Customer Reviews for

The Old Man and the Sea

Average Rating 4
( 540 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(232)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

The Old Man and the Sea

The Old Man and the Sea

The old man and The Sea by Ernest Hemingway, a story just over 100 pages in length is about an experienced Cuban fisherman in the Gulf and the giant Marlin he kills and loses. The fisherman, named Santiago, has gone over 2 months without...
The Old Man and the Sea

The old man and The Sea by Ernest Hemingway, a story just over 100 pages in length is about an experienced Cuban fisherman in the Gulf and the giant Marlin he kills and loses. The fisherman, named Santiago, has gone over 2 months without catching any fish at all. On his 85th day at sea, his bait attracts a very large fish, which he believes to be a Marlin. He tries to reel the fish in but instead the fish drags his boat around and for two days the man struggles to keep his catch. On the third day, the Marlin finally stops dragging the boat and the old fisherman kills him. Santiago straps the fish to his boat and heads home. The trip home is not what Santiago desired and neither is the outcome but the way the story is told the ending is one that is not all bad.

I e njoyed this story very much and it took me a very short time to finish, not because of the length, but also because of the content. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a good read that does not drag itself out whatsoever. This short novel is fierce, full of vibrant energy and humanity, all the while being a slave to the realities of finite power, of the inability to struggle against something greater than you. Of course, this is the standard "man against nature" story, but it is told so well that it rings true. This story won Hemingway the Nobel Prize and there is no doubt as to why. The simplicity of the story mixed with the complexity of the character development and the symbolism that is shown, defines what is necessary to create a successful work.

posted by 547808 on December 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Eh?..

Stop writing such long reveiws people! I dont think u know but nobody reads them because their so long and pointless...short and simple proves a point a lot of the time! Jeez!

posted by 7152374 on May 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 156 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Have to read for ebglish Have to read for English

    Read half of it so far just about a fisherman and a fish what else is new? Anyway good so far :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Short and minimalistic

    A classic in literature but it is really not for everyone. At 120ish pages, the price is a little steep. Nothing spectacular was gained in my reading it. Just your good ol epic battle of man vs nature. Sharks are just not a friend of the Old Man, sadly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    One masterpiece.

    The Old Man and the Sea is a story about a Cuban fisherman, Santiago, who after eighty-four days of not having any luck catching anything; he is dragged far out in the sea by a big marlin. Manolin is Santiago's young assistant. Manolin admires Santiago and has spent time with Santiago from early childhood, hearing stories about Santiago's experiences in Africa as a kid and also about American baseball. Due to Santiago's bad luck, Manolin's parents decided that the boy should find another fisherman to assist. However, Manolin cares too much about Santiago and continues in his devotion. Even though Santiago doesn't have any luck, he is confident and optimistic. Santiago is brave throughout the adventure. My favorite character is Santiago because he demonstrates courage by facing challenges in the sea, fighting loneliness, hunger, sharks, the marlin and eventually surviving. I think I can relate to Santiago because, just like him, I like to give my best to everything I do. I really like the fact that he remains positive throughout the story. Just like Santiago, I have been in situations that required me to remain confident and strong. I remember once, I went with friends on a bike trip along the coast. My friends asked if I was ready to ride more than 3 miles. I said, "Yes." We decided to race. Halfway through the race, I became very tired and asked my comrades to wait for me. Instead they laughed, so I decided this was a chance to prove that I was capable of doing anything I set my mind to. I pushed myself feeling the pain and finished the race. Just like Santiago, I wouldn't be able to live with giving up on something that I was capable of doing. I like the book because it is about adventures and how an old man is able to endure obstacles no matter the situation. Santiago is a clear example that if we remain positive we can accomplish anything. One of my favorite parts of the book is when Manolin convinces Santiago there is no such thing as luck, just faith. If I could change anything from the story, it would be the way Santiago starts the voyage. If Santiago had the right tools before going far out to the sea, he wouldn't have struggled so much and put his life on edge. I definitely recommend this book to everyone because I think Hemingway gives an excellent perspective of how man can struggle in life, but with confidence and faith can conquer any challenges.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    Chase Forehand

    The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway is a strong story told about a man named Santiago. Santiago is an experienced Cuban fisherman who hasn't caught a fish in eighty four days. Santiago's unlucky situation brings embarrassment and the loss of his closest friend Manolin, who is not longer allowed to fish with him. Things seem to begin falling apart, but Santiago's humble heart doesn't give up. Santiago sets out for another fishing expedition alone when he encounters a great Blue Marlin. Santiago fights the marlin for days, leaving him with weakness and mangled hands.
    This book was not only an easy book to read but also a very short book that took no time at all to read. I enjoyed reading this book because it taught me to never give up and to be humble in my own circumstances. One thing that I didn't like about the book is that it was rather predictable and at times, boring. Manolin reminded me of a good friend of mind because Manolin was always there for Santiago no matter what anyone else said or felt about him. This story reminded me of a friendship of two characters in the book Holes by Louis Sacher, because they were also there for each other no matter what the circumstance. I would recommend this book for anyone who likes a good lesson and an easy to read book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2008

    The Old Man and the Sea

    I have not read the book, I have not seen either movie. I am on line looking for a copy of each to purchase. We were in Hawaii a few weeks ago, went to an Historical Hawaiian temple and kayaked across the bay to Capt. Cook's monument. We visited with the locals for a long time, a woman who makes jewelry from items found in the area was so informative about the area. She is fourth generation to live in the exact area where this story began. It is a true story, it is her uncle. The way she told it sounded so interesting that I cannot wait to see the movies, both of them. So here's a positive comment, maybe I'll find it more interesting than the rest of you because I heard it first hand before watching it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    Old man and the Sea By Josh Sutton

    This book The Old Man And the Sea by Earnest Hemingway is a incredible story about courage and never giving up. In the begging of the story there is a old man who has been a amazing fisherman who had been very down on his luck for the last couple of months. The old man has a companion in a little boy who lives in the village where he lives. Behind the old mans back people are always laughing at him saying that he is a old washed up fisherman who should just give up. But the old man never gives up, he still gets up every morning and goes fishing knowing that his luck will change eventully. And then one moring started out just like any other, and then suddenly he hooked a fish. The old man thought that it was a ordinary fish not knowing that it would be the one of the biggest Marlins in the sea, and it was to become a epic and couragiouse story about man against the the over powering strength of a giant fish!! The man fought this giant day and night. After the third day of battleing with fish the man had to worry about himself, and think about how he was going to survive miles out at sea and with limited food. After the fourth day the man had literally ran out of food and had to catch his food which was very difficult, and the old man was begging to wonder if his old body could take the pain much longer. Eventually the man had harpooned the fish enough times that it had finally fought itself to death and the man was on its way home. On the old mans way home with a huge dead body of a giant fish it had attracted sharks because of the blood. What happens next his devastating and heart felt......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    A Great Catch!

    Ernest Hemmingway's Pulitzer Prize-winning novel, The Old Man and the Sea, is an extraordinary story that is enjoyable for all ages. This novel is about an old Cuban fisherman that goes out to sea on a fishing trip and the adventures he has on his trip. Using very detailed description and amazing word choice, Hemmingway creates a story with an extremely unusual setting, charismatic characters, a seemingly simple plot, and connections for any reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    The 85th day

    I recently read the book The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway. It is about Santiago (mostly referred to as the old man), who goes out to sea on his boat with only one bottle of water, a couple things to eat, and his own courage. He is out there for 84 days and catches nothing, but on the 85th day he gets lucky and catches the bigest Marlin in the sea. His boat is too small for the Marlin to fit, so he has to troll the Marlin on the side of the boat, making it prey for others to eat. This book is full of excitement and joyfulness, but shows the hard work of the old man, his feelings for his son, and the challenge he has in the sea. I recommend this book to anyone that wants a good book to read in their spare time and wants a good story that will leave you questioning when you stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    revisiting a clasic

    The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway is not what I expected of a Pulitzer Prize winning novel. It isn¿t 400 pages of boring writing. It is an exciting 116 page short story about an Old Man¿s love for fishing and his ex-boy fishing mate and the sea and fishing. Throughout the book there is dialogue and it is written in third person. What was interesting to me was the book is not a chapter or a diary/journal book it is a short story about an old man and the sea. . If you like short stories, then I suggest that you also read Edger Allen Poe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    Catch of a Lifetime

    The Old Man and the Sea, written by Ernest Hemingway, is a classic novel because of its extravigant settings and characters, entertaining plot, and unbelievable connections to religion. Throughout the book, Hemingway uses connections to religion succesfully, while pulling in the reader with a simplistic plot, unusual setting, and memorable characters. Because of his misfortune, Santiago, the old man, loses his apprentice who is a boy named Manolin. Manolin's parents send their son into a more prosperous boat that catches more fish. After several days of no luck, Santiago finally catches a giant marlin. Santiago wrestles the marlin for three days off the coast of Cuba. While being pulled out to sea, Santiago learns about the meaning of life and god. Hemingway does an excellent job relating the life of a fisherman and his arduous journey on the sea to god.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    Suspenseful

    The Old Man And The Sea by Ernest Hemingway is a great read for anyone I definitely give this book four stars and two thumbs up. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat as Ernest Hemingway takes you out to the ocean while an old man battles to keep his prize fish. As the old Cuban fisherman sits in the sweltering heat of the sun fishing in his boat he feels a bite. The bite may seem like an ordinary bite to amatuers, but to the old man it feels like a prize that will take time and effort to catch. He had no idea what lay ahead of him, or what would happen when he got back to the shore. He struggles with this one fish for days upon days with only raw fish and dolphin to eat. He knows he has found a prize fish and he does not want to lose it. Once he finally catches the fish he has to navigate his way back home because the fish, which he finds out is a marlin, has pulled him so far out to sea he does not reconize anything around him. He determies the direction and sets off. On the way he battles sharks that are trying to reach his catch that was so big that he had to tie it to the edge of the boat. Whie he fights the sharks he must also catch little fish and dolphins to maintain his strength until he gets to his hut which now seems a long way away. I would recommend this book along with The Giver by Lois Lowry and Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    Not your average page turner

    If you're looking for a modern page turner such as 'Da Vince Code' or McCrae's 'Katzenjammer,' STOP! This won't be it. Rather it is a slow-paced and parable/fable-type book that is one giant metaphor for life. So many have tried to anayze this book and see just what Hemingway was trying to say, but for me, that doesn't matter. This is a stellar book--his best, and totally unlike his other works. Frankly, I couldn't get through 'For Whom the Bell Tolls,' but this book, I've read three times now. It's now long and pretty easy. Something peaceful and relaxing about it, even though it deals with man's struggle with himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2005

    Ok

    I had to read this book.I enjoyed it but even reading about being out in the sea for more than a day is sickining!I did like it though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    Not a read through, Disection of this novel is imperative!

    This novel was a very good one. Not suitable for younger and less mature readers. This particular novel is interesting because there are obvious moments of symbolism, yet the author denied including any into it. This book is not one to read through and get the 'jist' of it. To really understand it, you have to pick apart little details, and once a reader does this, it is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2005

    Awesome book

    This book is such a good book. It is very deep and it's intresting. Immature 13 year olds should not read it but if you are looking for a good book and you can take it seriously at any age read this book. You have to look deep within the pages not just see the surface story. which is boring, you cant read this story on a literal level, because if you do you will be completly bored.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2005

    Limbo

    I believe this book showed an heroic story about Santiago fighting the fish just to show himself that even though he is old and worn, he still has the spirt and passion for fishing. Hemingways view of the book shows all the ways of life and how life is unavoidable and unpredictable. The only thing that didn't really intrest me was how he some times over detailed parts of the book. I do enjoy book's that are factual and detailed, but not when an author tries to outstrech a subject. This only happened a few times in the book in my opinion. Hemingway is a brilliant author just like Sylvia Plath and James Fenmimore Cooper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    Cammy A fellow student

    The Old Man and the Sea is a book I think all students should read. While it's true that it's not Stephen King, it is a beautiful story and it is very well written. Although the story doesn't end in the typical fariy tale way, it is a happy and content ending that puts real life into view for those (like myself) that live in a fairy tale world. Great Book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    A intresting book

    The Old man and the Sea is about an old Cuban man and his epic battle with a giant Marlin. It was not as much symbolism as I usually like. However it was still an actually very good book. It was short but cut to the point. There is some symbolism that people do not quite see. The talented Ernest Hemmingway wrote this book. Most authors could have killed the book but he made it short and it was very well written. This was a great twentieth century book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2004

    An outstanding book!

    Old Man in the Sea is an outstanding book about the courage and strength of an old man. Santiago is an old Cuban fisherman who lives in a bay. He has not caught a fish in 85 days so he decides he is going to venture out and not come back until he has a fish. He wanders out to sea in his little boat and his pole catches on to a Marlin. The Marlin pulls the old man in his boat for many days and nights. Santiago lives off the little food he has which is small pieces of raw shrimp and water. His hands become achy and bloody. He feels sick and nauseous and he can no longer see land. This book is an amazing adventure that shows the real courage in a man. It is a classic and I suggest the everyone reads it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2004

    Awesome!!!

    This is a great book for all ages. It is a very easy reader and I think everyone should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 156 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8