’s Choice Awards honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of PBS’s Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, New York Times best-selling Author and; LeAnn Thieman, motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books. Parents and educators look for the Mom’s Choice Awards seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    This book has had an influence on me from early childhood to my

    This book has had an influence on me from early childhood to my life today as a college student. The vibrant illustrations intrigued my interest and held my attention in early years and the lyrical verses that motivate the reader to take control of their tomorrow impacts me so much currently today. The fact that it appeals to several demographics, making it relevant to several, evokes a true writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended for all Ages

    I enjoy all Dr. Suess's books. The all have a message and this one is no exception. If you are having a rough time, pick up this book and see what you get out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great for starting the new school year!

    Dr. Seuss is always a great way to start any new adventure, all ages will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Dr. Sesus Oh, The Places You'll Go, shows and gives children multiple ideas about all the different places they can go. Not all are good, but not all are bad either. It shows the reader that even when you are at your lowest, there are always other places you can go explore. It gives the reader an idea of what you can expect wherever you are, what you might want or not want to do. It encourages the reader and produces excitement, with its choice of perspective, rhyming, constructive drawings and coloring. Overall, this is a good book, I recommend it to children 8 or under.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    A Better Choice

    This book has been given and received soooo many times. A perfect fresh choice is Dream by Susan Bosak. I saw it in store and bought 6 right away as grad gifts. I really fell in love with it. The illustrations are so rich and text so lovely -- a great, great choice for a grad gift. Dream is the only book I give now and recipients LOVE it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    I just love this book!

    I first heard of Oh, The Places You'll Go! at a seminar for graduate students in the International Business School at Butler University in Indianapolis. The presenter got up, expressed his love for the book and its lessons and read the entire thing out loud. You could have heard a pin drop. I had tears in my eyes nearly the entire time.

    This is an incredibly uplifting book and could be read any time you feel down and discouraged. It celebrates the completion of something you've done, graduate from pre-school to entering an internship or just living your life. I feel better just thinking about its message.

    After having heard the book I bought one for myself. Since then, I've gotten one for every graduating senior I know. My sister's last child graduated this month and knew what to expect. Her high school chose Oh, The Places You'll Go! as the theme for the event and her mom had already bought a few items to go along with it.

    My only frustration is that there is no real explanation of the differences between the various versions of the book. I think this one is the party edition--sparkles on the book cover. Luckily, this one was perfect and I recommend it highly. You have to read this book at least once in your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Yay

    Oh The Places You'll Go is a fun book to read. The book is about a young lad going places. This book is short and has interesting rhymes. I recommend this book to people of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Love the Seuss

    This is a fantastic book to send the high school graduate on his or her way whether it is college or into the workforce.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    "Oh, The Places You'll Go" is a great graduation gift.

    I ordered it for my granddaughters HS Graduation gift. AND when I read it, I included it in my Sunday Sermon. GREAT STUFF!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Loved the story.

    The book would be a wonderful graduation gift. It is very uplifting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Beautiful book!

    Everyone should own a copy if this book from the time they start reading until retirement and after. Makes a great gift!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    excellent birthday gift for all ages

    I have given this book as a birthday gift several times. It is applicable for any age. Guests at parties enjoy hearing it read aloud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    GREAT!

    Bought this for my neice and nephew who are just beginning their adult lives.... had their parents take turns reading it aloud. Everyone laughed/cried. It is MUCH deeper than I ever expected from Dr. Seuss. It was beautiful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    My grandson loves it, the book contains the name of our cat.

    What does headline mean?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    Oh, the Places You'll Go!

    This is my favorite Dr. Seuss book. What a great message. It applies to both kids and adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    Should read

    This book will be enjoyed by all ages !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Great Grad Gift!!

    Bought this for a high school graduation gift! It was perfect and she loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10