BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

An Old-Fashioned Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

True to this day, despite the time difference!

This book is not simply about a girl of the 19th century not fitting in with the upper class society. It is a story of one who chooses a higher path. It is a story about us today those of us who chose to live with the true values that withstand time--the values roote...
This book is not simply about a girl of the 19th century not fitting in with the upper class society. It is a story of one who chooses a higher path. It is a story about us today those of us who chose to live with the true values that withstand time--the values rooted in God and maintained by faith. There were no 'good old days'. No matter when in history a person lived, he or she was going against the grain if they chose wholesome faith over riotous living. Modern times only give people a new way to manifest the principle of living above the foolishness of the world.

posted by Anonymous on May 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Scan to digital

The scan to digital was too distracting with various and sundry characters out of place or in the wrong place.

posted by 9285662 on October 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    True to this day, despite the time difference!

    This book is not simply about a girl of the 19th century not fitting in with the upper class society. It is a story of one who chooses a higher path. It is a story about us today those of us who chose to live with the true values that withstand time--the values rooted in God and maintained by faith. There were no 'good old days'. No matter when in history a person lived, he or she was going against the grain if they chose wholesome faith over riotous living. Modern times only give people a new way to manifest the principle of living above the foolishness of the world.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2001

    OLD FASHION GIRL IS GREAT from an 8th grader

    I loved this book. If more books had the moral like this than the world would be better. Louisa May Alcott is my favorite author and has been since the 2 grade

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    What a great book!!

    This is such a lovely book!! I like the little bit of romance, but the characters are what makes this story enjoyable. They're so lifelike, and think exactly the way real people think, not like some other books where people are constantly good or happy, etc. I especially liked the Shaw's grandmother, because she was nice to Polly and because she was so wise. This isn't my MOST favorite Louisa book, but definitely A favorite.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2001

    A Timeless Book

    I read this book first when I was a young girl. For some reason it has always been special to me. Every now and then when I'm cleaning or re-organizing I'll find in on the shelf, sit down and read it again. At age 51 it's just as special and beautiful as it was years ago!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Great book!

    I loved this book! It was completely worth getting. I wish there were more books like this. It was a classic tale of young girl standing up for what she believes that was beautifully written.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2004

    My Favorite

    i read this book after reading Little Women, another graet Alcott classic. But An Old Fashioned Girl is my all time favorite! Very sweet,but not to sugary, like Little Women can be sometimes and I liked the touch of romance. Just perfect. The other graet thing about this book is that all the carcaters are very'real'. None are to sweet, to mean or to clever. Beautiful story. Perfect ending.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2001

    Lots of People could benefit

    I think that lots of people could benefit from reading this book. It has a very good moral about being wealthy. I liked it a lot.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2000

    A Wonderful Book!

    This is a great book.I first read 'Little Women' and loved that.So I tried this book and loved it also.The romance between Polly and Tom is so wonderful!I encourage everyone to read this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Old fashioned is best

    This is a good book for those who like love stories but do not want to be reading ones that are unreal and are not true. It also reminds you that it does not matter that you wear skirts when every one else is wearing pants . Its good to be old fashioned sometimes.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Love, love, love

    Such a great story. A must read. I will read again.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Loved it! Had a bit of everything.

    This book is about a girl from the country going to live with her fashionable city friends for a while. While she's there she tries to keep her old-fashioned lifestyle, knowing that fashionable isn't always best. This book has a touch of many things in it including comedy, romance, and lessons in good morals. I give it a 5 star rating because it kept me entertained and wanting to read more, it made me think, and it had nothing bad in it (which is a problem with many books.) I recomend thos book to adults and kids alike of all ages. Enjoy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Love it

    Really love the story- almost couldn't put it down. The only bad thing is the terrible spelling and misprints; they must've done it on purpose cause I don't see how anyone could be so ridiculous. But the story is very heartwarming!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Spectacular

    An Old Fashioned Girl has always been one of my favorite books and though i havent yet read this copy of it, thestory is worth your time. A young common girl is intrduced to the "high society" life of her cousins and is forced to decide if she will allow the scandal comforts and intruiges of that life to change her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Very true story up to this day

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Charming Novel

    An Old Fashioned Girl is an uplifting little story, that puts virtue and purity in a most agreeable light, unlike so many modern novels. I have read it several times, and each time, I enjoy it as much as the first.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2001

    The Best ever Book

    I finally got this book from the library after a lot of waiting. That night I stayed up till 1 am because I couldn't put the book down. The moral was very impotant and the romance added spice to the book. I've read it 3 times and is definitely my absolute favorite (Beleive me I've read alot) So for any girl from 10 to 100 this is a MUST !!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    I Love Alcott!

    It's not "Little Women" but it has the same simple feel-good story. For me, it's a reminder of my youth when I read all the books my mother could remember reading. Definitely a book for girls -- and perhaps for grandmas to read to the children.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Highly Recommended - Check it out!!

    A well written book that was truly enjoyable! More books today should be this well written with such good character development.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Must read!!!!!

    This bookwas so amazing, so gripping, so extraordinary to read!! It was also writen by one of the best authors ever - besides JKR... I was so sad when it ended but now Im wondering: why do you keep reading my stupid review? You should be reading this book!!!! :) thanks for reading!
    Btw....this book is for all ages...incase you were wondering

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!!!

    It is soooo good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5