Customer Reviews for

The Old Man and the Sea

Average Rating 4
( 524 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(227)

4 Star

(150)

3 Star

(70)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

The Old Man and the Sea

The Old Man and the Sea

The old man and The Sea by Ernest Hemingway, a story just over 100 pages in length is about an experienced Cuban fisherman in the Gulf and the giant Marlin he kills and loses. The fisherman, named Santiago, has gone over 2 months without...
The Old Man and the Sea

The old man and The Sea by Ernest Hemingway, a story just over 100 pages in length is about an experienced Cuban fisherman in the Gulf and the giant Marlin he kills and loses. The fisherman, named Santiago, has gone over 2 months without catching any fish at all. On his 85th day at sea, his bait attracts a very large fish, which he believes to be a Marlin. He tries to reel the fish in but instead the fish drags his boat around and for two days the man struggles to keep his catch. On the third day, the Marlin finally stops dragging the boat and the old fisherman kills him. Santiago straps the fish to his boat and heads home. The trip home is not what Santiago desired and neither is the outcome but the way the story is told the ending is one that is not all bad.

I e njoyed this story very much and it took me a very short time to finish, not because of the length, but also because of the content. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a good read that does not drag itself out whatsoever. This short novel is fierce, full of vibrant energy and humanity, all the while being a slave to the realities of finite power, of the inability to struggle against something greater than you. Of course, this is the standard "man against nature" story, but it is told so well that it rings true. This story won Hemingway the Nobel Prize and there is no doubt as to why. The simplicity of the story mixed with the complexity of the character development and the symbolism that is shown, defines what is necessary to create a successful work.

posted by 547808 on December 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Eh?..

Stop writing such long reveiws people! I dont think u know but nobody reads them because their so long and pointless...short and simple proves a point a lot of the time! Jeez!

posted by 7152374 on May 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Easy and Fantastic

    The Old Man and the Sea is a great example of American literature at its height. It is a quick and easy read -- only about 130 pages. Hemingway's writing style allows the story to flow throughout the pages without any chapter interruptions. This book is great to read at any time. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Hemingway or 20th century American literature.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Good read

    If you are looking for a good book this may be the book for you. The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemmingway has only 95 pages with pictures, so if you don't like it you only wasted about 45 minutes of your time. To me it was alright there could of been places where it could have been more exciting, but that might just be me. But overall the book was pretty good.
    If you love fishing like I do you will probably will enjoy this book because it was written by a fisherman. So there are a lot of feelings that fishermen feel when they go fishing, and that gives the book a little something. So here is an example, "He is two feet longer than the skiff," the old man said. The line was going out fast but steadily ant he fish was not panicked. The old man was trying with both hands to keep the line just inside of breaking strength. He knew that if he could not slow the fish with a steady pressure the fish could take out all the line and break it." If you are a fisherman you know that feeling, the feeling of knowing you caught a monster fish, the line is peeling out, and you try to keep tension just right. But if you are not the fishing type this book is pretty interesting to read.

    At points the book does get boring and you may not enjoy the ending. I personally did get bored at a few points in the book, but then the boring parts made the action parts seem much better. I can't tell you the ending, but i thought it was a little let down, but i will let you decide whether you like it or not.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    A Fun Introduction to Hemingway

    If you enjoy a good read with simple style, then pick up this book. It makes you think about what kinds of things are worth fighting for and what kinds of things mean the most to us.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    good easy book to read

    Ernest Hemingway wrote The Old Man and the Sea while he was in Cuba in 1951. In this book the main character is an old man named Santiago who lives in a small fishing village near Havana, Cuba. It is set in the late 1940¿s. The old man is a fisherman, but he does not catch very many fish. In the beginning of the book the old man is in an eighty four day streak of not catching any fish. He goes so long with no fish that the parents of his assistant, Manolin, decide that their son needs to be on a different boat even though the boy likes the old man better than he likes the other fishermen. The boy still helps the old man while he is in port but he goes out to sea by himself. One day the old man tells the boy that he will go far out into to ocean in hopes of catching a gigantic fish. After a few hours with little luck the old man hooks the biggest marlin he has ever seen and starts a three day fight with him. After he gets the fish close enough to the boat he harpoons it. The fish is so big that it will not fit inside the boat, so he ties it to the outside of the boat and sets sail for town. <BR/> I believe with this is over all a good book. This book has a really simple plot. The book would have been better if there were more people on the boat while he was fishing. With more people it is more entertaining because there are more things going on. But if there were a more complicated plot then the book probably would have been longer. One of the reasons I liked this book was that it is so short and it is about fishing which is more interesting than some other things you can write a book about. Ernest Hemingway is a good writer and can write a well put together book I think that he worked hard writing this book and it is nicely done. This book is easy to read, well written and generally good. The only down side is the simplicity of the plot, but this adds to the easiness of reading the book this book¿s plot made is a very fast easy book to read and can be read by anyone. I think anyone who likes fishing would enjoy this book. This book unlike some other novels is easy to read. I think that almost anyone could read this book. I also think everyone should read this book to get a sample of Hemingway¿s writing style without having to read a long hard novel. I would assume this book is more appealing to someone who needs to read a book than a long novel with sentences that cover half a page. In conclusion, this is a good book and everyone should read it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    After Reading "The Old Man and the Sea"

    The Old Man and the Sea, the novella by Ernest Hemingway, tells a simple yet moving tale of an old fisherman named Santiago. A small village on the northern coast of Cuba is the main setting of the story where Santiago, the protagonist, faces humiliation for not being able to catch any fish for eighty-four days. Although he is aged and seemingly out of luck, Santiago believes in his own ability to turn his luck around and sails deeper into the gulf ocean on eighty-fifth day. There, he catches a huge marlin and fights to the best of his ability with the fish for three straight days; after enduring days of exhaustion and injuries, Santiago triumphs against his ¿worthy enemy.¿ The marlin was too big to load on his boat, so Santiago had to drag it in water all the way back. By the time he returned to the harbor, there were only bones of the marlin left because of continuous shark attacks along the way. Even though people in town could not recognize what it was, Santiago is content and dreams of better days to come. <BR/> Santiago is an inspiring character who personifies self-respect, courage and perseverance. Despite the townspeople¿s mockery and unfavorable circumstances, he has a strong pride and faith in himself that no hardship can defeat him. Joe DiMaggio, Santiago¿s personal hero, is a symbol of the unconquerable spirit Santiago possesses deep inside. Using the omniscient point of view, Hemingway also shows how Santiago repeatedly dreams of lions in Africa. Just as Santiago sails further into the ocean after having the same dream, the lions in his dream symbolize youth, power and hope for tomorrow. Santiago¿s struggle against the marlin in the sea is the climax of this story because his courage and perseverance enable him to achieve victory against all odds. <BR/> The novel had relatively a simple plot. However, it teaches several important lessons. The main theme of the story is that one should not give up his/her hope under any circumstances. The author, Earnest Hemingway, emphasized the importance of bravery and faith throughout the story. No matter how much one¿s life seems tragic, one should always live with belief and faith in oneself. It gives a strong inspiration to the readers how Santiago achieves victory against the nature by himself without any possessions and supports from outside.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Classic the characters were so real!

    Ernest Hemingway tells an amazing story. It contains really vivid characters. You can almost see, hear, smell and feel them. I loved this book. I only gave it 4 stars because it was a little short. When I finished it, I really wanted to be longer at the start, middle and the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    The Old Man and the Sea is about an old fisherman in Cuba that h

    The Old Man and the Sea is about an old fisherman in Cuba that has a special relationship with a young boy. He has an even greater passion for baseball. The old man has gone a long time since he has brought home a fish and he knows he needs to. So the old man ( Santiago) goes out with live bait that the boy had got him and he feels a monster fish which he immediately assumes is a marlin. He also finds out it isn't going to be very easy because it is the biggest fish he had ever felt. After a grueling several days the mighty fish surfaces and the old man can't believe his eyes when he sees it. He quickly clubs it till the enormous fish lay motionless leaving a streak of blood throughout the water. The old man knows getting home will be the hardest thing he had encountered yet. He is constantly encountered by sharks attracted by the enormous corpse. Santiago fights off many sharks but by the time he arrives to shore the corpse of the marlin is nothing but bone and cartilage. The next morning every one stands around his catch and stand in awe of the size of the fish. This book can be enjoyed by anyone because it is quite short but really hooks you and keeps you wanting more. It also shows a great relationship between Santiago and the boy which has gone back for many years and the older and older Santiago gets, the boy keep taking care of him. Ernest Hemingway knocked it out the ballpark with this book and there is no doubt in my mind why he won several awards from such a magnificent story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    #ilikeit

    This book was simple, but that is what makes it so beaitiful. Just because it doesn't have a twisty plot or intricate charcter relationships doesn't make it bad. Besides, Hemmingway is such a good author I aalmost couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    powerful!

    enjoyed this simple story of one man's experience in the open ocean. simple prose & evocative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Well...

    Im sure its a great book but i just cant get farther than the fifth page. I keep on trying every year or so but it s just not for me. Maybe its cuz im only 11 yrs. Old the only thing is i hope i start liking it soon cuz im gonna have to read it in high school if my sisters right. Shes about to graduate college. Anyway im not saying its a bad book its just boring in the begining for me. But thats just my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    "The Old Man and the Sea" Book Review

    Ernest Hemmingway's final novel (or at least the last one that the author saw published) should not work. It's the story of a man trying to catch a fish, and then trying to keep the fish. It's a small-scale story told by a man who is known for his spectacular epics. But Hemmingway manages to pull it off, and turns the story of a guy and a fish into a struggle between a guy and a seemingly unstoppable force. My only real complaint about the novel is that, after a while, it just seems to go on and on and on. But that's what fishing is like anyway. All in all, "The Old Man and the Sea" is a highly entertaining book by a brilliant author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is quite interesting, if you know the meaning behind i

    This book is quite interesting, if you know the meaning behind it. For me it was a tad difficult to extract, but I'm sure I got the gist of it. It is a nice a little over a hundred page book, and I do recommend it to anyone. I also say to read Ernest Hemingway's Cuban Son, for not only some insight on Hemingway, but to see what Hemingway says in life and in the book. It is slow most of the book, until the ending. It really picks up the pace. Overall, I do recommend it, just prepare to be confused.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Some people can be so stupid

    For those of unintelligent nature, this book is about a man catching a fish.... but look deeper and you will see that this story is actually an autobiography of hemingway himself... if you still dont see the allegory behind the text... google it.... or dont... i could care less... i would prefer to remain smarter than the majority of you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Samuri fruit

    If you stink at fruit ninja then this app is for you. Despite the sloppy graphics, it is easier than fruit ninja and still fun!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Well written

    I personally dislike books about maritime adventures but this one was certainly different. The dialogues, Santiago's rich personality, and the surprise ending certainly make this book worth reading. A beautifully told story in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Goood

    This is a very nice enjoyable book. Everyone can appretiate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Thoughtful

    I found this book very thought provoking. It is a story to continue to turn over in one's mind. I like that. I wonder if anyone has compared this story to Melville's Moby Dick. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Have to read for ebglish Have to read for English

    Read half of it so far just about a fisherman and a fish what else is new? Anyway good so far :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Short and minimalistic

    A classic in literature but it is really not for everyone. At 120ish pages, the price is a little steep. Nothing spectacular was gained in my reading it. Just your good ol epic battle of man vs nature. Sharks are just not a friend of the Old Man, sadly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    One masterpiece.

    The Old Man and the Sea is a story about a Cuban fisherman, Santiago, who after eighty-four days of not having any luck catching anything; he is dragged far out in the sea by a big marlin. Manolin is Santiago's young assistant. Manolin admires Santiago and has spent time with Santiago from early childhood, hearing stories about Santiago's experiences in Africa as a kid and also about American baseball. Due to Santiago's bad luck, Manolin's parents decided that the boy should find another fisherman to assist. However, Manolin cares too much about Santiago and continues in his devotion. Even though Santiago doesn't have any luck, he is confident and optimistic. Santiago is brave throughout the adventure. My favorite character is Santiago because he demonstrates courage by facing challenges in the sea, fighting loneliness, hunger, sharks, the marlin and eventually surviving. I think I can relate to Santiago because, just like him, I like to give my best to everything I do. I really like the fact that he remains positive throughout the story. Just like Santiago, I have been in situations that required me to remain confident and strong. I remember once, I went with friends on a bike trip along the coast. My friends asked if I was ready to ride more than 3 miles. I said, "Yes." We decided to race. Halfway through the race, I became very tired and asked my comrades to wait for me. Instead they laughed, so I decided this was a chance to prove that I was capable of doing anything I set my mind to. I pushed myself feeling the pain and finished the race. Just like Santiago, I wouldn't be able to live with giving up on something that I was capable of doing. I like the book because it is about adventures and how an old man is able to endure obstacles no matter the situation. Santiago is a clear example that if we remain positive we can accomplish anything. One of my favorite parts of the book is when Manolin convinces Santiago there is no such thing as luck, just faith. If I could change anything from the story, it would be the way Santiago starts the voyage. If Santiago had the right tools before going far out to the sea, he wouldn't have struggled so much and put his life on edge. I definitely recommend this book to everyone because I think Hemingway gives an excellent perspective of how man can struggle in life, but with confidence and faith can conquer any challenges.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8