Customer Reviews for

Old Before My Time: Hayley Okines' Life with Progeria

Average Rating 5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Inspiring

    I am barley older than this girl and by reading this she has touched my life in many ways

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Very Insightful.

    I have gotten a late start in reading this book so I am only half way through. Just like reading Michael J Fox's book, I have learned so much about a disease I knew nothing about or had the wrong information about what I thought I knew. I loved Haley when I saw her on TV and wanted to be a part of her life. She is a wonderful child. My prayers go up to heaven for a cure for her. I am thankful that only God will decide when he is ready for Hayley just like it is with all of us. She has a purpose and she is using it for others. I'm so proud of her.
    Cathy Wood

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Go Haley

    Haley is an amazing girl. I only have gotten the sample of this book but i have seen a special on tv about her and her life. GO HALEY! YOU ROCK!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    I have seen her show

    I think she is a awesome person i like how she is brave and does not give up on her self

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    I am watching her show

    This girl is my age and she is amazing...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Hailey

    Five star amaziing and an easy touching. Read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Haily

    I think Haily is a very strong and out going girl that would never give up. At first I was really sad about what Haily was going through but after I got to know her better, I said "Hey that smart,brave,loving girl can do anything." And I'm not kidding. If I were one of the scientest back behind a counter trying to find a cure,I would look for that cure the rest of my life. Keep on going girl! I believe in you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Remarkable

    This book is an amazing story about hayleys experience with progeria

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Go HALEY

    I love haley!!! She is so brave! Cant wait to read book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    I first learned about Hayley while watching TLC. Once her series was over, I wanted to know more about her. I was so excited when I saw that she had a book, and I purchased it right away! It was so interesting to learn about her life and how uplifting she is. It is a great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Beautiful

    This book is abdolutley amazing! Im only 12 years old and i can relate to hayley because she is a teenage girl to. Hayley is so adorable! My dream is to meet her and make a difference in her life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    I love her

    Shes amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    So touching!

    This book was an inspirational read and some parts of the book were really sad and depressing. A cure for this disese needs to be made for it even though it is really. Thank you hailey for being a fighter and having the courage to face progeria headon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2012

    Wonderfully insightful!

    Having watched the progeria stories this book brought you to the real life issues and trials of people dealing with progeria. Awesome read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    highly recomend

    I thought this book was wonderful. It told you about her family and how they help Hayley get through rough spots in her life but try to keep it as normal as possible. I just fell in love with Hayley. Such a brave young woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Great read

    Wonderful story of Haley and her family as they experience life of a child with progeria.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Awsome

    Thisbisbgreat and life changeing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    The book's Hayley Okines is translated to spanish language? be c

    The book's Hayley Okines is translated to spanish language? be cause I know that many people in Mexico and Spain want to reed it.
    Plase can you give me an answer?
    Thank you very much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Amazing

    So far i really like this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Worth buying!

    Haley Okins is a really good writer for only being fourteen. I love this book! I did a book report on it for school and I just want to keep reading more about Haley! It is really sad though that she has progeria and all. I bet her parents are scared and herself also. But Haley said she isn't scared. I know I would be if I had progeria. You go Haley!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2