Customer Reviews for

Okay for Now

Average Rating 4.5
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended- Check it out!

"Okay for Now"
I have found a new favorite book. I got my hands on an ARC for Gary Schmidt's newest. Mr Schmidt wowed me with the "The Wednesday Wars" and this is being touted as a sequel. Don't worry if you haven't read "The Wednesday Wars," but you should, "Okay for ...
"Okay for Now"
I have found a new favorite book. I got my hands on an ARC for Gary Schmidt's newest. Mr Schmidt wowed me with the "The Wednesday Wars" and this is being touted as a sequel. Don't worry if you haven't read "The Wednesday Wars," but you should, "Okay for Now" is a stand alone title where the main character had just a walk on part in the first novel. Historical fiction set in the late 60's where the range of topics seems almost overwhelming but somehow are woven seamlessly together. Vietnam, space exploration, science, drawing, dyslexia, baseball, Audubon, theatre, child abuse, friendship and first love, horseshoes, criminal activity, cancer, alcholism, and things as mundane as life in junior high, delivering groceries, sipping cold Cokes on hot summer days, and small town America at it's finest.

I love Doug Sweiteck. This is one amazingly resiliant kid, with a snarky mouth and a heart of gold. He is the youngest of three brothers and sensitive to a fault. His oldest brother Lucas was apparently something of a hellion who ends up in Vietnam where he loses his legs and almost his sight. Lucas' return sets the stage for all sorts of changes in the family. Christopher whose name we learn only late it the book, is another juvenile deliquent in the works or so we think in the beginning. The father of the story is an alcoholic bully who doesn't deserve the amazing sons he sired. Mom is an abuse victim and an enabler, who you love as Doug does, but you wish she was just that much stronger so she could save herself and her sons.

From page to page you ride an emotional roller coaster, laugh out loud momemts are quickly followed by heartbreaking cruelty, and inpirational hope. Mr Schmidt creates characters that are very real and great mixtures of good and evil. I was sure the PE Coach was on my hate list forever, but you come to understand why he is the way he is and along with Doug give him a second chance he doesn't deserve, and this isn't the only character you are forced to change your mind about. There are also folks filled with compassion who lift Doug up when he can't do it alone.

Doug learned from his father that when things are going really well that just means disaster is about to strike, over and over in his life this prophecy is fullfilled, but somehow even when things are at their worst Doug pushes on finding hope and new ways to make things whole. And Doug's father learns some lessons of his own, this part of the story struggles with being credible, we would all wish for the happy ending and I love that so many kid books give them to us but from the adult perspective dad's turnaround is a bit hard to believe and amazingly fast without therapy. You can certainly talk yourself into it, Lucas' return and courage inspire dad to show the same bravery. I did, happily suppending reality and accepting for Doug a new and better life. 'Tis time well spent reading this one.

PS I LOVE that the Five Little Peppers make a guest appearance

posted by amanderson on March 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Bad

-10000000000000 stars

posted by Anonymous on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Highly Recommended- Check it out!

    "Okay for Now"
    I have found a new favorite book. I got my hands on an ARC for Gary Schmidt's newest. Mr Schmidt wowed me with the "The Wednesday Wars" and this is being touted as a sequel. Don't worry if you haven't read "The Wednesday Wars," but you should, "Okay for Now" is a stand alone title where the main character had just a walk on part in the first novel. Historical fiction set in the late 60's where the range of topics seems almost overwhelming but somehow are woven seamlessly together. Vietnam, space exploration, science, drawing, dyslexia, baseball, Audubon, theatre, child abuse, friendship and first love, horseshoes, criminal activity, cancer, alcholism, and things as mundane as life in junior high, delivering groceries, sipping cold Cokes on hot summer days, and small town America at it's finest.

    I love Doug Sweiteck. This is one amazingly resiliant kid, with a snarky mouth and a heart of gold. He is the youngest of three brothers and sensitive to a fault. His oldest brother Lucas was apparently something of a hellion who ends up in Vietnam where he loses his legs and almost his sight. Lucas' return sets the stage for all sorts of changes in the family. Christopher whose name we learn only late it the book, is another juvenile deliquent in the works or so we think in the beginning. The father of the story is an alcoholic bully who doesn't deserve the amazing sons he sired. Mom is an abuse victim and an enabler, who you love as Doug does, but you wish she was just that much stronger so she could save herself and her sons.

    From page to page you ride an emotional roller coaster, laugh out loud momemts are quickly followed by heartbreaking cruelty, and inpirational hope. Mr Schmidt creates characters that are very real and great mixtures of good and evil. I was sure the PE Coach was on my hate list forever, but you come to understand why he is the way he is and along with Doug give him a second chance he doesn't deserve, and this isn't the only character you are forced to change your mind about. There are also folks filled with compassion who lift Doug up when he can't do it alone.

    Doug learned from his father that when things are going really well that just means disaster is about to strike, over and over in his life this prophecy is fullfilled, but somehow even when things are at their worst Doug pushes on finding hope and new ways to make things whole. And Doug's father learns some lessons of his own, this part of the story struggles with being credible, we would all wish for the happy ending and I love that so many kid books give them to us but from the adult perspective dad's turnaround is a bit hard to believe and amazingly fast without therapy. You can certainly talk yourself into it, Lucas' return and courage inspire dad to show the same bravery. I did, happily suppending reality and accepting for Doug a new and better life. 'Tis time well spent reading this one.

    PS I LOVE that the Five Little Peppers make a guest appearance

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    Awesome Book

    I am reading this right now and I love it! I highly recommend this to others. It is AWESOME!

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Schmidt's writing cannot fail to please!

    This latest title from one of the modern masters of childrens literature is a grand slam. This is storytelling at its best - a book that speaks to themes understood by kids and adults without compromise. I can't share it with my friends fast enough! I hope it wins the Newbery award!!!!!!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Best book ever

    I wish it would not end maybe there could be a sequel?

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Fascinating and Well Written!

    Okay for Now is the story of Doug Swieteck, a 14 year old "skinny thug" who lives in upstate New York during 1968. Doug's world is changed completely when his dad accepts a job in Northern Maryland. Everything changes when they move to Maryland, his dad always seems grumpy and is never around anymore, his mom always seems sad, is older brother is assumed a thief, which gives Doug the image of him and the town cautions everything Doug does, and he also finds out that Vietnam has changed his eldest brother, and not in the best of ways. Through all this turmoil though, Doug meets a witty girl his age named Lily, who teaches him how to drink a really cold Coke on a really hot day, and he finds a passion in drawing, especially drawing birds, which he must never reveal to his family. This story shows that even when life is unbearable, it will always end up okay, no matter how bad the times are. In my opinion, this book was well written and had many different conflicts, that each character had to deal with. The character development in this book is probably the best I've ever seen and this book was the kind that you will be reading all night long. The only reason I gave this book 4 stars and not 5, is because some of the book is only about him drawing birds, and for your information, is not very fun to read about. I would recommend this book to teenagers of any gender, young adults, adults who suffer from Vietnam Syndrome (post-traumatic stress), and people who are struggling with a recent house move.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Ah-mazing!

    Mr. Gary came to our school and talked to us about his new book the wednesday wars. I loved that book and i wanted to try this one. Im only on pg.34 and i loooove it gary is a mastermind genius

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Look

    Gotta get the book. But read wednesday wars first.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Fascinating and Well Written!

    Okay for Now is the story of Doug Swieteck, a 14 year old "skinny thug" who lives in upstate New York during 1968. Doug's world is changed completely when his dad accepts a job in Northern Maryland. Everything changes when they move to Maryland, his dad always seems grumpy and is never around anymore, his mom always seems sad, is older brother is assumed a thief, which gives Doug the image of him and the town cautions everything Doug does, and he also finds out that Vietnam has changed his eldest brother, and not in the best of ways. Through all this turmoil though, Doug meets a witty girl his age named Lily, who teaches him how to drink a really cold Coke on a really hot day, and he finds a passion in drawing, especially drawing birds, which he must never reveal to his family. This story shows that even when life is unbearable, it will always end up okay, no matter how bad the times are. In my opinion, this book was well written and had many different conflicts that each character had to deal with. The character development in this book is probably the best I've ever seen and this book was the kind that you will be reading all night long. The only reason I gave this book 4 stars and not 5, is because some of the book is only about him drawing birds, and for your information, is not very fun to read about. I would recommend this book to teenagers of any gender, young adults, adults who suffer from Vietnam Syndrome (post-traumatic stress), and people who are struggling with a recent house move.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Awesome, MUST READ!!!

    Great book, really had a great time reading it, once you get past the beginning, the story really picks up pace and will make you smile! A definite read!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Gary is beast

    What a book what detail i love it

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    I love this book

    This is the best boo kever

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Simply Fantastic

    I could not put this book down. Beautifully written, beautifully resolved. Many lessons.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Great book

    I lived in this book as I read it....and it stuck with me for days afterwards. A reminder of the positive influence that each one of us CAN have on another person by simply showing we believe in them. An amazing read

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    I think it was cool about the birds

    Well ok it was nice the fist time they mentoined the bird but the 20th time gets on my nerves who cares how to draw a bird other than that it was nice

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Great book

    This was one of the best books that i have ever read in my life!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Anonoymous

    Best book eva

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Unbelievably wonderful

    I read few books that truly make me fall in love with the characters. Just like Harry Potter, when i finished, i was actually heartbroken i wouldnt get to grow up with these lovable characters. The friends who read this at my recommendation have RAVED. Buy this book, and buy it now!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Long but good

    This book is long but a good book and I think you shoud try it if you are a long-book reader fan.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    A MASTERPIECE!

    A MASTERPIECE is the only way to describe this book. The book flows beautifully and the characters are perfection. Mr. Schmidt captures the essence of the late sixties. Having grown up in that time period, I knew these people. Mr. Schmidt has a marvelous ability to showcase both the positive and negative in his characters making them truly human. This is just not a children's book...it will touch all who read it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo

    It's 1968, and Doug has just moved. He's not exactly crazy about making new friends and starting school somewhere new in the fall, but of course, he doesn't have any choice. As usual, Doug's brother gets out of all the work of unpacking and settling-in chores. Their rental house leaves much to be desired, and Doug quickly nicknames it THE DUMP. His mother tries her best to make it comfortable, as everyone listens to his father complain about his new job and how no one appreciates his hard work. Doug discovers the local library. But rather than the books, he is attracted to a collection of valuable Audubon prints. The birds amaze him. When one librarian sees his fascination, he challenges Doug to attempt his own drawings. Doug is surprised to find a hidden artistic talent. In addition to his weekly trips to the library, Doug passes time during his first summer in town delivering groceries for the little neighborhood store. He learns his way around town and meets many of the locals as he pulls his delivery wagon from one street to the next. All of his customers seem welcoming, until his brother is suspected in several recent criminal activities. His brother usually manages to mess things up where Doug is concerned. Author Gary D. Schmidt continues the story he started in THE WEDNESDAY WARS here in OKAY FOR NOW, and multiple plot lines will keep readers interested. Doug struggles to steer clear of his abusive father, avoid his brother, stay out of trouble in school, and keep the secret of why he isn't successful in his classes. When Doug finds there are people who care and are willing to help him discover his potential, he finally begins to lose his cocky attitude and starts to blossom.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12