Customer Reviews for

The Old Man and the Sea

Average Rating 4
( 527 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(228)

4 Star

(151)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

The Old Man and the Sea

The Old Man and the Sea

The old man and The Sea by Ernest Hemingway, a story just over 100 pages in length is about an experienced Cuban fisherman in the Gulf and the giant Marlin he kills and loses. The fisherman, named Santiago, has gone over 2 months without...
The Old Man and the Sea

The old man and The Sea by Ernest Hemingway, a story just over 100 pages in length is about an experienced Cuban fisherman in the Gulf and the giant Marlin he kills and loses. The fisherman, named Santiago, has gone over 2 months without catching any fish at all. On his 85th day at sea, his bait attracts a very large fish, which he believes to be a Marlin. He tries to reel the fish in but instead the fish drags his boat around and for two days the man struggles to keep his catch. On the third day, the Marlin finally stops dragging the boat and the old fisherman kills him. Santiago straps the fish to his boat and heads home. The trip home is not what Santiago desired and neither is the outcome but the way the story is told the ending is one that is not all bad.

I e njoyed this story very much and it took me a very short time to finish, not because of the length, but also because of the content. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a good read that does not drag itself out whatsoever. This short novel is fierce, full of vibrant energy and humanity, all the while being a slave to the realities of finite power, of the inability to struggle against something greater than you. Of course, this is the standard "man against nature" story, but it is told so well that it rings true. This story won Hemingway the Nobel Prize and there is no doubt as to why. The simplicity of the story mixed with the complexity of the character development and the symbolism that is shown, defines what is necessary to create a successful work.

posted by 547808 on December 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Eh?..

Stop writing such long reveiws people! I dont think u know but nobody reads them because their so long and pointless...short and simple proves a point a lot of the time! Jeez!

posted by 7152374 on May 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 527 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    The Old Man and the Sea

    The Old Man and the Sea<BR/><BR/>The old man and The Sea by Ernest Hemingway, a story just over 100 pages in length is about an experienced Cuban fisherman in the Gulf and the giant Marlin he kills and loses. The fisherman, named Santiago, has gone over 2 months without catching any fish at all. On his 85th day at sea, his bait attracts a very large fish, which he believes to be a Marlin. He tries to reel the fish in but instead the fish drags his boat around and for two days the man struggles to keep his catch. On the third day, the Marlin finally stops dragging the boat and the old fisherman kills him. Santiago straps the fish to his boat and heads home. The trip home is not what Santiago desired and neither is the outcome but the way the story is told the ending is one that is not all bad. <BR/><BR/>I e njoyed this story very much and it took me a very short time to finish, not because of the length, but also because of the content. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a good read that does not drag itself out whatsoever. This short novel is fierce, full of vibrant energy and humanity, all the while being a slave to the realities of finite power, of the inability to struggle against something greater than you. Of course, this is the standard "man against nature" story, but it is told so well that it rings true. This story won Hemingway the Nobel Prize and there is no doubt as to why. The simplicity of the story mixed with the complexity of the character development and the symbolism that is shown, defines what is necessary to create a successful work.

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Highly Recommend

    Written in such detail, you can see every moment play out beautifully. I felt like I was sitting right there with the old man during his struggle. Very emotional connection to the character.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hemingway at his best - a fine edition of an essential novella

    It is fitting that this was the last book published by Hemingway in his lifetime: while he was still in his early fifties when wrote and published the novella to great success, the book works perfectly as the final work of a great writer and man, with reflections on life and the dignity of man at the twilight of his life. The prose is as precise and engaging as you can expect from Hemingway, in my opinion the great master of prose in the 20th century. This novella might be the perfect introduction to Hemingway to a novice reader of literature and I plan to read the story to my kids. I think it is beautiful, moving and is a great tale of perseverance, courage and humility in the figure of the heroic fisherman Santiago. The beautiful frienship between the old man and the boy is also touching as an example of gratitude and brotherly love.

    In short, you find the best of the human spirit in full display on this book - in most of his other books, Hemingway dwelled (with brilliance) on much darker sides of life (and death) but this one is a celebration of the best in all of us. The depiction of the natural world is breathtaking in its precision and energy and we know that Hemingway truly knew and loved the Gulf Stream and its creatures, big and small.

    Much has been said about this book and I would like to comment on the specific edition: it has quite a few drawings illustrating the characters (including the awesome big fish!)and action on the book and it is a nice touch. For this, I highly recommend this edition of this short but rewarding masterpiece of a book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    SoRrY

    this book was atually sort of good it taught me the facts of life and what its like to be a cuban dude tryin to get a big fish for DEENER

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Eh?..

    Stop writing such long reveiws people! I dont think u know but nobody reads them because their so long and pointless...short and simple proves a point a lot of the time! Jeez!

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Good read

    If you are looking for a good book this may be the book for you. The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemmingway has only 95 pages with pictures, so if you don't like it you only wasted about 45 minutes of your time. To me it was alright there could of been places where it could have been more exciting, but that might just be me. But overall the book was pretty good.
    If you love fishing like I do you will probably will enjoy this book because it was written by a fisherman. So there are a lot of feelings that fishermen feel when they go fishing, and that gives the book a little something. So here is an example, "He is two feet longer than the skiff," the old man said. The line was going out fast but steadily ant he fish was not panicked. The old man was trying with both hands to keep the line just inside of breaking strength. He knew that if he could not slow the fish with a steady pressure the fish could take out all the line and break it." If you are a fisherman you know that feeling, the feeling of knowing you caught a monster fish, the line is peeling out, and you try to keep tension just right. But if you are not the fishing type this book is pretty interesting to read.

    At points the book does get boring and you may not enjoy the ending. I personally did get bored at a few points in the book, but then the boring parts made the action parts seem much better. I can't tell you the ending, but i thought it was a little let down, but i will let you decide whether you like it or not.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Great Story!

    By far Ernest Hemingway's best story ever written.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Easy and Fantastic

    The Old Man and the Sea is a great example of American literature at its height. It is a quick and easy read -- only about 130 pages. Hemingway's writing style allows the story to flow throughout the pages without any chapter interruptions. This book is great to read at any time. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Hemingway or 20th century American literature.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Boring

    This book was total crap. It was boring and sounded like something died. Don not recommend

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    I did not like this book at all. It was a pointless story about

    I did not like this book at all. It was a pointless story about nothing.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Holy Moly Crap.

    I had to read this book for a school assignment. At first, I was excited because from all reports it looked like a really good read. And it would have been, after all, Hemingway has great style and originality. However, all the fanfare led to dissapointment to me when he catches this giant marlin, tows it in despite the feasting sharks, and arrives on the docks with a skeleton, only to resume his dreary life. The ending was disgusting. And I've never been this disgusted with a classic, a genre that usually brings me joy.

    2 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    A Fun Introduction to Hemingway

    If you enjoy a good read with simple style, then pick up this book. It makes you think about what kinds of things are worth fighting for and what kinds of things mean the most to us.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    good easy book to read

    Ernest Hemingway wrote The Old Man and the Sea while he was in Cuba in 1951. In this book the main character is an old man named Santiago who lives in a small fishing village near Havana, Cuba. It is set in the late 1940¿s. The old man is a fisherman, but he does not catch very many fish. In the beginning of the book the old man is in an eighty four day streak of not catching any fish. He goes so long with no fish that the parents of his assistant, Manolin, decide that their son needs to be on a different boat even though the boy likes the old man better than he likes the other fishermen. The boy still helps the old man while he is in port but he goes out to sea by himself. One day the old man tells the boy that he will go far out into to ocean in hopes of catching a gigantic fish. After a few hours with little luck the old man hooks the biggest marlin he has ever seen and starts a three day fight with him. After he gets the fish close enough to the boat he harpoons it. The fish is so big that it will not fit inside the boat, so he ties it to the outside of the boat and sets sail for town. <BR/> I believe with this is over all a good book. This book has a really simple plot. The book would have been better if there were more people on the boat while he was fishing. With more people it is more entertaining because there are more things going on. But if there were a more complicated plot then the book probably would have been longer. One of the reasons I liked this book was that it is so short and it is about fishing which is more interesting than some other things you can write a book about. Ernest Hemingway is a good writer and can write a well put together book I think that he worked hard writing this book and it is nicely done. This book is easy to read, well written and generally good. The only down side is the simplicity of the plot, but this adds to the easiness of reading the book this book¿s plot made is a very fast easy book to read and can be read by anyone. I think anyone who likes fishing would enjoy this book. This book unlike some other novels is easy to read. I think that almost anyone could read this book. I also think everyone should read this book to get a sample of Hemingway¿s writing style without having to read a long hard novel. I would assume this book is more appealing to someone who needs to read a book than a long novel with sentences that cover half a page. In conclusion, this is a good book and everyone should read it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    After Reading "The Old Man and the Sea"

    The Old Man and the Sea, the novella by Ernest Hemingway, tells a simple yet moving tale of an old fisherman named Santiago. A small village on the northern coast of Cuba is the main setting of the story where Santiago, the protagonist, faces humiliation for not being able to catch any fish for eighty-four days. Although he is aged and seemingly out of luck, Santiago believes in his own ability to turn his luck around and sails deeper into the gulf ocean on eighty-fifth day. There, he catches a huge marlin and fights to the best of his ability with the fish for three straight days; after enduring days of exhaustion and injuries, Santiago triumphs against his ¿worthy enemy.¿ The marlin was too big to load on his boat, so Santiago had to drag it in water all the way back. By the time he returned to the harbor, there were only bones of the marlin left because of continuous shark attacks along the way. Even though people in town could not recognize what it was, Santiago is content and dreams of better days to come. <BR/> Santiago is an inspiring character who personifies self-respect, courage and perseverance. Despite the townspeople¿s mockery and unfavorable circumstances, he has a strong pride and faith in himself that no hardship can defeat him. Joe DiMaggio, Santiago¿s personal hero, is a symbol of the unconquerable spirit Santiago possesses deep inside. Using the omniscient point of view, Hemingway also shows how Santiago repeatedly dreams of lions in Africa. Just as Santiago sails further into the ocean after having the same dream, the lions in his dream symbolize youth, power and hope for tomorrow. Santiago¿s struggle against the marlin in the sea is the climax of this story because his courage and perseverance enable him to achieve victory against all odds. <BR/> The novel had relatively a simple plot. However, it teaches several important lessons. The main theme of the story is that one should not give up his/her hope under any circumstances. The author, Earnest Hemingway, emphasized the importance of bravery and faith throughout the story. No matter how much one¿s life seems tragic, one should always live with belief and faith in oneself. It gives a strong inspiration to the readers how Santiago achieves victory against the nature by himself without any possessions and supports from outside.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Awesome

    #oldpeoplefishing

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Old Man and the Sea

    Don't get me wrong, Ernest Hemingway is a superb writer... but I did find this book more dragged out than I would have liked. It was one of my father's favorites when he was a kid, so I thought it would be interesting enough, but I suppose I was bored on account of my dislike of fishing.

    The first part of The Old Man and the Sea wasn't very intriguing, I must say. The main character's life just seems so bleak that the book didn't reel me in like I hoped it would. And the ending, where the sharks eat the marlin and the main character returns home with only a skeleton... I just about cried, I was so unsatisfied. No, I didn't expect it to be a happy ending, but what I did think was that there would be some lesson learned. The whole story line was the main character spent days until a sacrifice (the killing of the marlin) was made, only to have his prize devoured by sharks! He should have cut the line of the fishing pole in the first place! He should have let the marlin roam free in the ocean, to let the great fish live a life of as much peace as possible!

    It may be just me, but I found this book perplexing... and I still don't understand the point of the story at all. I don't encourage you to read it unless you are a fan of Hemingway, enjoy fishing, and/or understand the morale of the story. Anyhow, I rated The Old Man and the Sea 2 stars instead of 1 because of E. Hemingway's magnificent writing abilities... and did not base it on the plot I will never be fond of.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Love this book

    I love reading just about everything, but especially the classics. I enjoy everything from Shakespeare to Tolstoy to Asimov. However this is the ONLY book I've reread. Over the past 25 years I've probably read this book 15 times.

    This book is the epitome of Hemingway's "less is more" style. I love the depth achieved with so few words. I'll be reading this one over and over for the rest of my life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Awesome book!

    Best book i ever read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Classic the characters were so real!

    Ernest Hemingway tells an amazing story. It contains really vivid characters. You can almost see, hear, smell and feel them. I loved this book. I only gave it 4 stars because it was a little short. When I finished it, I really wanted to be longer at the start, middle and the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Main points:

    ? old man talks to boy ? old man lives old life ? old man goes out to sea alone ? old man pulled out to sea for ?4+ days by big fish ? old man eats small fish ? old man talks to hand ? old man talks to fish ? old man talk to himself ? old man kills fish ? old man talks to hand again ? old man battles 1 shark ? old man battles 2 sharks ? old man battles many sharks ? no fish left; just bones ? old man falls asleep CONGRATS!! You just finnished all 95 pages of The Old Man And The Sea! It was an ok book. Really short and kinda boring. The only three people: boy, old man, and the merlin. If you just need to read a book for school or something, this would be great. Other than that, it's allright.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 527 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27